We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lisdoonie Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lisdoonie Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“happy experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Lovely comfortable family room with plenty of space (we had 2 dogs with us too!) and nice to see that since our last visit the bathroom flooring had been renewed. As always the staff were friendly and helpful & even advised us on where to take our dogs for walks. The meals were excellent & good value for money.

Room Tip: Just give them your requirements & they do their best to fulfill that
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
22
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
esher
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Have just returned from a three night stay at the Lisdoonie, no complaints what so ever. I toold them roughly what time I would be arriving, someone was in reception waiting on our arrival. Compaired with some hotels the rooms were spacious and clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We complained about the kettle in our room, on our return we had a new one. We asked in advance if we could have a shower in our room, as the wife had a shoulder injury and could not use a bath, we got a room with a shower. We were there for a funeral, and asked if our room could be cleaned last as we needed to get ready for the funeral, no problem. Beware with the evening meals, as they are huge portions, have something light lunchtimes. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heavyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We came to Barrow for a family occasion. First impressions on arrival was that the hotel could do with a bit of an update, but the staff were friendly and even arranged a taxi for us for our evening out. The room we stayed in was a good size, clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, because we were out for the evening we didn't eat at the hotel but breakfast in the morning was good. We have stayed in Barrow before but closer to the town which we found could be quite noisy. The Lisdoonie is ideally placed, in a quiet location but close enough to the town. This will definately be our hotel of choice the next time we come to Barrow

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnime201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Beautiful food, friendly staff and comfortable room. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nearlymarried1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I was booked in for three nights but had to leave after two. I have never slept in a creakier bed and I selected the quieter of the two in my garret room. No shower, only a bath, is not acceptable in this day and age. The staff seemed to be going through the motions rather than providing a service. I recognised several other guests eating in the pub across the road rather than trying the limited evening menu.
The bar remained deserted and in darkness throughout my stay, completely unwelcoming.
I would sleep in my car rather than using this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotty_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed at the Lisdoonie for 3 nights. After a long journey I was keen to check-in and get to bed. Upon finding someone to check me in I was made to feel like an inconvenience rather than a guest. I had been reserved a room without a shower (why would such a thing exist?) and my request to be moved was met with many grumbles.

I started to regret my choice of hotels, my opinion didn't change as I was pointed towards my room. The decor doesn't get any better as you move through the hotel - it felt a little bit like staying at your gran's house. Although my gran's house never felt unclean...

Breakfast was far from great. Tables were left uncleared and staff were monosyllabic at best. I won't be visiting again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffersonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The whole hotel looked tired, there was a bar but all drinks came from the kitchen, the bar was never open as such. The food was accepable but I ordered a sirloin steak, medium rare with chips it came with potatoes, when it was taken away and later returned with chips the steak had been warmed up in a microwave and had gone from meduium rare to well done. I felt let down. The stairs needed hoovering and were grubby.
The bedroom was clean and very roomy although the bathroom froor linolium was covered in holes. Room No1. Although it served its purpose the hotel is more suited to commercial travellers than a holiday stay.

Room Tip: Go to the Majestic its much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff-Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.6 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisdoonie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisdoonie Hotel

Property: Lisdoonie Hotel
Address: 307 Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisdoonie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lisdoonie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing