We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of Jeffersons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jeffersons Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I visit this eating establishment quite regular with my daughter, the staff are very good, the place itself is very clean, there are 3 eating areas & the food is very good, more than enough for the hungriest of people.As another reviewer said, you should skip breakfast if you know you are eating at Jeffersons. It is well situated on a bus route too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammysandown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

I'm sure this was The Harttington years ago? Had lunch with my mam in June & it was lovely... A lot of food for your money.....
Should of skipped breakfast....
Def want/will go again... :-) Visiting Barrow this weekend so perhaps a Sunday lunch call?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyLeith1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Jeffersons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Yes indeed you are correct the old Hartington has now been incorporated into Jeffersons enabling us to now offer 27 en-suite bedrooms as well as our ever popular bar menu. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We visited for a wedding in the area. The pub is in a very central location and easy to access. On arrival staff were very helpful showing us where to park for free close to the pub. The room was spotless as was the well fitted out bathroom. Drinks were provided in the room which were much appreciated. Internet access was useful, for checking the football scores, and was free. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with large sized full English breakfasts as well as juices, cereals etc available. We booked via their own website and got a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Jeffersons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Many thanks for your comments, I am please to hear you enjoyed our stay with us. As well as free on street parking we also have a number of parking permits for use by our guests (£40 fully refundable deposit). Since your stay our offer has been amended slightly but all guests booking rooms directly through our own website will receive a complimentary bottle of wine on departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful with any enquiry. The food is good and plentiful and the only minor complaint was the size of the portions ,large. I could not rate the hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnmacj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Converted 1960s pub in busy Barrow street. Pub area isn't really stylish but rooms are much better. Breakfast was ok but noise at night was oppressive. Did not sleep well. Not a nice part of Barrow and the good lady was not prepared to go out on her own. Probably would to again but the people were friendly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Having read your reviews of two nearby restaurants and a hotel barely 300 yards away from us it is clear you are not overly impressed with Barrow. To stay at the imperial hotel and be unhappy with the area would lead me to book further away from the town centre, not another hotel around the corner. With regards to your wife not feeling safe going out on her own, we have many female guests who stay with us on a regular basis and have never raised these concerns with us. As all of our advertising clearly states we are located right in the heart of the town centre, which many people view as an advantage due to our proximity to the railway station, BAE systems, the docks and the gas terminal, as well as many bars and restaurants, shops and supermarkts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel and staff were good.
The noise at night from neighbouring Hotel was excessive and you had to close all windows to sleep. Rooms were of good size and breakfast better than average. Bar menu for food very limited.
The town itself quite dead.

Room Tip: Don't have room on front or side street. Very noisy from pub next door. They go outside to smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris-jono, Owner at Jeffersons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thanks for your comments, @ Jeffersons we have done everything within our power to minimise noise disruption for our guests. We are located right in the heart of the town centre, all of our rooms have double glazing and are designed to ensure a good nights sleep for our guests. Our bar menu, which our business has been built around for many years is hugely popular and is served 11am - 8pm every day, however it is worth noting that it is a "bar menu" and consists of many meals which you would class as pub favourites. Traditional consistent and good value for money. If that is not to your taste there are many restaurants within a few minutes walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We knew this hotel before when it was owned previously and was just a pub. It has been done up to a very high clean standard, the staff are all friendly, courteous and nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in one of the apartments, fitted kitchen with integrated fridge, freezer, there was a cooker, hob, microwave, even a washer / dryer. Double bedroom, bathroom, living room. We were expecting some noise from the surrounding streets with it being the jubilee weekend, but we were pleasantly surprised to not being disturbed by any noise. The breakfast that was included caters for every taste and you certainly didn't leave hungry, the same can be said for the evening meals, extra large portions, all the food fresh and cooked to perfection. Smokers are catered for with a quiet area too. We would definately recommend this hotel/apartment to everyone. It's only 20 mins to the lake district, so nice easy commute. We are definately going to go back to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernlady_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris-jono, Owner at Jeffersons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and your comments are appreciated by all the staff here @ Jeffersons Hotel. We have been serving a full cooked to order breakfast now for six months and this is always included in all room rates, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
2.1 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#10 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeffersons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeffersons Hotel

Address: 60-64 Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £92 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jeffersons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jeffersons Hotel is located in the centre of Barrow In Furness. We are a five minute walk from the train station and a similar distance to BAE systems. We offer 20 en-suite bedrooms with flat screen TVs and 3 luxury apartments. Breakfast is served from 6.45am - 9.00am with bar meals served in our bar area from 11am - 8pm seven days a week. We aim to offer a good value for money experience for our guests and employ a long serving team of staff who consistently deliver the service our guests have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jeffersons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing