We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Lonsdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lonsdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at Lonsdale Hotel for 2 nights on 24-26th April 2013. We have 2 small children and booked the large family room, think it was room 7. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, especially the chap who booked us in. He told us there were DVD's and games for the children.

They were more than accommodating for the fact we were staying with other family, who also stayed there, and they set out a larger table for us for breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was really tasty, poached eggs recommended!

Everything was nice and clean. Room good size for the 4 of us.

The only negatives were that we were located right on the front of the hotel and cars passing could be quite noisy. There was little traffic going past after 10pm so it didn't affect us getting to sleep. It is also located on a busy road so a little tricky when going out and about, we were a little concerned the children would run out into the road but don't let this put you off.

The location of the B&B is very good. Right on the doorstep to all the lovely shops and restaurants in Bowness. We would definitely stay at Lonsdale House again and would recommend it to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the B&B just to avoid the bit of noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was lovely to meet you all and to have you stay with us. We are very proud of our rooms and how well appointed and clean they are - thanks for noticing. Here at The Lonsdale we go to great lengths to make sure that our guest have an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. Thanks again for a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    145
    71
    13
    7
See reviews for
154
297
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lancs
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

just returned from a two night break in the lakes. The hotel was clean maybe could do with a lick of paint here and there but thats just being picky. The room we stayed in had a four poster which was novel the room had everything in including a small decanter of sherry and some toffees which we thought really quaint. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. the breakfast really set us up for the day, with plenty of choice, would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilloutsLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We enjoy providing the highest standard in cleanliness and service for our guests and its always a pleasure to hear feedback from those staying with us. We are actively trying to complete the remaining painting works in the public areas now that the rooms are finished and hope to be completed in the next week - fingers crossed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lonsdale House in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My partner and I booked our accommodation here at the last minute as we needed a much needed night away. I emailed the day before we arrived to see if they might have a bedroom with a four poster bed available, they emailed back within a couple of hourse saying that they were fully booked but would see what they could do. On arrival on Friday afternoon we were greeted so warmly by Andrew, who was delighted to inform us that they had a four poster bedroom for us. He showed us to our room and it was beautiful, warm, inviting and cosy (room 3). We then went out for a couple of hours and booked a lovely restaurant for dinner, Jacksons Bistro. Then had a drink in Hole in't Wall, fantastic!! We arrived back to our lovely warm room showered and had a lovely evening out. I slept really well, the bed was so comfy, only slight drawback was that the room was right at the front of the hotel on a busy main road, so was a bit noisy, but that was the only slight thing. Breakfast was wonderful, and I loved the fact that there was low music in the background, which made it a very comfortable, relaxing experience. The staff can't do enough for you, the hotel is clean and cosy and warm. We had a fantastic time and would certainly stay here again. Thank you!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that we have to offer here at Lonsdale House. We are pleased that we were able to offer you the upgrade to the Four Poster Room and that it was so much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Having booked our stay via Late Rooms and carefully scanning through the reviews on Trip Advisor, my husband and I had high expectations for Lonsdale House. Now returned home from our break, we can say without doubt that our expectations were infinitely exceeded and we honestly could not have wished for a better stay!

As soon as arrived, Andrew, the owner of Lonsdale, warmly greeted us and helped us with our luggage to our room. We stayed in the luxurious Room 6, with a gorgeous four-poster bed and super-comfy leather couch, perfect for lazy days! The walls here are cleverly covered with printed wallpaper in the guise of wood-panelling and book shelves. It really gives the room a distinguished feel and allows you to imagine how the hotel's interior may have appeared in the days when it was still a gentleman's residence!

To make the stay a real home-from-home, a small decanter of sherry awaited us, accompanied by a bowl of yummy toffees, of which both were replenished daily! Tea and coffee making facilities are also provided, and the digital TV service and DVD player are great for cosy nights in. It is worthy to note that there are a great selection of DVD's available at the front desk, completely free of charge! As for the cleanliness of the room, we couldn't fault it. Both the bedroom and en-suite bathroom were spotless, with fresh towels provided daily.

Served in a bright and elegant dining room, the breakfast at Lonsdale House is a delight and really prepares you for a busy day ahead. The 'Big Breakfast' is just as an English breakfast should be (with some super-delicious bacon), whilst the cereals, yoghurts, toast and fruit juices are a great added extra (or great just as a breakfast in their own right). There is also a cosy bar area, which opens until 10pm each day, and has some great cocktails. The Ruby Relaxer was a definite favourite!

In terms of the location, this really is a perfect base for exploring the Lake District. Being situated close to the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere, there are a wealth of great amenities within easy-reach including restaurants, cafes, bakeries and even a cinema, whilst the lakeside and spectacular views are still only a 5-10 minute walk away. The lake cruises and ferries, which run frequently from Bowness, also make it easy to explore the other surrounding areas of the South Lakes including Ambleside, Wray Castle, and, if you have your walking boots, a trip to Beatrix Potter's home, Hilltop, in Near Sawrey. I have to say, I found this particular walk a magical one and imagine this would be great day out if you have children too! The house is situated about two miles from the ferry port on the opposite side of the lake to Bowness, which can be accessed by boarding the car ferry at Cockshott point. Of course, if you don't quite fancy the walk, you could take the car instead!

Last, but most certainly not least, a special mention must be given to Andrew and all the staff at Lonsdale House, who were always so friendly and helpful. It really made our stay complete!

All in all, this was a truly fantastic mini-break and the only downside was leaving! We can't wait to come back again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay at Lonsdale House. We are all absolutely delighted with how comprehensive and thought out your comments are and it put a smile on all our faces. Thanks for noticing all the small touches and things we have worked hard at such as the room decor, choice of local bacon and even the DVD's and Cocktail List - all of which is done to make sure that guests have such a fantastic stay. Your review is also great for potential visitors offering plenty of information regarding the local area and things to do and visit - perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break in the not too distant future. All the very best, Andrew and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have just come back from our recent break in this hotel and can't fault our stay in any way, the rooms where decorated to a high standard very clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't do enough for you and where very pleasant which is always a good thing. Breakfast was beautiful and there was plenty to choose from! The bar was open until 11pm so if you fancied a tipple when arriving back to the hotel the choice was there. We never struggled to get parked there was ample parking spaces and where also offered to use the car park on the day we left if we needed to which was a lovely gesture. The location of the hotel was brilliant it is literally 2 minutes walk to the shops, restraunts and lake so if you want to eat out on an evening and have a drink you can walk back to the hotel. We wouldnt hesitate to stay in this hotel again it is excellent value for money and we will be staying here in future when we visit Bowness!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighGrayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Leigh, It was really nice meeting such a lovely family. Thank you so much for your kind comments and making our 200th Review such a brilliant one. Its all part of the service that we pride ourselves in providing here at Lonsdale House and when it is so appreciated by the lovely guests we seem to attract it always lifts you and puts a smile on your face. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Suited our overnight stay with our daughter, clean room, clean beds nice welcoming on arrival fantastic breakfast, only drawback was the small shower but overall just what the doctor ordered, would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcandjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your kind comments. We go to great lengths to try and ensure that our guests have the best stay with us possible from our comfy and well appointed rooms to the small touches such as complimentary Sherry to the Lake District Toffee in the rooms. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Lonsdale House in the not so distant future. Kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Overall the hotel offers a very good value for money stay. The hotel is quirky but in a really good way and sits well with the period style of the property. The staff were really good and attentive with nothing too much bother for them or the owner. The rooms were very well appointed with nice little touches . It is an ideal location for the town and easy walking distance . The breakfast was very good and there was as much as you cared for. The small bar offers a cosy environment for a nice drink or two. Would not hesitate using hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_fawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew762448, Manager at Lonsdale House, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Michael, Thank you for a great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that we have to offer here at Lonsdale House. We are pleased that you found us to represent very good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,878 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,398 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House

Property: Lonsdale House
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonsdale House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Central Location close to Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter Attraction, Restaurants, shops etc. Having Lake View Rooms, Four Poster Rooms and Family Rooms. Parking on site. Guests can relax in the Lounge or have a drink at the well stocked bar. For a great holiday at a great price contact us and take advantage of our excellent deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lonsdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lonsdale House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing