We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a week in windermere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holmlea Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

holmlea guest house provided a clean, confortable, friendly and convenient base to explore the lake district from. Lake Windermere was only a 3 minute walk away as was the centre of town. We lucky enough to have very good weather and a very enjoyable week. thank you

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

Clean comfortable room, friendly, helpful hosts. Very good location, only a few minutes walk to the centre of Bowness and the Lake. Certainly recommend to others

Room Tip: Very light quiet room at top of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Last minute short break which we both enjoyed. Holmlea is an ideal location for exploring Bowness and the Lake District. Within easy walking distance are a wide selection of restaurants,pubs and cafe's catering for all tastes. The guest house itself was very clean and comfortable and we were made very welcome.We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

What a lovely guest house with excellent hosts . We arrived early but had no problem checking in and the host John showed us into our rooms and whilst we got changed checked the location of the Thai restaurant we had booked.
Breakfasts are plentifull and tasty and Jill was so friendly and attentive.
Returned from day out to find a bottle of complimentary wine left in our room to celebrate our anniversary.
Can`t wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

we were treated to a stay at Holmlea for our wedding aniversary by our daughters and they made a good choice, the hosts actually left aniversay card and complimentary bottle of wine which was a nice touch, B&B was very clean and ideal for our stay of two nights, location ideal for town and lake would deffinitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Holmlea, we had a wonderful time and can't wait to return. The accomodation was brilliant, clean and tidy with a good choice of breakfast, which I really appreciated being a vegetarian. Gill was an excellent host, greeting us on arrival and there on hand anytime day or night if needed. We also had the added extra of a free pass to have use of the spa and swimming pool at the Macdonald Old England Hotel just down the road. We would definately recommend Holmlea to all our friends and family and to anyone who wanted accomodation in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed at Holmlea for 2 nights in March 2012 and we really liked it. Clean and friendly with a nice breakfast to set you up for the day. The location was great for Bowness, literally on the door-step. We were provided with a free spa pass for the Macdonald Old England Hotel down the road which was a nice addition to our break, making full use of the swimming pool and spa facilities. A few reviews on here seem to portray the place as unwelcoming but we didn't feel that was the case at all. Would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#15 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
May Cottage
May Cottage
#20 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fair Rigg Guest House
Fair Rigg Guest House
#12 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#30 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#10 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmlea Guest House

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £89 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holmlea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holmlea Guest House is a quality bed and breakfast accommodation located in a prime, quiet location of Bowness on Windermere, very close to Lake Windermere. We cater exclusively for adults only and are unable to accommodate pets. Our comfortable bedrooms offer high standards of cleanliness and a relaxing retreat after a day on the fells or a leisurely cruise or walk. Guests that have booked direct and are staying two nights or more have free access to swimming pool, sauna and gym facilities at a nearby hotel overlooking Lake Windermere. Bowness village is situated on the shores of Lake Windermere and is surrounded by magnificent countryside, scenic walks and breathtaking views. Bustling with activity throughout the year and offers specialist shopping for fashion, food, arts, crafts, cafes, restaurants, pubs, tourist attractions and Lake Windermere cruises. All within a few minutes stroll from our Guest House. Look no further than this perfect location from which to stay, relax, unwind and take home great memories of your short break in the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holmlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmlea Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing