We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely anniversary weekend”
Review of New Hall Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Hall Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely anniversary weekend”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

just back from a lovely weekend break for our wedding anniversary at new hall bank. very warm welcome from Doug and Ivy. Perfect location in the center of Bowness, away from the noise and traffic. fantastic place to stay made even better by the wonderful, warm hosts. Really made our weekend special, Thank you both very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you choose to return at some future date
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    62
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
192
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This B&B is very traditional and warm. The location is fabulous and the views from our room were breathtaking! Doug was a very welcoming friendly host, and couldn't have been more helpful. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
What a pleasure to meet you guys and thank you for your feedback we hope you choose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Warm welcome, very clean room, good breakfasts and a pleasant room, excellent location with car parking, the only criticism I could mention is that the en suites are small for "larger" guests, would consider staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
many thanks and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Had another brilliant stay at this wonderful place. A warm welcome, excellent room and great breakfast. The room (No.5) had a great view of the lake, what a treat to wake up to that in a morning.

Thanks once again for making my stay 'a gud un' and taking time to chat despite being obviously very busy. I'll definitely be back!,

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Type2_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
always a pleasure to have your company - until the next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We Had to wait an extra hour to check in and no apology. The bathroom was so small you could go to the toilet, brush your teeth and have a shower all at the same time..Four poster bed was very uncomfortable,very hard and noisy.You could only see the small tv if you were on the right side of the bed. Breakfast was obviously the cheapest quality beans sausages eggs etc.we had booked for four nights and because the breakfast was so bad we went for breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentsamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Well - you are obviously one of those persons who no matter what is offered will be happy with nothing - as for waiting an hour to check in - totally ridiculous- our check in time is 2pm if you choose to arrive earlier then surely you must expect that the room may not be ready and if by any chance it is not quite ready we do give you an estimated time when it will be and most certainly all rooms are ready for arrivals by our 2pm check in time - we do not use ingredients that are the cheapest we use quality locally sourced ingredients for our breakfast items - as for your comments re the bathroom size - it clearly states on our website that some rooms have cubicle type en-suite facilities - these are all perfectly in accordance with the hotel inspection criteria and being a size 18 myself I can only say that I fine no difficulty whatsoever in using the en-suites, I use them everyday - you are obviously people whom are extremely hard to please no matter what and thus we have no qualms in you finding alternate accommodation for your next visit to the lakes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbighshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay here, lovely welcome by Doug on arrival. Stayed in room 5 which was a lovely room with ensuite and a view of the lake. Nicely presented, plenty of clothes hangers in wardrobe which is always a bonus. Ensuite is very compact, nice shower and plenty of hot water.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zala_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here with my other halve and specifically chose a room (room 12) which althou had a downside of no en-suite (it did mention this on the site and had a seperate private shower room and toilet just down the hall, they also included shower robes for you) I booked this room especially for the view as it was my other halves first trip to the lake district and she wasnt dissapointed. The view from the room was amazing looking straight over lake Windemere and over to the mountains. the hotel was nice and cosy and the bed was very comfy. the breakfast was excellent with a full english served along with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts.

all in all i couldnt find fault with the hotel and the hosts were very welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: If your happy having a seperate bathroom (still private) then i would go for room 12 due to the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmdelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
it really was our pleasure and thank you for choosing to stay with us hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#1 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#16 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#27 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Bank

Property: New Hall Bank
Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lake Windermere - 4 star accommodation -Rooms with Lake Views - Parking - En-suite rooms equiped with all you need to ensure a comfortable stay - 1 min shops/bars/attractions - Full English Breakfast - No Pets - Children over 8yrs only. internet in guest lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Hall Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Bank Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
New Hall Bank Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing