We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Lonsdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lonsdale House
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night to attend a wedding in the Lakes. The hotel is situated on the main road between Bowness and Windermere only a 5 minute walk to the shops, pubs and restaraunts in Bowness. The hotel room we had Room 10 was a large family room facing the main road, with the window closed there was no road noise whatsoever, the room was tastefully decorated providing everything needed for a short stay, although bathroom was a little small. The hotel has it's own bar which was expensive but expected in hotels. Staff at the hotel are polite and friendly and service was really good. Breakfast was nice but nothing to shout about. All in all the hotel offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnfisher3118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    145
    71
    13
    7
See reviews for
154
297
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Close to centre of Bowness. Lovely staff. And room was very nicely decorated and a partial view of the lake. Downside was the parking. It was limited and cars had to be blocked in to fit. Would cause an inconvenience. Best value for money though in the lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanyA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hello just to let you know that a stay at the Lonsdale House over the last few days has been most enjoyable with excellent service and superb breakfast. The room was very spacious and the power shower was a real power shower. There was no fault with the cleanliness' of any part of the hotel and would have no hesitation to stay there again.
Douglas

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struisbaai, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at this establishment twice: on our way up to Scotland and again on the way back to England.

Upon arrival, Andrew welcomed us as though we were old friends - we were completely charmed by him and found that the rest of the staff was equally friendly and efficient.

The rooms are lovely, with four poster beds, sherry and yummy toffees. The breakfast is very generous and quite scrumptious. When you go, insist on rooms away from the main road. Residents and visitors to Bowness are busy and travel constantly up and down the main road.

The only downside at this establishment is their apparent quest to get into the record books for the tiniest shower cubicles in the modern world, but everything else makes up for ten minutes of discomfort in the morning.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from our first trip to the Lake District and had the pleasure of staying at Lonsdale Guest House in Windermere. Everything was great and we genuinely could not fault the place. The room was spotless and was exactly as seen on the photos on the website and the view was beautiful. The breakfast was first rate and was good quality local ingredients cooked well. The position is perfect being so close to everything so we did not use the car for three days. The wifi worked fine for us and we had no problems at all with it. There is a smashing bar with a great selection of local beers. We enjoyed it so much we have rebooked to come back in September.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and i have just returned from a 2 night break at the Lonsdale and i have to admit i was apprehensive after reading some of the reviews of this B&B and even though theres the odd thing needing attention to, i was happy, our room (9) had a lovely four poster bed was lovely decorated and a decent size, the bathroom however could do with maybe a bit of a refurb to update it slightly, even though its small, it was clean enough and trust me, if i thought it was dirty i would of been out of there quick smart. We had our dog with us and the B&B couldnt be more helpful, the staff set us a table for breakfast in the bar so our dog could be with us :-)
The breakfast was nice and the staff attentive, offering us more toast, tea etc, finally i have to say the staff are amazing, so friendly & helpful :-) Thanks for everything guys :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muttzmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Although we were pleased to find a hotel that accepted dogs, we were disappointed generally with Lonsdale House as it was advertised 4* and we found it was most definitely 3*. The frontage of the building was a bit shabby, and we found it smelt inside of some kind of cheap cleaner. The room was clean, but the adverts on the website I think are quite misleading as they focus on certain features/furnishings that gives the illusion of it being more luxurious than it actually is. I couldn't get Wifi anywhere in the building, even downstairs in the main areas, and even with a password key.
Breakfast was good enough, and staff friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaMM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House

Property: Lonsdale House
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lonsdale House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Central Location close to Lake Windermere, Beatrix Potter Attraction, Restaurants, shops etc. Having Lake View Rooms, Four Poster Rooms and Family Rooms. Parking on site. Guests can relax in the Lounge or have a drink at the well stocked bar. For a great holiday at a great price contact us and take advantage of our excellent deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lonsdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lonsdale House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing