We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value for money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hall Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Hall Bank
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We Had to wait an extra hour to check in and no apology. The bathroom was so small you could go to the toilet, brush your teeth and have a shower all at the same time..Four poster bed was very uncomfortable,very hard and noisy.You could only see the small tv if you were on the right side of the bed. Breakfast was obviously the cheapest quality beans sausages eggs etc.we had booked for four nights and because the breakfast was so bad we went for breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentsamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Well - you are obviously one of those persons who no matter what is offered will be happy with nothing - as for waiting an hour to check in - totally ridiculous- our check in time is 2pm if you choose to arrive earlier then surely you must expect that the room may not be ready and if by any chance it is not quite ready we do give you an estimated time when it will be and most certainly all rooms are ready for arrivals by our 2pm check in time - we do not use ingredients that are the cheapest we use quality locally sourced ingredients for our breakfast items - as for your comments re the bathroom size - it clearly states on our website that some rooms have cubicle type en-suite facilities - these are all perfectly in accordance with the hotel inspection criteria and being a size 18 myself I can only say that I fine no difficulty whatsoever in using the en-suites, I use them everyday - you are obviously people whom are extremely hard to please no matter what and thus we have no qualms in you finding alternate accommodation for your next visit to the lakes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    60
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
185
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denbighshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay here, lovely welcome by Doug on arrival. Stayed in room 5 which was a lovely room with ensuite and a view of the lake. Nicely presented, plenty of clothes hangers in wardrobe which is always a bonus. Ensuite is very compact, nice shower and plenty of hot water.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zala_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here with my other halve and specifically chose a room (room 12) which althou had a downside of no en-suite (it did mention this on the site and had a seperate private shower room and toilet just down the hall, they also included shower robes for you) I booked this room especially for the view as it was my other halves first trip to the lake district and she wasnt dissapointed. The view from the room was amazing looking straight over lake Windemere and over to the mountains. the hotel was nice and cosy and the bed was very comfy. the breakfast was excellent with a full english served along with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts.

all in all i couldnt find fault with the hotel and the hosts were very welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: If your happy having a seperate bathroom (still private) then i would go for room 12 due to the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmdelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
it really was our pleasure and thank you for choosing to stay with us hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My family and I stayed in the Family Room of the New Hall Bank B&B this summer over my birthday weekend. Location wise the guest house is in a prime spot, just 5 minutes walk away from the centre of Bowness, and even less to the brilliantly quaint "The Hole In The Wall" pub.
The building itself is a pleasant enough and in terms of layout is an "old fashioned" style of guest house with a little common room / TV room for the guests, but a modern breakfast room on the lower ground floor. If you're up early for breakfast you might be able to sit in the conservatory part of the dining area which is where the lake view is.
When we got to the breakfast room (first up) we were asked by Doug to sit elsewhere so that other families could sit as groups - no hard feelings about this because he was only trying to keep the guest as happy as possible, but in retrospect perhaps we should have asked to sit in there and insist on "first come best seated" basis. While on the subject of breakfast, service from Doug (and cooking from Ivy) was fast and efficient and the bottom line is that they were keen to keep everyone well fed and happy.
The room itself was surprisingly spacious, and nice and modern. As other reviewers have mentioned, the en-suite is a modular plastic installation in the corner of the room. I would go so far as to agree that this is a bit of a shame, since indeed it is very small (and the room can afford bigger) and a little "plastic" and not really in keeping with the room. That said, it's perfectly functional (and the shower is really good), and when weighed up against shared bathrooms, personally I still feel it's better to have this - which is convenient, clean, and private. Hopefully any future renovations will be able to consider a constructed en-suite, but until then it's not as big a deal as some have made out - I understand the limitations, and it's a welcome feature.
In terms of other room facilities, iron, ironing board, and coffee/tea/biscuits were provided, and there was a small flat screen TV mounted on the wall (but realistically a bit too small by modern standards). We were rained in early one evening so a decent TV was something we could have made use of - but the fact we opted to stay in and have an early night gives some indication of the comfort we felt in the room.
All in all, it's not faultless but I enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamButty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hi Guys and thank you for your feedback we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt comfortable and welcomed and we do hope to see you again - as in your comments we are one of the very many Lakeland guesthouses that was built in the Victorian era and in the style of a gentleman's residence and we would not wish to change this by following todays trend of minimalistic décor -we pride ourselves on offering a home from home atmosphere - we do believe that we provide all relevant facilities needed to enjoy a short break with us and all be it that things may not always be to everyone's taste we seem to get a high percentage of repeat business - -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just returned from New Hall Bank having spent a two night stay over my birthday. Loved the location, room had a great lake view, and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Could not fault the accomodation or the standard of the food that was served. Previously, I have only been on day trips to the Lakes but decided to stay longer with my partner and loved every minute of my 'mini holiday'. Will definitely return as this hotel is a great base in the heart of the Lake District if you wish to explore surrounding areas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

A fab b&b, extremely welcoming hosts, lovely room, comfy bed, lake view, great breakfast. However, this was really spoiled for me as on our second of two nights we were kept awake until gone 4am with a very loud humming/buzzing in what should have been a really peaceful room. Not only was it extremely irritating, it was a vibration that gave us both fairly good headaches. When I mentioned this in the morning, the reply was that it was probably the ceiling fan from the room below (obviously had this complaint before then because they knew exactly what it was immediately). Their reply?..."I would have banged on the floor if I were you". Crazy. £200 for 2 nights away, come home more tired than I started. I would really expect at least a decent nights sleep for £100 a night. The vibration from the fan was amplified through the bed and could not be slept through before being exhausted, with make shift toilet roll ear plugs. Sorry, wouldn't go again and wouldn't recommend either, unless you happen to pack ear defenders.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jk_and_georgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
thank you for your comments - the humming you say you heard in your room and which I only suggested may have been the ceiling fan from the room below but not sure as this has never been complained about before and this was only an assumption - however upon testing it to see if there was any potential future issue re. noise we found nothing to hear in the room from the ceiling fan below and can only assume you must have heard something beyond our control that kept you awake until 4am on your second morning we are sorry you had a disturbed nights sleep but we can categorically state that we found nothing to make a humming noise or indeed vibrations in the room - sorry that you feel you do not want to return but we hope that you find accommodation more suitable to your taste for your next visit - and thank you for your very kind comments left in the visitors book upon your departure obviously the only thing wrong with yopur stay was the afore mentioned humming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at the New Hall Bank for 3 nights in the family room. Very spacious room, especially for a Bowness B&B. The small shower room/toilet was the only let down but not a major problem as everyone was able to shower without any degree of difficulty. The rest of the facilities were fine, the room was well decorated and modern, beds were comfy and most importantly the place was clean. Doug & Ivy were very good hosts, very friendly and Doug was full of useful info & advice. They weren't there to greet us but had already phoned ahead to advise the reason why and made arrangements to let us get in, which was a nice touch. There was a good choice at breakfast and the mere view part of the breakfast room overlooks Windermere which is a great start to any morning. The location is great, just a couple of minutes walk to the pier, some very decent pubs & restaurants and all of the other facilities in Bowness.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John666ftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#5 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#16 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#3 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#12 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Bank

Property: New Hall Bank
Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lake Windermere - 4 star accommodation -Rooms with Lake Views - Parking - En-suite rooms equiped with all you need to ensure a comfortable stay - 1 min shops/bars/attractions - Full English Breakfast - No Pets - Children over 8yrs only. internet in guest lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Hall Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Bank Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
New Hall Bank Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing