We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hospitality!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hall Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Hall Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb hospitality!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

We arrived here ahead of a 3 day break having not been to the lakes for a number of years. First impressions were excellent, good parking facilities unlike some other b&bs. We arrived earlier than we had stated and decided to knock and check it was ok to leave car and return later to check in. was greeted by Ivy who was very friendly and helpful. Our room was ready so was able to check in. All decor was immaculate, clean and well looked after. Room was great, plenty of room, normal facilities, iron, ironing board, tv, en suite. Everything was well maintained, an obvious sense of pride in their home! Breakfasts were fabulous, good choice and flexibility of foods. Again, dining room was immaculate with great views of the lake. Very near the main attractions, "the stags head" is well recommended for evening meals, just a stones throw from the accomodation. All in all a fabulous time... Doug and Ivy are fantastic hosts and take great pride in their home. Friendly, approachable and both work extremely hard making sure their guests have everything they wish for. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Thank you guys for your very kind and welcome review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would welcome you back at anytime - It is a pleasure to be hosts to such appreciative people of all the hard work we put in - we cannot tell you just how many times we get visitors who think that this is nothing more than a business to us - It is our home and we are very proud of it and happy to share it anytime with appreciative and respectful guests - we look forward to seeing you return sometime in the future -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    60
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
185
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

We've been going to the Lakes these past twenty years and I can honestly say that was the best accommodation we have stayed in. Clean comfortable rooms, great location, breakfast was excellent, plenty of parking and Ivy and Doug, the owners were very welcoming. No complaints at all, we'll be going back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ald065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Many Thanks for your time in posting this very kind review - Doug and I look forward to welcoming you back at some future time it is always a pleasure to have the company of appreciative guests - Until next time kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in mid-August. We had a four poster room overlooking the lake which was fantastic.
The room itself had everything you needed including an en-suite bathroom but it was relatively cramped, the ensuite itself similar to the bathroom on a caravan/ motor home. Sleep quality was great, the bed one of most comfortable we have slept in anywhere! The breakfast each day was very good. The carpark was cramped, however it looked like it may have just about had enough room for each guest room.
As mentioned, the location is fantastic. It overlooks the lake and is within a 2 minute walk of Bowness centre without being on the main drag. It is very peaceful and a great base from which to explore the town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyGards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
We remember you very well it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope you will return in the future - thank you for posting your comments - in response we would like to just remind everyone that August is the prime holiday season and even though we have a parking bay for each room on the odd occassion people do get visitors or even arrive in 2 cars we do try to state it is one parking bay per room so at the time you where with us it may have been that the car park was "full" with "extras" - our best wishes to you for 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Thanks to Doug & Ivy we have wonderful memories of our Silver Wedding anniversary, which is what we were celebrating by staying at New Hall Bank. The view from the room was beautiful. Everything was just perfect, from the room, food and especially the warm friendly yet professional hospitality we received. We have read other reviews that mention the small ensuite, we would just like to say yes it was small compared to some ensuites but it was spotless, and served its purpose. We would not hesitate to recommend New Hall Bank and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Many thanks for your vrey kind comments - the pleasure was ours hope to meet you agin sometime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

We were greeted at noon by "you are early" We knew as room was available from 2pm but all we wanted was to park car and go for lunch. The greeting was badly handled.
We were reprimanded for leaving the window slightly open when it rained but we were not warned about the windy position beforehand!
The worse part was the ensuite. It was plastic construction which was more akin to caravan facilities. We could hardly move in the limited space.
We asked for crispy bacon but were told it had already been cooked! It appears they cook the food some time previously and then reheat in microwave!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maki21234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
In Response - after just a short while of you checking into your room you came to knock and ask did you need a degree to use the T.V. remote I answered by asking had you turned the t.v. on -I accompanied you back to your room and promptly turned the T.V. on at the “on” switch after which the remote worked fine- At this point I should have realise that common sense was not going to be you Forte therefore I suppose that it came as no real surprise that on one of the windiest wettest days of the year we have had so far you decided to sit in your room with your window wide open allowing the rain to come lashing into your room resulting in the curtains being wet through and my carpet directly below the window being sodden to the point that I had to move your luggage (placing it under the bed) to allow the carpet to dry out - the chair in front of the window on which you where sat prior was also wet through as was all your clothing that you had left on it - I do not think it was unreasonable to ask you to please keep your window closed whilst the weather was so bad and certainly didn’t think that you would have had your window open 2ft on such a day and all night - surely you would not have left your home windows open on a day like that but then the guesthouse possessions don’t belong to you do they - as for your whinge over breakfast and the fact that your bacon was not cooked to your liking (crisply cremated) I will never serve food up that is not perfectly edible and further for your information I do not use a microwave to warm things through- my breakfast bacon is cooked in the over fresh each morning and the only thing I use my microwave for is to scramble eggs - as for your arrival and welcome yes you were told that you were early arriving at 12pm to check in at 2pm we appreciated you ringing the bell to tell us you had arrived and the car on the car park was yours - you were asked to come back at around 2pm when your room would be ready for you and you said this was no problem as you were going for lunch - I fail to see why you are now making such an issue of this - may I add that you were treated with politeness and courteously at all times
And upon checkout when asked if everything had been ok with your stay you never raised any of the points in this review as being concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Had a 2 night stay with extended family, the hotel was lovely and warm and clean.We were greeted by the owner who was very friendly she showed us to our rooms and made us feel very welcome.The breakfast room over looks the lakes and again we were greeted with a friendly face, the food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble if you wanted extra tea, toast it was given.It was a very relaxing stay,and because of its position there was hardly any noise to be heard late at night.The only downside was one of the en-suites was very small but it wont stop us going again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgetreadytoramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Thank you for your review it was a pleasure meeting you all and we look forward to welcoming yyou back in the future - once again thank you for your time in posting your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Lovely B&B, warm welcome from the owners, large room with a view of the lake (the one featured in the photos) very quiet and peaceful at night. Room was absolutely spotless and tidied/bed made for us each day. Slightly curious/small enclosed shower room but again, it was spotless so that's all that mattered. Cooked and/or cold breakfast was great and set you up for the day. Location is right in the centre of the lovely Bowness with several very nice pubs and resturants within a minutes walk. Had no trouble finding a parking space each day either. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Many Thanks for taking time to post your comments we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you would reccommend us to others - we can asure that we try our very best to please all our guests and try to make your saty with us a s plesent as possible - we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future - best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#4 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#17 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#2 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#13 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Bank

Property: New Hall Bank
Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lake Windermere - 4 star accommodation -Rooms with Lake Views - Parking - En-suite rooms equiped with all you need to ensure a comfortable stay - 1 min shops/bars/attractions - Full English Breakfast - No Pets - Children over 8yrs only. internet in guest lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your New Hall Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Bank Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
New Hall Bank Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing