We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient B&B in Bowness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holmlea Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Convenient B&B in Bowness”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Holmlea. The hosts are very friendly and helped with getting our bags up to the rooms we had on the top floor - one twin & one single. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, and lots of helpful signs around so we would know how everything works. The rooms were rather cramped with very little space for bags, but there was plenty of drawer & wardrobe space which we used. The ensuite was a little small, but everything worked fine and plenty of hot water. Rather limited breakfast with no fruit or yoghurts unless you did not want cooked. No lounge available for guests, only the breakfast room. Very convenient location, but noisy at night from the street outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittlePatsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    44
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
93
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We spent 4 nights in the Holmlea and we found it very clean and comfortable. The rooms are not very big, but they are adequate with comfortable beds and plenty of storage - between 2 of us we used less than half of the drawer space! Breakfasts were delicious, as a vegetarian I was really impressed!
The location's good, only a very few minutes' walk from the restaurants, pubs and the lake.
We felt very welcome from the word go; we didn't meet John but Gill was really friendly and helpful. Thank you Gill, we'll no doubt see you again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at Holmlea for 4 nights and we found it a very clean, comfortable place to stay. The discounts we got for the Spa at McDonalds Hotel and the boat trips on Lake Windermere were an added bonus!. The choice of breakfasts on offer were very good and the owners were very accommodating with our individual requests. The only two (small) downsides were that 1: We weren't allowed to take evening meals back to the guest house (but considering it was a B&B that isn't really a very unacceptable request on their part) and
2: The on-suite in our room was a little on the 'snug' side. But as i'm 6ft 3 that may have something to do with it! lol.
But on the whole they are very small niggles. The guest house is in an ideal location for the town, lake and walks and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to friends who may be considering a trip up there.
Thankyou to the owners for a very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

July 2012 we stayed at holmelea for 3 nights & would definetly stay again owners very friendly &welcoming holmelea was clean comfortable breakfast was excellent we could not praise the guest house enough

Room Tip: groundfloor room attached to the guest house was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenw988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex,
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2012

holmlea guest house provided a clean, confortable, friendly and convenient base to explore the lake district from. Lake Windermere was only a 3 minute walk away as was the centre of town. We lucky enough to have very good weather and a very enjoyable week. thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Clean comfortable room, friendly, helpful hosts. Very good location, only a few minutes walk to the centre of Bowness and the Lake. Certainly recommend to others

Room Tip: Very light quiet room at top of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Last minute short break which we both enjoyed. Holmlea is an ideal location for exploring Bowness and the Lake District. Within easy walking distance are a wide selection of restaurants,pubs and cafe's catering for all tastes. The guest house itself was very clean and comfortable and we were made very welcome.We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#1 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#23 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#17 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fair Rigg Guest House
Fair Rigg Guest House
#11 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmlea Guest House

Property: Holmlea Guest House
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holmlea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holmlea Guest House is a quality bed and breakfast accommodation located in a prime, quiet location of Bowness on Windermere, very close to Lake Windermere. We cater exclusively for adults only and are unable to accommodate pets. Our comfortable bedrooms offer high standards of cleanliness and a relaxing retreat after a day on the fells or a leisurely cruise or walk. Guests that have booked direct and are staying two nights or more have free access to swimming pool, sauna and gym facilities at a nearby hotel overlooking Lake Windermere. Bowness village is situated on the shores of Lake Windermere and is surrounded by magnificent countryside, scenic walks and breathtaking views. Bustling with activity throughout the year and offers specialist shopping for fashion, food, arts, crafts, cafes, restaurants, pubs, tourist attractions and Lake Windermere cruises. All within a few minutes stroll from our Guest House. Look no further than this perfect location from which to stay, relax, unwind and take home great memories of your short break in the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holmlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmlea Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing