We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of Lonsdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lonsdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Just returned from a two evening break with my wife and young son and can only be positive in my appraisal of the place. As a regular visitor to Bowness I have stayed in many of the other hotels and I would place Lonsdale amongst the very best. The staff are superb, professional and very friendly especially Andrew and Pavel who I spoke to the most.The rooms are kept clean and are very warm and cosy with a complimentary decanter of sherry which is filled daily. There is a nice little bar area which offers general beers and cocktails at a reasonable price. To finish the breakfast is to die for and is plentiful enough for the biggest of eaters which I am! All in all good location quality service and lovely food what more do you need, myself and my family will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: Room 5 is spot on for families with one child and has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ch147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my husband. The location of the guesthouse is spot on, 5 mins walk to the lake. when we arrived we were greeted by a friendly lady who showed us to our room. We stayed in room 6, with a four poster bed, no problems with the room, very clean, nice and warm and the free sherry was a nice touch. the breakfast was beautiful and the service was good always asked if you needed more toast, coffee, sauce etc, overall we had a fantastic time in bowness and at this guest house, would definately stay here again :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicfosterRicfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and I (and Dog) have just returned from a 3 night stay and do not have a bad thing to say about the hotel.
We were greeted by a really nice chap called Andrew who was very welcoming,helpful and informative. Even offered to lend is his OS Map to help us navigate our way around the hills, which in hindsight would have been a good idea as we got a tad lost!!
Breakfast was spot on very fresh and hot.
Was our first visit to Bowness and we loved it!! Loads of places to eat and drink and we didn't have a bad meal anywhere. Great walking straight from the hotel!! Will definitely be returning so have your OS map ready for us Andrew. :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dazman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Londsdale House is a comfortable B&B in busy Windemere, in the English Lakes District. Our complaint therefore is not with the hotel but the booking agency Expedia, for the protracted and fruitless argument we had with them when we sought a refund for cancelled accommodation booked through them at this hotel. While abroad Expedia's own electronic processes blocked my attempts to communicate with them. Literally hours of direct phone calls to Expedia, together with waiting for return calls, then having to repeat the conversation with a new representative, led to nothing. In the end we stayed at Lonsdale House for the one night we could fit into our adjusted itinerary but had to pay for accommodation not used though we notified of cancellation in good time. Our efforts to secure a refund were reinforced by the the owner of Lonsdale House in his own independent communications with Expedia, and on returning to Australia we made every effort to communicate with Expedia by email, all to no avail.Basically, our experience taught us that while you may change or cancel your booking with Expedia in the country in which the booking originates expect insurmountable problems in doing so once you are out of the country in which you booked. What I have learnt is to shop around for hotels and prices with the booking agencies, then to book directly with the hotel. Our experience has been that you get much better service that way. I will never use booking services, like Expedia, for hotel bookings again, because the experience was the opposite of the convenience I sought, and because, if there is a problem, there is no problem solver in their system, which is based around robotic call centres.

Room Tip: Rooms well appointed but ask for one not on the street which is busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jomcmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

we have just returned from a few days away in the Lake District.
We found the Lonsdale very good and would recommend it if you
want to be in the midst of Bowness. The hotel is on the main road
and great to walk to all the shops and restaurants without touching the car.
the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. We had a family room which
was very clean, did look a bit tired and in need of a little TLC, but it served
our needs perfectly, when you stay in the lakes you want to be out and about
enjoying the marvellous scenery. The breakfast was excellent and once again the staff
were very helpful in attending to everything we wanted.
If you plan to be on the move a lot, this is an ideal base.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the back car park and you could see the lake in the distance front overlooks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ossam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The place was very welcoming, great staff who couldn't do enough for you, The room was lovely with complimentary sherry which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was great. We spent 2 nights here and tried to maximise our time. The hotel is in a great location. Bowness is a lovely town and would recommend the lake cruises as a great way to explore Lake Windemere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulWright1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Well what a fantastic Experience we had . . when we arrived at the hotel it was warm and welcoming we got greeted by a lovely man called Andrew who was very friendly, polite and very professional . . The room was beautiful and extremely clean, the bed was very comfortable and we had a fantastic sleep . . When we went for breakfast in the morning it was lovely too can not fault this hotel in anyway what a fantastic stay we had and will DEFIANTLY be staying here again soon :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lew6759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £58 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonsdale House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Central Location close to Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter Attraction, Restaurants, shops etc. Having Lake View Rooms, Four Poster Rooms and Family Rooms. Parking on site. Guests can relax in the Lounge or have a drink at the well stocked bar. For a great holiday at a great price contact us and take advantage of our excellent deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lonsdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lonsdale House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing