We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B excellent staff.”
Review of Lonsdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lonsdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Really great stay, we stayed in the deluxe room on the top floor fab full poster bed with the added bonus of a fantastic view.
Andrew and the staff couldn't be more hospitable particularly as we booked in very last minute, would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

I booked 4 Four Poster Rooms for a surprise for my wifes 50th birthday. We had three of our closest friends joining us and it was a well kept secret all involved - including the staff at check in.

Firstly about the place - we had rooms 2, 3, 6 and 9. The rooms were perfect. Beautifully decorated and plenty of space to move around. I also have to stress that the room was spotless (my wife is fussy and even she could not fault it). We had a beautiful view down the lake to the Langdale Pikes in the distance which we could not see on arrival because of the poor weather but when we woke up in the morning - wow. It has snowed overnight and the sun was shinning - stunning.

The bar area was superb and we went down for a drink after getting settled in the room and my wife nearly jumped out of her skin when everyone was in the bar with a bottle of Champagne waiting for her. The staff then came through with the cake. It could not have been better.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent. Again we could not fault any of it. Perfectly cooked and presented traditional Full English. The staff had thoughtfully laid us a huge table in the lounge so that we could all eat breakfast together which was really nice and gave us chance to plan the day.

To conclude I can say that we will definitely return, recommend to others as it was a beautiful place to stay, clean, lovely staff, great breakfast, great location and real value for money. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay and my wifes 50th so special. See you again very soon.

Room Tip: We had 4 Four Poster Rooms which were all amazing. Room 9 has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Third time of staying here and can recommend you give them a try. Just wanted a night away to relax and chill out handy for bars etc. Lonsdale House is 5mins from Lake Windermere, handy for bars and eating places. Andrew is very friendly and welcoming, Breakfast is a good selection and staff very attentive. I had room 7 again, its quiet and very comfortable.
Will have no hesitation in booking again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Churchills37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Like most reviews the welcome was very friendly, however room 2 was a big disappointment. In the bedroom there were areas that had not seen a vacuum cleaner in months and the skirting boards were lined in dust plus shabby paint work.There was a very unprofessional multi outlet extension block loosely connected to the wall. This room is also next to a very busy road so if you are a light sleeper you will disturbed by passing traffic.
The bathroom was worse, very small room with a very noisy extractor fan you also need to be 7' high to reach the switch,very small shower cubicle, loose toilet seat, tile grouting work very poor finish and in places not done at all. Also rusty radiator and metal towel rack. When taking a shower it was impossible to get any hot water, so had to wash my hair in the sink. Breakfast was just average. When I complained about the shower it seemed they knew it was a problem but failed to point it out when shown around the room. By the way, the wardrobe was at a very funny angle looking like it was about to fall over. The hotel has accredited themselves with 4 stars and an over inflated price,it's not worth paying it try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

this hotel was very friendly the staff pavel was very helpful regarding the places to go we took our dog belle and they went out of their way to make her comfortable and even set us a table in the bar so we could have breakfast together which has never happen at any other hotel we have visited. the room was large and the bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: room 5 had a view of the lake large room at the rear very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JULIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Very nice place in a very convenient location. The room was spacious and clean but the bathroom was quite small - we didn't mind but it could be a problem for a bigger person. Breakfast was nice and we did like very friendly and efficient service.
As for the staff - we were greeted by Pawel who was very friendly and helpful. As it was our first trip to the Lakes he recommended plenty of activities in the area so that we could see/experience as much as possible without wasting too much time driving.
The only negative thing about the place is the price per night. We managed to take advantage of the last minute booking discount but I am not sure if I would have paid full price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JU5TYNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

What a cracking welcome we received here. We were greated by a guy called Andrew who couldn't do enough to converse and help us. We were even given a choice of rooms as there was a cancellation. Staff were excellent in helping with advice on what to do & where to eat etc etc
My only criticism was that the bed was uncomfortable but that is down to taste so cannot blame the owner for this. Small issue aswell was that it appeared as if a bird had fallen in to the wall cavity about 6 in the morning as there was a lot of scuttling about in the wall.
We would undoubtedly return!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AronJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,963 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £68 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonsdale House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Central Location close to Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter Attraction, Restaurants, shops etc. Having Lake View Rooms, Four Poster Rooms and Family Rooms. Parking on site. Guests can relax in the Lounge or have a drink at the well stocked bar. For a great holiday at a great price contact us and take advantage of our excellent deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lonsdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lonsdale House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing