We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable stay”
Review of New Hall Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Hall Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Warm welcome, very clean room, good breakfasts and a pleasant room, excellent location with car parking, the only criticism I could mention is that the en suites are small for "larger" guests, would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

many thanks and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Had another brilliant stay at this wonderful place. A warm welcome, excellent room and great breakfast. The room (No.5) had a great view of the lake, what a treat to wake up to that in a morning.

Thanks once again for making my stay 'a gud un' and taking time to chat despite being obviously very busy. I'll definitely be back!,

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Type2_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

always a pleasure to have your company - until the next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We Had to wait an extra hour to check in and no apology. The bathroom was so small you could go to the toilet, brush your teeth and have a shower all at the same time..Four poster bed was very uncomfortable,very hard and noisy.You could only see the small tv if you were on the right side of the bed. Breakfast was obviously the cheapest quality beans sausages eggs etc.we had booked for four nights and because the breakfast was so bad we went for breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kentsamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Well - you are obviously one of those persons who no matter what is offered will be happy with nothing - as for waiting an hour to check in - totally ridiculous- our check in time is 2pm if you choose to arrive earlier then surely you must expect that the room may not be ready and if by any chance it is not quite ready we do give you an estimated time when it will be and most certainly all rooms are ready for arrivals by our 2pm check in time - we do not use ingredients that are the cheapest we use quality locally sourced ingredients for our breakfast items - as for your comments re the bathroom size - it clearly states on our website that some rooms have cubicle type en-suite facilities - these are all perfectly in accordance with the hotel inspection criteria and being a size 18 myself I can only say that I fine no difficulty whatsoever in using the en-suites, I use them everyday - you are obviously people whom are extremely hard to please no matter what and thus we have no qualms in you finding alternate accommodation for your next visit to the lakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay here, lovely welcome by Doug on arrival. Stayed in room 5 which was a lovely room with ensuite and a view of the lake. Nicely presented, plenty of clothes hangers in wardrobe which is always a bonus. Ensuite is very compact, nice shower and plenty of hot water.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zala_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here with my other halve and specifically chose a room (room 12) which althou had a downside of no en-suite (it did mention this on the site and had a seperate private shower room and toilet just down the hall, they also included shower robes for you) I booked this room especially for the view as it was my other halves first trip to the lake district and she wasnt dissapointed. The view from the room was amazing looking straight over lake Windemere and over to the mountains. the hotel was nice and cosy and the bed was very comfy. the breakfast was excellent with a full english served along with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts.

all in all i couldnt find fault with the hotel and the hosts were very welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: If your happy having a seperate bathroom (still private) then i would go for room 12 due to the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmdelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

it really was our pleasure and thank you for choosing to stay with us hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My family and I stayed in the Family Room of the New Hall Bank B&B this summer over my birthday weekend. Location wise the guest house is in a prime spot, just 5 minutes walk away from the centre of Bowness, and even less to the brilliantly quaint "The Hole In The Wall" pub.
The building itself is a pleasant enough and in terms of layout is an "old fashioned" style of guest house with a little common room / TV room for the guests, but a modern breakfast room on the lower ground floor. If you're up early for breakfast you might be able to sit in the conservatory part of the dining area which is where the lake view is.
When we got to the breakfast room (first up) we were asked by Doug to sit elsewhere so that other families could sit as groups - no hard feelings about this because he was only trying to keep the guest as happy as possible, but in retrospect perhaps we should have asked to sit in there and insist on "first come best seated" basis. While on the subject of breakfast, service from Doug (and cooking from Ivy) was fast and efficient and the bottom line is that they were keen to keep everyone well fed and happy.
The room itself was surprisingly spacious, and nice and modern. As other reviewers have mentioned, the en-suite is a modular plastic installation in the corner of the room. I would go so far as to agree that this is a bit of a shame, since indeed it is very small (and the room can afford bigger) and a little "plastic" and not really in keeping with the room. That said, it's perfectly functional (and the shower is really good), and when weighed up against shared bathrooms, personally I still feel it's better to have this - which is convenient, clean, and private. Hopefully any future renovations will be able to consider a constructed en-suite, but until then it's not as big a deal as some have made out - I understand the limitations, and it's a welcome feature.
In terms of other room facilities, iron, ironing board, and coffee/tea/biscuits were provided, and there was a small flat screen TV mounted on the wall (but realistically a bit too small by modern standards). We were rained in early one evening so a decent TV was something we could have made use of - but the fact we opted to stay in and have an early night gives some indication of the comfort we felt in the room.
All in all, it's not faultless but I enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamButty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hi Guys and thank you for your feedback we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt comfortable and welcomed and we do hope to see you again - as in your comments we are one of the very many Lakeland guesthouses that was built in the Victorian era and in the style of a gentleman's residence and we would not wish to change this by following todays trend of minimalistic décor -we pride ourselves on offering a home from home atmosphere - we do believe that we provide all relevant facilities needed to enjoy a short break with us and all be it that things may not always be to everyone's taste we seem to get a high percentage of repeat business - -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just returned from New Hall Bank having spent a two night stay over my birthday. Loved the location, room had a great lake view, and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Could not fault the accomodation or the standard of the food that was served. Previously, I have only been on day trips to the Lakes but decided to stay longer with my partner and loved every minute of my 'mini holiday'. Will definitely return as this hotel is a great base in the heart of the Lake District if you wish to explore surrounding areas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beechwood Guest House
Beechwood Guest House
#11 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#15 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#5 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Bank

Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £87 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lake Windermere - 4 star accommodation -Rooms with Lake Views - Parking - En-suite rooms equiped with all you need to ensure a comfortable stay - 1 min shops/bars/attractions - Full English Breakfast - No Pets - Children over 8yrs only. internet in guest lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your New Hall Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Bank Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
New Hall Bank Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing