We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, clean and friendly”
Review of Lisdoonie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lisdoonie Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here as it was a very short drive to the South Lakes Wildlife Animal Park. To be honest first impressions from outside werent very good but once inside it was the total opposite. A bit dated but very welcoming, friendly, clean and homely. Our family room was big and spacious, so was the bathroom, it was all very clean and fresh smelling. We had our evening meal there and it was fantastic, very good value for money as the portions were very big, very tasty and very well cooked as was the full english the next morning, cooked to perfection. All the staff we meet were lovely, friendly and very helpful. Will defo book again when the zoo has finished its extension. All i can say is thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McSped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

This place from the moment you step into the hallway has a welcoming feeling. We were a party of 7 visiting barrow for a family funeral all the way from sunny Essex with a rather independent 4 year old girl (explorer) we were promptly welcomed an. All given keys to our rooms (family room number 1 For me my wife and 4yr old) wow!. The room was massive, bright clean and came with tea, coffee hot chocolate...and most importantly biscuits! This was a super sized room and more the adequate for the 3 of us the bathroom came with complementry soaps and a large selection of towels and again was a great size. After we settled in and unloaded our suitcases we ventured downstairs to a small bar area and decided to have the special after viewing the food menu. The price was very attractive if I'm correct it was £9.99 and that was acchoice of 6 or 7 different meals and comes with a pint! 15 minutes later my eyes poped out of my head, I chose the rack of ribs with chips and coleslaw wow! The ribs were the size of my arm, the coleslaw was amazing the saying eyes bigger than my belly sprung to mind. Super value and all 7 of us agreed! The sleep quality was great, double glazed windows so no noise at all from outside and the sturdy front door kept any noise downstairs away. The next morning we all came down for breakfast together and within 30 seconds our cups were full with either tea or coffee and served with a smile! I'm not a fried breakfast eater but after last night's meal I thought I'd give it a go. 10 minutes later 7 cooked breakfasts appeared ! Wow wow wow! Try the scrambled egg it's amazing! Again teas and coffees served throughout by the attentive staff! All the staff were great and we felt no issues in letting our daughter explore within reason! We were even shown the tv room were childrens tv was put on for us! We were so impressed by this hotel that our stay of 4 nights turned into 5, infact we didnt want to leave! Already planning to come back in the summer! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This is a fairly average sort of place. My only advice is don't give them your email address unless you want to receive spam emails from facebook. There are some better alternatives nearby such as the Abbet House and in the end, if you are resigned to stay in Barrow then you really should find a decent hotel to make the experience bearable

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normannorma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Just returned from a stay at Lisdoonie hotel and was very impressed with the hotel and value for money. If your looking for an inexpensive hotel to stay in Barrow this is the place for you. Room was lovely and warm and spotlessly clean, bed was very comfy with fresh smelling bed linen. Bathroom was bright and smelled fresh and had a good shower over the bath with lovely big fresh fluffy towels and very nice shower gels ,shampoo and handwash were supplied too. Tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits were available in room and lots more extras than was expected for the price.Staff were all lovely friendly and helpful with big smiles on their faces. We were at a function which we all enjoyed and the food was superb and plentiful with offers of extras for each course.Breakfast was delicious,bacon and sausage were both very tasty-well done to all.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valandmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Liked my stay here, clean, comfortable and really friendly staff. Nice quiet room, good breakfast. Walked across the road to the Strawberry pub and enjoyed that. Also went into Barrow to the Jade Chinese buffet. Will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicesterCityFan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I visited the Lisdoonie Hotel for a weekend in Spetember to go to the SOuth Lakes Wildlife Park in Dalton-in-Furness, a neighbouring village.

We checked in around 6:15pm and i have to give credit to the man on the reception desk as it was a very swift check-in. Payment was made on leaving the hotel.

We found our way to our room, via a few lfights of stairs and landings. We were greeted by a room which was a throw back to the 70's. The carpet and decro was dated but on the plus side was clean. There was also a TV in the room ,although small, and an ensuite bathroom.

I searched umpteen hotel sites and trsut me priced at £52 a night this represents one of the best rates in the south lakes area, so this has to be remembered when reading my review.

The breakfast was adequate, with the option of a cooked breakfast, which wa shome cooked by one of the owners of the hotel. I do not know her name but all i will say is that she was a bit surly and our presence in the hotel almost seemed a hidnerence to her. We heard her, when asked about how many rooms they had there.

"12, but at the moment that feels like 12 too many. "

Better a bit of work to do than 12 empty rooms i would think.

On the negative side then, room basic, dated and quite cold
positive quite large, ensutie faciltiies, digital tv

breakfast negative- cooked breakfast not self service, surly staff only available for an hour each morning.
positives- included in the price, option of cooked breakfast

location negatvies on outskirts of Barrow , so be preapred for a mile walk to the town centre and back,
positive, close to a family friendly pub
close to the South Lakes Wildlife Park (4 miles)

Overall a reaosanble stay but, its limitations are reflected in the price.

Room Tip: Be mindful so disabled facilties at hotel, no lift to guest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicholas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stay in the Barrow area a lot on business, and have stayed at this hotel many times, i say its a hotel it is more like a home from home, the staff will always stop and have a chat, the rooms are more like a guest house than a hotel, its in need of modernisation but always clean and comfortable. the chef's specials each night are good and the potions are LARGE, and with a couple days notice Dave (Chef) will cook you a meal of your choice, there is a nice public house on the other side of the road "The Strawberry" which always lively.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
371 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisdoonie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisdoonie Hotel

Address: 307 Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £51 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisdoonie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lisdoonie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing