We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring break”
Review of Fallbarrow Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fallbarrow Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just returned from a three night break with our touring caravan. The site is just outside bowness which is ideal for walking out and enjoying the town centre coffee and cake shops which there are plenty. The touring pitches are near the reception area and children's play park. On arrival at reception you are given a welcome pack which includes a pass for the electric gates. We enjoyed the walks around the caravan site and down by the lake my daughter loved to feed the very hungry ducks geese and swans. The shower block is nice and warm and had a free hairdryer next to one of the mirrors. We enjoyed lunch at the barn which is the coffee shop come store on site the baguettes were lovely and fresh. A couple of nights we went to the boathouse on site where the staff were all very friendly and the food choices here were good. We will def return to the site as the lakes is a lovely area to visit

Room Tip: Avoid pitch 63 very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmscmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your review, the touring park is very popular at Fallbarrow, with our guests enjoying the facilities on park and exploring the local scenes. We do have some hungry ducks and over in reception we sell duck food for £1 with the proceeds going to support The Cumbria Wildlife Trust. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, myself and all the staff do try to create a friendly atmosphere for everyone to feel relaxed and enjoy their time at Fallbarow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have just come back from our first visit here. The site and area are wonderful, the caravans were spotlessly clean and well appointed.
On the downside the site bar was very noisy at night but a very helpful Night Warden sorted this for us.
I would strongly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popstony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for reviewing Fallbarrow, I am sorry that some of the noise from the bar disturbed your stay, I have instructed the bar Manager to be vigilant and ensure the bar doors are closed to reduce the noise levels whenever possible. Our Night Warden is there to help our guests and I am glad you found him very helpful, I will pass your comments onto him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3 bed standard lodge, on arrival we were told it was the gatehouse. I asked the extremely helpful girl in reception if we could be moved as we had 2 small children with us who love to play outside and there was no way they could do that at the gatehouse. Its also in a noisy position (we visit bowness often and always see trucks unloading right next to it) she was very accommodating but could only move us to a 2 bed lodge which was fine as 2 of our party had dropped out that week anyway. However no offer of a refund for the difference was made when I asked she did check with her manager who informed us there would not be a refund as it was our decision to move lodges. Well it's a good job our party had dropped from 6 to 4 otherwise we'd have been stuck in a noisy position where the kids couldn't play out without visiting the playground.

The lodges look nothing like advertised on the website inside but are clean, warm and comfortable. I'd have to agree with some of the other reviews though that the bedrooms and bathroom are no bigger than a caravan.

The site itself is gorgeous and in such a good location. I've stayed in a 3 bed caravan here before which was great.

My advice would be to stick with a caravan booking if you can and if not check they haven't booked you into the gatehouse!!

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Sammii36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed on this site for 2 night in our motor home, reception was first class. The barrier to the site was electronic operated by a key card . The pitch was hard standing with EHU & water they were also surrounded by a six foot beach hedge. The toilets were clean and warm. There is also a cafe/deli with a shop that would put my local corner shop to shame on our last morning we had a full English at the cafe which set us up for the drive home. We would def stay here again if we were back in the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just returned here having spent a couple of nights in a touring caravan. Great location as Bowness is only a 2 minute walk away. We had a tasty breakfast in the Barn. You can have a nice walk around the site and feed the ducks/swans/geese at the water side. There is also a little park for kids.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireabella85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Went to this park with my family for a long weekend, found it very well kept peaceful area with lovely views down by the lake.
The walk into the town is just 5 minutes, where there are plenty of places to eat
We did not eat in the Boathouse as it did seem a little expensive also not much choice.
It is a good base for days out, will be going again next year.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank JFK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We are currently staying in a Superior Caravan. We arrived yesterday afternoon and immediately went out exploring the area after a very long drive from South Wales.

Upon arrival we were welcomed and given the keys and access pass for the car barrier. With a pile up of cars and touring caravans behind us, the pass did not work. This did not start our holiday on the best foot.

After exploring and returning to the site at 7pm the reception was closed so we could not access the internet until the next morning as we needed a coupon from the reception. When we raised this issue with the receptionist the next morning it was made very clear that we were in the wrong for not raising this issue earlier. I recommended that in future it would be a good idea to make this clear upon arrival. Although meant as a piece of friendly advice to improve future services, it was not taken well and we were told “We can’t be expected to tell you everything that is in the welcome pack”. I do not wish to begin a holiday in the beautiful lake district sat indoors reading through a huge A4 file!!

Another problem on our arrival was noticing that some of the cutlery and crockery was still dirty from the previous tenants. We had a ‘Clean All’ card which identified it had been cleaned and checked by two different people and yet the uncleanliness was not picked up by either persons.

I am happy to say that there was no infant or elderly persons in our party as when we showered yesterday evening the shower was beyond scalding hot. The temperature gauge on the shower did not work at all and myself and partner had to persist with either being scalded or freezing cold as there was no in-between. This could have been potentially VERY harmful to a small child left to shower! I raise this issue more so for the next family that arrives here.

When we raised these issues we felt as though the fault was being deflected onto us for not reporting sooner or reading the brochure fully rather than accepting any responsibility at all. We were also informed that “due to the size of the park, everything is not going to work as it should all of the time”. I do feel a part of this was due to our relative youth and were not treated as adults. Bearing in mind we are both in our late twenties and have management positions within hospitality trade ourselves.

This has been one thing after another which has tarnished our stay so far and left a very bitter taste in our mouths. I will not be recommending this to any of my family or friends. Especially my father who was looking to stay here next year for 6 weeks in his touring caravan. This was supposed to be a break away from a very traumatic time in our lives and was booked by my father as a gift.

At the current time we are looking forward to check out on Friday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DF011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Feedback from our clients is vital to us and we sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Fallbarrow Park. As you will see from other reviews, Fallbarrow is a very popular and highly recommended holiday park. We are aware from time to time that issues do arise which we aim to rectify as soon as we are made aware of them but if we fell short on this occasion, we again, apologise. Providing the best possible holiday experience is something we strive to achieve and we do hope that this isolated incident would not deter you from visiting us again.

If you would like to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations Manager directly on 015395 69835 and she will be happy to make the necessary arrangements for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,947 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fallbarrow Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fallbarrow Park

Address: Fallbarrow Park Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:5 star — Fallbarrow Park 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fallbarrow Park is set amidst the wooded parkland that borders the eastern shore of Lake Windermere. Fallbarrow has extensive private grounds running right down to the water’s edge in an area of outstanding scenic beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fallbarrow Park Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fallbarrow Park Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing