We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lonsdale House
Nearby Hotels
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
351
154
78
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
351
154
78
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedcomplimentary sherryb bfamily roomcumbrian breakfastlake districtbusy roadflights of stairswould definitely stay here againa lovely stayon arrivalbreakfast was deliciousshort walk to the lakemini breakcouldn't do enoughlovely roomfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I travelled with my family (inc. two children under 10yrs), my sister and her children and my parents. We had a lovely weekend stay in the Lonsdale Hotel. The owner Andrew extended a very warm welcome and was helpful and very friendly both before and after arrival. All of the staff were also very friendly too. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated and the breakfast was great ! We enjoyed some great food in the evenings in a selection of restaurants and pubs only a short walk from the hotel. We returned to the hotel later in the evenings to relax with a drink in the hotel lounge, the children were kept entertained by the great selection of board games found in a cupboard in the lounge. There is a lovely little play park behind the hotel which the children enjoyed too. Bowness is a great base for hill walking and many other tourist attractions too. We enjoyed the cruise boat/steam railway trip and managed a walk in the middle of it too. The only minor downside was the limited parking and the hotel is located on a busy road; however, we didn't have a problem parking ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coaker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

I would like to thank all the staff at Lonsdale House for a lovely stay. Me and my husband stayed there for 2 nights Bed and Breakfast. We had the Deluxe Room Lake View which was very nice when opening the curtains in a morning especially when the sun was shining, the room was very spacious and equipped with everything you needed eg towels, tea and coffee etc. It is ideally located near the Lake only a short walk down the hill which was ok with plenty of shops and restaurants to view on the way down. We would definitely go back and stay at the Lonsdale House Hotel again. Also i forgot to mention the breakfast was excellent plenty to put you on for the day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We arrived a little early and only wanted to ask if we could use the carpark but as our room was ready the helpful friendly staff allowed us to check in. The room was clean, spacious and we had been upgraded to a lake view. Hotel location was perfect just a short walk to the centre of Bowness. The small bar at the basement of the hotel was well stocked and ideal to relax and unwind. The hearty breakfast next morning was just what the doctor ordered and set us up for the rest of the day. Rooms had to be vacated by 10:30 which was not a problem for us, although I do think this maybe a little early for some?

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank risgibei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

The thing that really makes Lonsdale House is the staff-they were so friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us. The rooms was perfect apart from one fact-it was on the road side of the hotel and was really noisy. With the window shut it was OK but as we had unseasonably warm weather and the heating seemed to be on full, we had to have our window open which did keep us awake initially. However in every other aspect, the hotel was perfect for us. The bedroom had an amzing 4 poster bed in and was clean and tidy with plenty of storage space-even some mints and sherry! The bathroom was very modern and spotlessly clean. Brekafast was excellent, and even though the hotel was full, it came really quickly, and the staff were endlessly polite and pleasant in answer to all our queries. There is a car park behind the hotel which is a godsend but it is quite tight to get in and out of, so no good if you have a large car. Its situated right in the centre of town within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and the Lake, although it is up a small hill!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Myself and my husband stayed for 2nights and 3 days at Lonsdale Hotel at the end of March. From the minute of our arrival to the minute that we left our break we were treated so so well and looked after spectacularly. We cannot fault any moment of our break, our room had a fantastic view where you could see some of the lake and on a bright morning was lovely, our room in general was very spacious and a lovely nights sleep and even more so brilliant for myself as I was only weeks away from giving birth. Breakfast on a morning excellant service by Andrew and all staff and so filling for each day ahead, a full breakfast yummy indead. Fab advive for locations to visit and places to eat nearby as well and comfy living room area at Lonsdale Hotel with a small bar so you can enjoy an evening after having a night out to eat.
Again cannot fault anything and Andrew and the team were all absolutely brilliant, we will definately be booking another break shortly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annmariebradley1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews