We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well recommended!”
Review of Fallbarrow Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fallbarrow Park
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well recommended!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A very enjoyable 4 night family break with my husband and 3 year old son. I was vey impressed with the high standard of cleanliness both in the park and the caravan (2 berth superior plus). The site is in an excellent location, just a few minutes stroll into Bowness. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your great review regarding your recent stay with us. It is lovely to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would recommend us. We pride ourselves on the appearance of the park and cleanliness of the accommodation and it is great that you were impressed with both. As you have mentioned the location is unbeatable, just a few minutes from Bowness and on the lake front.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Fallbarrow in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    142
    48
    25
    23
See reviews for
350
240
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

we stayed in a two bedroom caravan opposite the club and shop we stay three times a year some times in caravan and some times lodges what a excellent holiday there is no fault we can find, the staff are very friendly and helpful, lovely little shop and café that sells lovely quality food and drink, in all a very relaxing over all holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review following your recent stay. It is great to get feedback from our guests. It is fantastic to hear that you are a regular visitor at Fallbarrow and your most recent stay did not disappoint. I am happy you found all of our staff to be friendly and helpful. As you have mentioned we have a lovely deli and shop on site with great quality food and drink.
It is great you had another relaxing stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again at Fallbarrow in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Managed to book a lodge at short notice as had been looking around for some accommodation for quite a while and not been pleased with reviews on mainly the beds being terrible as I suffer with a bad back, thought we'd never get a superior lodge with all the comforts because we have a dog but stumbled across your park and couldn't believe it when I could book such a lovely place with the dog. When we arrived at the park check in was easy and the staff very helpful and friendly. Very pleased with what we saw on arrival, park looked very nice and accommodation even better. Walked into lodge and just thought wow!!!. Lovely, clean and very homely and yes the bed was excellent too. Thanks again for such a wonderful holiday and we certainly look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 159Karen_E_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for a brilliant review, it is lovely that you had a great stay with us. I am happy that you managed to get some last minute accommodation with us, we do get very full but it is sometimes available and always worth checking. I am glad we also were able to accommodate your dog with us, we have recently opened more pet friendly accommodation which is proving to be extremely popular. It is lovely that you found the check in process easy and the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We pride ourselves on the appearance of the park and accommodation and It is fantastic that you were impressed with both. As you have mentioned the lodges are lovely, clean and extremely homely. I am pleased you also had a comfortable sleep.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Fallbarrow in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Touring pitches are private and very clean. Five star facilities. Definitely the best holiday park in the Lake District. Entertainment in the clubhouse very good, special mention to Kieran, what a singing voice!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review regarding your recent stay at Fallbarrow. As you have commented our touring pitches are private and very clean. We pride ourselves on ensuring the park is up to our 5 star standard and it is great to hear that you agree. It is fantastic that you would class us as the best in the Lake District.

We have improved and expanded on Entertainment that we provide in the Clubhouse this year and it is going down a storm. I am pleases you agree. Kieran will be extremely happy to see your special mention, his singing is excellent!

Thank you again for your great review and we hope to see you again soon at Fallbarrow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here with my family for a short break Mon-Fri in May half term and it was fantastic. Lovely location, on the Lake, was quiet with a nice play area and bar/take away and a shop/deli everything you would want. Only a short walk into Bowness and all the shops/bars and restaurant. Highly recommend if this is your first holiday in the Lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you had a fantastic stay at Fallbarrow. As you have mentioned the location is lovely, right on the lake front, quiet and we have some great facilities on site. I am pleased that you made the most of all on our on site amenities.

We are extremely pleased that you would recommend us and we hope you do come and visit us again. If you would like to make any enquiries about a future booking please contact our friendly Reception team on 015394 44422.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed four nights in a 'superior plus' lodge; kettle had mould in it, fridge smelt, oven and hob greasy, outside of lodge and windows dirty, outside furniture [table and chairs] dirty and not fit to sit on, decking dirty and dangerously slippy [needed jet / pressure washing], Jacuzzi bath not properly maintained with jets putting out foul smelling and dirty water when first used.
Complained, although staff had little interest, so only issue resolved was kettle replacement. Overall opinion therefore poor value for money and definitely would not revisit. Needs commitment and work from management and staff to improve on this site.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamesdc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you had a few issues regarding the cleanliness of your accommodation.
We do carry out stringent cleaning and checking procedures prior to the arrival of guests, and unfortunately it seems that on this occasion, your accommodation did not meet our usual high standards. The points raised in your review have now been, or are being, addressed.

I am sorry that you found our staff to be disinterested in your complaint and I will definitely be investigating this further and ensure that all our staff are friendly and helpful. We pride our self on customer service and we usually have brilliant reviews on our staff.

I would like to thank you for your comments. We do use your comments to make us aware of our failings and highlight areas in which we need to focus in order to improve our services. This is extremely rare as you can see from our other reviews we normally have a brilliant customer base

Thank you once again for leaving a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at Fallbarrow for the May half term, its definitely one of the nicest caravan parks I have stayed at. We rented a 2 bedroom superior caravan and we were allocated A8 which was near the reception ,park and pub/restaurant, it was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed.
We ate out one night at the Boathouse restaurant on site and the food was lovely and very reasonable, the kids loved the play park and there is also a good amusement games room so its really good for all ages and kids of all ages shouldn't get bored.
The site is right on the shore of Lake Windermere and only a 5 minute stroll ,if that, in to Bowness which is really nice, lots of boat trips on offer if you walk down to the piers.
A bit further down you can get the car ferry which takes you to the other side of the lake, it costs £4.30 each way per car, foot passengers can go on for 50p each way which we did and went for a very long walk to Hilltop, Beatrix Potters former holiday home (we really underestimated how many miles it was and got the bus back) which talking of the bus, is called the mountain goat, it picks you up from the ferry and is very regular,it will take you to most the main attractions on Windermere. If you take enough spending money you really don't need your car once you arrive.
We are already looking at staying next year maybe in the summer holidays, the staff are all really friendly and there is lots to do. A quick tip though if you decide to visit Wray Castle on the east shore (which is fab and great for kids), rather than going by car ferry which you will then have to drive up some horrible single roads, take the main road instead up the west side of the lake toward Ambleside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, General Manager at Fallbarrow Park, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review regarding you recent stay with us at Fallbarrow. It is great that you are already looking at staying with us again. It is fantastic that you think Fallbarrow is one of the nicest caravan parks that you have visited.

I am happy you found your caravan to be spotlessly clean, was equipped with everything you required and the location was handy for the amenities.

I am also pleased you enjoyed a meal in the Boathouse and found it to also be reasonably priced. The games room and play park are great to keep the kids entertained and I am glad you made use of these. As you have mentioned Fallbarrow is in a excellent location, right on the shore of Lake Windermere and only a 5 minute stroll from Bowness.

It is lovely to hear about the great things you did during your holiday and the local attractions you visited, there are so many to choose from.

I am pleased you found all of the staff to be very friendly. It is great that you're looking to book again with us next summer our bookings are not yet open but we will let you know when we are taking bookings for 2015. You will also receive a loyalty discount for staying with us again.

Thank you again for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fallbarrow Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fallbarrow Park

Property: Fallbarrow Park
Address: Fallbarrow Park Rayrigg Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:5 star — Fallbarrow Park 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fallbarrow Park is set amidst the wooded parkland that borders the eastern shore of Lake Windermere. Fallbarrow has extensive private grounds running right down to the water’s edge in an area of outstanding scenic beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fallbarrow Park Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fallbarrow Park Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing