We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable warm and friendly family hotel”
Review of Lisdoonie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lisdoonie Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable warm and friendly family hotel”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Beautiful food, friendly staff and comfortable room. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nearlymarried1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    31
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
22
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I was booked in for three nights but had to leave after two. I have never slept in a creakier bed and I selected the quieter of the two in my garret room. No shower, only a bath, is not acceptable in this day and age. The staff seemed to be going through the motions rather than providing a service. I recognised several other guests eating in the pub across the road rather than trying the limited evening menu.
The bar remained deserted and in darkness throughout my stay, completely unwelcoming.
I would sleep in my car rather than using this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotty_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed at the Lisdoonie for 3 nights. After a long journey I was keen to check-in and get to bed. Upon finding someone to check me in I was made to feel like an inconvenience rather than a guest. I had been reserved a room without a shower (why would such a thing exist?) and my request to be moved was met with many grumbles.

I started to regret my choice of hotels, my opinion didn't change as I was pointed towards my room. The decor doesn't get any better as you move through the hotel - it felt a little bit like staying at your gran's house. Although my gran's house never felt unclean...

Breakfast was far from great. Tables were left uncleared and staff were monosyllabic at best. I won't be visiting again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffersonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The whole hotel looked tired, there was a bar but all drinks came from the kitchen, the bar was never open as such. The food was accepable but I ordered a sirloin steak, medium rare with chips it came with potatoes, when it was taken away and later returned with chips the steak had been warmed up in a microwave and had gone from meduium rare to well done. I felt let down. The stairs needed hoovering and were grubby.
The bedroom was clean and very roomy although the bathroom froor linolium was covered in holes. Room No1. Although it served its purpose the hotel is more suited to commercial travellers than a holiday stay.

Room Tip: Go to the Majestic its much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff-Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2010

i last stayed here almost three years ago and to tell the truth i wouldn't have come back , if it weren't for work . the standard of presentation for thew rooms has definetly improved . new carpets on the stairs and in my room (same as last time) . toiletries now provided and proprer full freeview flatscreen tv. it does see a little short staffed with the same person doing check in , table waiting , and bar work , but they are very friendly and approachable . allin all it does have more of a BnB feel , but ok for one or two nights

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plumbboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The "Liz" has been our solo choice to stay on the Furness peninsula for 20 plus years. We are Canadian-AMericans interested in value for money and genuiness of accommodation and serving staff. The staff is friendly, making one feel comfortable. The rooms are carefully set up with appropriate amenities. The breakfasts are personally prepared by the staff on order. The scrambled eggs are worthy of duplication. If th standard is either cheap and cheerful or high toney, this place is not for one. If one prefers a cookie-cutter motel from America, this is not for you. If one prefers the rigidity of a formal hotel, this place is note for you. If one prefers a monastic-type retreat, this place with a dignificant catering business serving the entire town, this place is not for you. However, if you like friendly, casual informality with great experienced staff, have a 'go' with the Lisdoonie.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

First off, the hotel is somewhat shabby; it's not unclean, but it feels more like a backpackers hostel than a hotel.

Secondly, the service was poor - not because of a lack of effort on the part of the one person who appears to work there, but because that one person has to deal with check-in, check-out and serving in the restaurant. Obviously this might not always be the case; it could simply have been because of illness or something.

However, on the positive side there is ample parking, and the food is plentiful and quite tasty.

Overall I don't think I'll be staying there again, though.

  • Liked — Ample car parking
  • Disliked — Poor service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ihilate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.9 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisdoonie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisdoonie Hotel

Property: Lisdoonie Hotel
Address: 307 Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisdoonie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lisdoonie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing