We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How have I missed this place before?”
Review of Lonsdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lonsdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“How have I missed this place before?”
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Passed Lonsdale House hundreds of times and always thought "I'll have to try there". Found it on a popular booking site for £29 per night (single occupancy, room only) What a find! Very warm welcome from the manager, Andrew. Very friendly and helpful guy. Gave me a family room - one double and a single bed at the back of the hotel. Very warm and clean room (room 4) Don't know if this has a lake view cos of the fog. Shower room was small but modern and nice and clean. The double bed was firm and really comfortable. Nice touch along with the hospitality tray was a small caraf of sherry as a welcoming drink (well done for that. I'm not a sherry drinker normally but I really appreciated it) There was a bit of noise from other guests in the hall and using sinks but this is to be expected. Wasn't that bad and it didn't spoil my stay
For the price I paid, almost anything would have been acceptable but this was a true bargain. Never been before but I'm definitely going back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for your wonderful and very kind review. We are rally pleased that you have discovered us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    145
    71
    13
    7
See reviews for
154
297
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My partner booked us a three night stay at the Lonsdale as a surprise for my birthday. It really was a great experience. We stayed in room 6 - a lovely four poster room which has recently been finished and the standard and decor was excellent from the antler chandelier and four poster bed to the complimentary sherry and lake district toffee. We were greated on arrival by the manager Andrew, what a genuinely nice guy and really helpful as we're all the staff - nothing was to much trouble. I am a Sous Chef in a Michelin stared restaurant and pride myself on knowing we'll cooked quality ingredients and that is exactly what we got at the Lonsdale - quality local ingredients we'll cooked and excellently presented. I thought Sal had spent a small fortune on this surprise and when pushed I could not believe the deal she had got. As the previous review has said we got the five star feeling and will definitely recommend and return.

Room Tip: The four poster room was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlisle1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for your great review of The Lonsdale. It was lovely to meet you both and thank you for the card. Best of luck with the Marathon and we look forward to welcoming you back in June for the Great North Swim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as visiting the Lake District. I have stayed in other hotels here but by far this is the best. We walked in to the house greeted by Andrew who was a very nice and bubbly man, he then showed us to our room. As £75 we thought it won't be a that good of a room,we walked in to see how spacious and clean it was. Me and my children were very impressed. In the bathroom there is a few cracks on ceiling but not a problem. We had a amazing,quiet night sleep. We woke up to a lovely English breakfast. One word: yum! Also I don't know the girls name who was the waitor she was amazing and welcoming. When we left the hotel the payment was easy and quick. By all means I recommend this hotel! It's not a 4 star in my eyes, it's a 5. I want to thank all the staff here at lonsdale house for all of the great work. Look foward to returning.
Wants again thank you.
(room 1)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrard1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
It was lovely to meet such a nice family and we really appreciate your great review. Anytime you fancy a break you are more than welcome and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Very impressed. One night stay. Very friendly staff. Clean rooms. Bar area lovely and cosy and Christmassy. Off road parking round back of hotel. Short walk into town. Breakfast very good, hot and fresh. some other reviewers seem very picky about little things but for the price, don't think can complain too much, either that or stay at a 5 star hotel. Will return. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 6 is lovely room with four poster but on main road but noise levels not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTravelsJoWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for your kind and positive review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the very best for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Looks wonderful on Internet but as the saying goes looks can be deceiving. We used the back entrance, what can I say? Shabby and grotty looking. One room was full of junk stacked high against the window and could have done with a lick of paint. Bar area was cosy and nice and the man who greatest us was pleasant and helpfull. Car parking was great if you had a mini and there were only four other guests staying, very small car park and the 3 spaces at the front would not fit a average size family car on without over lapping the space straight on to the road as there was no pavement.

We stayed in room 11 which had the noisiest bed and floor boards. The bathroom was down a set if stairs an there was no bath which I look forward too when away. The shower basin didn't drain properly and the drains smelt.

Was also kept awake the whole night by a river running off the roof through broken guttering. The drains and guttering were reported on departure and the man behind the bar simply smiled and nodded.

Overall not four star not worth £84, and as for the extensive refurbishment they talk of on their website maybe it's time for another!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Jenand26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
We are sorry that your were disappointed with your stay at The Lonsdale but are pleased that you found our location great, staff pleasant and helpful and our bar and lounge cosy with the wood burner and a great selection of drinks.

Unfortunately whilst you were here we had the worst rain and floods I can remember having the most rain fall in one day on record in the Lakes. As a result the sheer volume of water overcame guttering systems and all the local drains and sewerage systems hence problems with the drains in Bowness and the surrounding areas. Extreme weather events such as this are few and far between and we can only apologise that you were kept awake by the torrential rain.

As you have not specified anything other than next doors down stairs store room as shabby I am at a bit of a loss as to how to respond. I do know that the owners are in the process of moving premises hence all the equipment stored in there at present. We firmly believe that the recent refurbishment work which is still ongoing is truly stunning and our rooms offer great comfort with beautiful decor at a very reasonable price. We do have parking for all the rooms but you have to appreciate that you are in the village centre and we are one of the few that does actually have free on site parking for guests.

We wonder if you didn't quite appreciate what Lonsdale House was all about when you chose us. We are a historic building that was designed and built as a Grand Private Gentlemans Residence in 1851 and has been sympathetically renovated into a country style guest house with style and charm. We are very typical for the Lake District and for many accommodation providers across England. Part of the magic for many travellers is staying in a place that isn't a modern purpose built hotel but a privately owned guest house (not part of a national chain). Your room had contrasting Farrow and Ball Paint and brand new Sealy Top of the Range Beds. If you are requiring a modern generic typical chain hotel type room then our accommodation and character quirks associated with historic buildings such as the odd creaky floor board may not be to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed here for our 1st anniversary. This was our first stay in a hotel rather than a family run B&B in Bowness, and you can tell the difference - though you got a lot more personable experience here than a chain hotel The rooms are clean, spacious and well presented and is on the cusp of Bowness, so brilliantly located. The breakfast was nice. The lake view room was over looking the lake, but in a Fawlty Towers 'Sea View' way. There was a mis-understanding with our booking, which was sorted eventually by the manager, but dealing with the staff initially was quite challenging (though this may have been a language barrier-issue). Aside from that, the staff were super pleasant.

Room Tip: Higher floors get very, very warm as heat rises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Library_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as it was such a special occasion. Again apologies for the mix up, it is not often we get bookings on the same evening with the same surname. We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your future anniversary's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. Staff were friendly and very helpful with common questions like what sites to visit.

Breakfast was always nice and room cleaned daily with fresh towels. My general opinion of the whole hotel was one that was well kept and maintained.

Furthermore, the location is good for restaurants and boat trips in Windermere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colonel_e55ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House

Property: Lonsdale House
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonsdale House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Central Location close to Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter Attraction, Restaurants, shops etc. Having Lake View Rooms, Four Poster Rooms and Family Rooms. Parking on site. Guests can relax in the Lounge or have a drink at the well stocked bar. For a great holiday at a great price contact us and take advantage of our excellent deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lonsdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lonsdale House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing