We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“few days away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holmlea Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

my husband and I stayed here for few days in may 2013 , room was very clean everything we needed , food was great, service great warm friendly ,local to attractions walking distance to town centre , warm and friendly atmosphere , very quiet at night , would stay again and recommend to family and friends one of the best b&B we stayed in for comfort and cleanness with fanatic service hoping to visit again later this year

Room Tip: we stay in the room joining main house very clean ,quiet and comfy would stay again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pocetnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We are on our way back for the third time this year to stay at Holmlea Guest House. We've stayed rain and shine experiencing excellent advise on things to do during the less appealing weather. The spa and cooked breakfast also helps to make the trip more relaxing. Holmlea is literally a two minute walk from the lake and restaurants making it a perfect choice for those whom don't wish to walk very far to make the most of Lake Windermere.

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 2 and 5 previously. Both rooms are of excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Rowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Hi all,well the ladies of a certain age have been travelling again.Had a lovely break at the Holmlea Guest house,Jill was lovely nothing to much trouble,the room was excellant,spotlessly clean and the tea and coffee facilities were top class and no limitations(fabulous),the breakfast was cooked to order the choice was very good.The Holmlea is ideally situated only 5min walk to the lake side,and near some lovely restaurants and shops,also on a fantastic bus route,good not fault this little gem and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a lovely twin room on the top of the house,which we could see the lake from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojomamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Everything from the cosy very well decorated and spotless room, warm hostess who was extremely helpful in finding activities and transport info. The location of the hotel is perfect, just a minute away from the lake. Breakfast was very nice and the access to the SPA at the Old McDonald is the cherry on top. We really felt like we were staying in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just a quick word.... Don't really do this but me and my fiancée have just had 2 lovely days in the lakes,we were really really happy we found this little guest house!! Everything perfect :0) and we will be back thanks very much

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieran1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have just stayed at Holmlea Guest house for 3 days. The location of this property is ideal to see and access all of Windemere with everything you need in walking distance. We parked in the private parking and walked everywhere. Having looked at the photos and the guest reviews we were really hopeful about this property, however some aspects did not live up to expectations. The photos make the rooms look large, bright and airy, the reality is that the room we stayed in was somewhat small. The bathroom was tiny. My partner had real issues with the shower, he was too tall at 6 feet and could not stand underneath the fixed showerhead, nor really enjoy the shower as it was very small. The bed also seemed small. Everything was spotlessly clean both in the room and in the main house, we stayed in the property to the back of the main building and walked to breakfast in the dining room - this was OK until it started raining! The hot water was temperamental. Having been out from the morning we came in around 2:30-3:00pm to have a shower before going out for an evening meal. At this time of the day on both days we had to wait for hot water until around 4:15!! Not the best of things when you are cold from the rain.
The breakfast was lovely with plenty on offer. The tea and coffee is replenished everyday which is good. Overall we have enjoyed our stay but feel some things could be improved/modernised.

Room Tip: The room to the back of the main building is perfect if you want to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Myself and my wife have just spent two days at the HOLMLEA. we have stayed in bowness many times before,but never at the HOLMLEA, but i will not be going elswhere after staying there,Gill was very welcoming,she showed my wife the accommodation on offer,and we decided to stay,what a superb choice,the room was top quality,the breakfast was superb,Gill our hostess was very attentive to our requirements,a first class guest house.

Room Tip: we were at the front of the house,which looks out onto the roadway,this did not cause us any problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StHelensBusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbriaboss, Owner at Holmlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

What wonderful comments, thank you so much. Feedback from guests has been really positive regarding our recent refurbishments and we're so glad you were comfortable. You were both a pleasure to meet and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#14 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
226 reviews
0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmlea Guest House

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £89 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holmlea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed and breakfast accommodation located in a prime, quiet location of Bowness on Windermere, very close to Lake Windermere. We cater exclusively for adults only and are unable to accommodate pets. Our comfortable bedrooms offer high standards of cleanliness and a relaxing retreat after a day on the fells or a leisurely cruise or walk. Bowness village is situated on the shores of Lake Windermere and is surrounded by magnificent countryside, scenic walks and breathtaking views. Bustling with activity throughout the year and offers specialist shopping for fashion, food, arts, crafts, cafes, restaurants, pubs, tourist attractions and Lake Windermere cruises. All within a few minutes stroll from our Guest House. Look no further than this perfect location from which to stay, relax, unwind and take home great memories of your short break in the Lake District. Guests that have booked direct are guaranteed our best possible rates plus 10% off a half lake cruise on Lake Windermere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holmlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmlea Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing