We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dissapointing, but in a good position”
Review of Lonsdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lonsdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed two nights at Lonsdale House to re-experience the beautiful Lake District. It was by far the most expensive of all the B&Bs/hotels we stayed in during four weeks in the UK, but was cerrainly not the favourite.

Staff were friendly and the breakfast was nice. Parking was provided on-site - a real plus for Windermere - but was tight for our big rental car!

Our bedroom was the main disappointment. There were stains on the bedside tables and curtains and bedcovers were a bit tatty. The white curtains did not keep out the light at all, which made sleeping during the short nights of summer quite difficult.

In the bar area garlands of dried flowers were suspended from the cornices. They were covered in dust. We were told the hotel would be refurbished soon, so with a bit of luck the garlands will go!

Lonsdale House is in a very good position, but lacks the finesse we had expected for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocatnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Lonsdale House in June. We had a family room as my husband and I were travelling with our teenaged daughter. There was a double bed plus extra single. It was spotlessly clean and charming as one would expect from a B&B. It was recently renovated, so the bathroom was brand new with all modern amenities. The host met us at the door and helped with our bags and was very friendly and helpful. The B&B is just a few minutes walk to Lake Windermere and the bus stop to other parts of the Lake District. There are many restaurants and shops along the road. There is a lounge downstairs with a bar, TV, and games. We spent most nights here chatting with other vacationers. The Lonsdale House went out of their way to make us a breakfast on our last morning even though we had to leave 30 minutes before the regular breakfast time. They also provide a carafe of sherry in the room! Overall: clean, convenient, great customer service, charming. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Some rooms at back have lake view. It's on the main road but not noisey. They have family rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Charming bed and breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The staff very helpful and friendly. Will recommend this to all and look forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cisherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

It was our fifth stay in Windermere and the first with our 8 month old son. This was the best B&B we have stayed in, we wish we had found it earlier.
Location ideal, pleasant walk to Windermere on Bowness and the restaurants and shops.
The room was very clean and comfortable and the cot and blankets all immaculate.
Lovely lounge bar area to relax on an evening with helpful staff and a really nice cooked breakfast served each day.
Very happy to recommend!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We were met by Andrew on arrival, who was very friendly and helpful, and showed us to our room. We had requested a lake view through the booking procedure but were given a 4 poster bed room facing Lake Road. The room was very small, the en suite shower room even smaller. The shower was overhead, the door didn't close properly and there was no room to move in the shower enclosure. The toilet is so close to the door that you have to manoevre to go to the toilet.
There is no double glazing so there is a lot of traffic noise all night. We found the bed quite comfortable but the decor in the room and throughout the hotel is "tired" to say the least. The whole place looks as though no money is ever spent on it. The pictures of the rooms by the door must have been taken many years ago!
Breakfast was what you would expect from any hotel - juice, cereal, full English, toast. The Cumberland sausages are more like supermarket ones - why not be honest?
Again, the Polish staff are very polite and friendly. Andrew was not there at all except Friday evening.
The car park at the rear takes about 6 cars, we left ours there all the time as we didn't think we would be able to get in and out without asking several other cars to be moved.
It is a short walk to the town and lake and there are lots of pubs and restaurants for lunch/evening meals although the majority are expensive - English tourist season holiday area!! The small bar in the hotel has very reasonably priced drinks, mainly cheaper than in the local pubs.
In hindsight, a chain hotel advertising £29/night rooms would give you a better deal even if impersonal.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the road are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murray65minted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

yet again our stay at the lonsdale has proved just how much a credit to the lakes this hotel, its staff and the owner Andrew is , everyone is there to ensure your stay is what you want it to be , we have stayed there over several years every year with out fail and will continue to do so, an ideal base for bikers, always a warm welcome , excellent food as always if ther were any faults we would not return. All in all , does excactly what it says on the tin ! see you all soon once again , Dave , Grimsby

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveb035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

the hotel is very clean staff polite and make you feel very welcome rooms were excellent,breakfast was superb the hotel is situated in a prime spot near the shops and only 5 mins walk to the lake highly recomended

Room Tip: rooms were very clean and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berney3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonsdale House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Central Location close to Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter Attraction, Restaurants, shops etc. Having Lake View Rooms, Four Poster Rooms and Family Rooms. Parking on site. Guests can relax in the Lounge or have a drink at the well stocked bar. For a great holiday at a great price contact us and take advantage of our excellent deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lonsdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lonsdale House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing