We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great plce to eat”
Review of Jeffersons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jeffersons Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

we go here on a tuesday when we go to town the food is so good and the portions are huge i would recomend the gammon its very good and you have to be hungry when you go cause the food is good and you want to eat the lot so you dont waste any

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robby666rch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

When working at a clients alone in town one day, I decided to go for lunch somewhere and sit down. With only £5 in my purse and no energy to go to a cash machine, I decided to go to Jeffersons.

My order was taken within minutes of sitting down; I orderd the soup of the day (chicken noodle) and a pint of orange cordial. It only took about 5 minutes for my food to arrive. The soup was lovely, with plenty of noodles and actual peices of chicken, but it also came with a basket full of fresh bread and butter. I was more than happy with my meal and service, and for less than £5, I cant complain.

I would definitely stop here for lunch again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Our first trip to Barrow, we had booked here having read Tripadvisor for an overnight stay due to going to The Forum. After throwing a six to get into Barrow, we eventually found Jeffersons we were greeted on arrival by Chris and after exchanging a deposit for a car park permit, parked the car and began to explore Barrow!
We returned a bit earlier than the 3 o'clock check in and had to wait a short time until someone could check us in which wasn't a great problem. After the formalities we were shown to a small but perfectly formed room, having noticed as we climbed the stairs how clean and fresh the hotel smelt. The room contained everything that was expected and after depositing our bag, we went downstairs to investigate the bar. The staff there were pleasant and we settled in a quiet corner and later ordered some food which was excellent and delivered with courtesy. We were not bothered with the usual 'is everything alright' question which is annoyingly to common these days as if we require anything we are old enough to attract attention if required. We returned later in the evening and enjoyed a drink before retiring to our room and once again the service was pleasant and courteous.
Our room was at the rear of the building and overlooked the multi storey car park, we had the window closed and therefore were not disturbed by any noise due to the very efficient triple glazing. We had a fairly comfortable nights sleep, spoilt only by inconsiderate guests debating the worlds problems outside our bedroom door at midnight, which stopped when we told them shhhhhhhhhh! The shower was as good as any we have experienced and alot better than some and we were soon making our way down to breakfast. We were greeted by Chris who took us to meet the Jeffersons breakfast selection which was extensive to say the least and could not be faulted. Having ordered tea, we sat and selected from the extensive hot food menu. Our breakfast was promptly served, on hot plates, which is good and the quality was second to none.
The overall experience was very positive, made more so by the manager Chris and his staff doing all they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The standard of customer service we enjoyed was more akin to a quality hotel rather than a public house in an industrial town.
If we make another visit to Barrow this is the place for us!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Jeffersons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It was a pleasure to meet you both, your comments really are appreciated by the team here at Jeffersons Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Due to work had to stay in the area , have now stayed in several places varying in price £50 , if you book through the hotels website you receive a bottle of wine on departure.
The hotel is situated on Duke street in the centre of the town there are a few spaces in front of the hotel . The hotel is directly opposite Yates and there pwas some noise from the street late in the evening. The hotel rooms and reception look new, the staff were extremely friendly in the reception and the pub. Rooms are above the refurbished bar and dining rooms.
The room I had was extremely clean large with new modern furniture tastefully decorated and clean The bathroom and shower were large with plenty of hot water . My room 24 had no windows acept those in the onsuit .The room was very warm a large fan wasI supplied.
No lift so those having difficulty climbing stairs would struggle.

The pub downstairs attached to the hotel has a simple menu nothing costs more than about £7. The food was poor even though it was cheap .. There are loads of places to eat in Barrow so venture out .

if you need somewhere to crash with its central location it's ideal . I would imagine at the weekend it would be noisy ...
Breakfast was in the pubs dining room. Basic but adequate for the price location not bad better than most and nice staff .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cotogni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Jeffersons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Having read your review it seems you were happy with the hotel with the exception of your meal, which I can only apologise for. I feel to score us on average 4/5 on all other sections and 2/5 overall is somewhat unfair based on your comments. We charge around the £65 mark for our rooms which includes breakfast, free wifi, and a bottle of wine on departure if you book through our own website. The room you stayed in is less than 6 months old and has a kingsize bed and 32" flatscreen TV. There is ample on street parking which is free from 4pm - 10am and we also have a number of parking permits for use by our guests (£40 refundable deposit). As I have stated in previous responses our bar menu is made up of classic "bar meals" and if there is nothing to your taste, then we can point you in the right direction to a selection of restaurants. I would be happy to hear your comments on noise at the weekend when you have actually stayed here as many guests who stay for weeks at a time and work early starts (6am) do not experience any problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I visit this eating establishment quite regular with my daughter, the staff are very good, the place itself is very clean, there are 3 eating areas & the food is very good, more than enough for the hungriest of people.As another reviewer said, you should skip breakfast if you know you are eating at Jeffersons. It is well situated on a bus route too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammysandown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I'm sure this was The Harttington years ago? Had lunch with my mam in June & it was lovely... A lot of food for your money.....
Should of skipped breakfast....
Def want/will go again... :-) Visiting Barrow this weekend so perhaps a Sunday lunch call?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyLeith1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Jeffersons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Yes indeed you are correct the old Hartington has now been incorporated into Jeffersons enabling us to now offer 27 en-suite bedrooms as well as our ever popular bar menu. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We visited for a wedding in the area. The pub is in a very central location and easy to access. On arrival staff were very helpful showing us where to park for free close to the pub. The room was spotless as was the well fitted out bathroom. Drinks were provided in the room which were much appreciated. Internet access was useful, for checking the football scores, and was free. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with large sized full English breakfasts as well as juices, cereals etc available. We booked via their own website and got a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Jeffersons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Many thanks for your comments, I am please to hear you enjoyed our stay with us. As well as free on street parking we also have a number of parking permits for use by our guests (£40 fully refundable deposit). Since your stay our offer has been amended slightly but all guests booking rooms directly through our own website will receive a complimentary bottle of wine on departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#10 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
63 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
377 reviews
2.1 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeffersons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeffersons Hotel

Address: 60-64 Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £73 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jeffersons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jeffersons Hotel is located in the centre of Barrow In Furness. We are a five minute walk from the train station and a similar distance to BAE systems. We offer 20 en-suite bedrooms with flat screen TVs and 3 luxury apartments. Breakfast is served from 6.45am - 9.00am with bar meals served in our bar area from 11am - 8pm seven days a week. We aim to offer a good value for money experience for our guests and employ a long serving team of staff who consistently deliver the service our guests have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Jeffersons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing