We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmlea Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Lovely b&b in a very convienently placed location , lovely breakfast , very clean .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockinjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    45
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
95
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

The hostess of the Holmlea makes this place a wonderful place to stay for a short break in the Lakes. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable, and decorated to a high standard. Plenty of choice is provided at breakfast.

Yes there are lots of signs around the place, but that just reflects that the landlady takes great pride in keeping it tidy.....I would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rendesvouz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Visited here twice now and whilst location is perfect, the food good and rooms comfortable, the hostess struggles to muster up a smile for guests.

Rooms were clean and comfy, but adorned with little laminated notices telling you that you 'MUST NOT SMOKE', 'MUST TAKE OFF YOUR SHOES ON RAINY DAYS', 'MUST CLOSE THE BATHROOM DOOR WHEN SHOWERING TO PREVENT SETTING OFF SMOKE ALARM' (I thought steam was water vapour, not smoke!).

Appreciate this is someone's home, but the rules overload came across as a bit autocratic and condescending at times. Hostess clearly works hard running the Holmlea, but not always conducive to conversing with guests.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spoon235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Just had two nights staying in the Holmlea with my wife, owner very friendly and welcoming on arrival, room nice and clean with flat screen telly on the wall with a nice clear picture not the usual grainy ghosty picture that you usually get with a guest house telly, breakfast very nice with a choice of how you like your eggs, would definatly stay he again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PirateCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2008

My other half and I stayed at the Holmlea Guest house for two nights. Have to say I was pleasantly surprised - our room was a good size, CLEAN and the bed was extremely comfortable which is a must if you've been climbing hills all day. The breakfast was great, just what you need to set you up for the day. It's the first time I've stayed at a B&B and to be honest it was almost as if you were staying at a small hotel. The owners allowed you to come and go as you pleased.

The next time we are in the lakes will defi stay at the Holmlea. Great location in the town and for getting around the Lakes.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — There is plenty of space for cars however your car may be blocked in depending on when you arrive. We DID NOT have a problem as cars can be moved around (you are asked to leave your car keys in the room if your car is blocking someone else).
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#24 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beechwood Guest House
Beechwood Guest House
#15 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#27 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#29 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmlea Guest House

Property: Holmlea Guest House
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holmlea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holmlea Guest House is a quality bed and breakfast accommodation located in a prime, quiet location of Bowness on Windermere, very close to Lake Windermere. We cater exclusively for adults only and are unable to accommodate pets. Our comfortable bedrooms offer high standards of cleanliness and a relaxing retreat after a day on the fells or a leisurely cruise or walk. Guests that have booked direct and are staying two nights or more have free access to swimming pool, sauna and gym facilities at a nearby hotel overlooking Lake Windermere. Bowness village is situated on the shores of Lake Windermere and is surrounded by magnificent countryside, scenic walks and breathtaking views. Bustling with activity throughout the year and offers specialist shopping for fashion, food, arts, crafts, cafes, restaurants, pubs, tourist attractions and Lake Windermere cruises. All within a few minutes stroll from our Guest House. Look no further than this perfect location from which to stay, relax, unwind and take home great memories of your short break in the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holmlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmlea Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing