We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lisdoonie”
Review of Lisdoonie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lisdoonie Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

To be fair to the hotel, we should have warned them that my 5 year old might want to go to sleep before 1am.

Then they might have warned us about the EXTREMLEY LOUD music from the party in their funtion room...




If you like decor from 1988, combined with staying awake all night, then this is the hotel for you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank BondMacclesfield-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

we have just stayed here with our 4 children , great location near to south lakes animal park and the dock museum . staff were very friendly and helpful . stayed for evening meal which was delicious enjoyed by all of us . breakfast also very good , nice clean family room with plenty fresh towels and even hot chocolate for the children. only negative we have is that me and my husband had a futon bed which was basically a wooden rack with extremely thin mattress . so we got very little sleep as was so uncomfortable. however the 4 children slept perfect!!!

Room Tip: great place to stay if only 1 child in family room . we took 4 and not enough proper beds .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst visiting family. The room was large and clean if a little dated, we stayed in a family room and it was a good size for us (1 double, 1 3/4 bed and a single). What little contact we had with the staff was positive. The rest of the hotel was also very clean and well maintained, just dated. The breakfast was ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Although the decor is dated it felt very homely perfect for us we went for the weekend to visit friends we took our 5month lb was perfect as we were able to chill together in the lounge and sky tv whilst getting a few drinks at the bar. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the service at breakfast was exceptional would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great location, great food, great staff, great price, Clean and comfortable. We really liked the homely atmosphere and the interesting furnishings and pictures. Looking toward to visiting this lovely Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobyshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

stayed for 2nights ,place a bit dated but very clean and a good size family room.
staff very friendly and an excellent breakfast was enjoyed by us all.
we arrived early and were let into our room which was great
i would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOBBYTHEBADGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very good for a short stay. Staff are friendly and helpful, breakfasts are pleasent. This place is very dated though but the rooms are clean. I cannot really complain about this place as we paid £79.00 for a 2 night weekend break cracking value and very happy. Location is very good for the lakes & we would return again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pitchisshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
450 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
382 reviews
1 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
519 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunes Hotel
Dunes Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisdoonie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisdoonie Hotel

Address: 307 Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £50 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisdoonie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Lisdoonie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing