We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in town for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jeffersons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jeffersons Hotel
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
936 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Best in town for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stated here with work, recently refurbished to a very high standard, it has comfy rooms and well appointed bathrooms. The breakfast is varied and wholesome and there are things out, such as fruit and cookies, to take off to your days work. Did not eat here but am told in the evening it is good pub food as well.

Don't know about parking, so you should ask.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    22
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
21
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

If you find yourself stranded in Barrow, try this place.
Looks rather ordinary from the outside (downstairs is a pub) and a stone's throw from the town hall - the bell rings every 15 minutes, but the noise isn't too bad.
Central location - restaurants, takeaways (esp ' CANOODLES'), library, train station within walking distance. Newly refurbished, so carpets look new, smell of paint still. Rooms, bathrooms are neat and clean and warm when it was snowing outside. Breakfast is in the pub downstairs, good portions.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOASIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at Jeffersons on a number of occasions whilst working in the area.
Staff are friendly and attentive, rooms spotlessly clean and modern and the best value food in the town.
I start work well before breakfast so they pack up a lunch which I order the night before at no extra cost. Had breakfast on the one occasion and found the service and food fantastic with a choice that would put most hotels in the shade.
Theres a good choice of evening meals and all great value with large portions of home made food. Would recommend the home made steak and kidney pie which comes with fries, veg and a sauce boat of gravy, no good if you are watching the calories.
I have stayed in a number of the rooms and suites but all are clean with modern decoration, large TV and a good selection of hot drinks and biscuits. The toiletries provided are excellent and the showers/bathrooms modern with plenty of towels.
Would recommend to all and will be staying whenever in the area (if not full).
Well done to all the staff especially Stu, Jackie and the bar staff for making my visits comfortable and a home from home.

Room Tip: Suites large and spacious with separate living room and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Just spent two nights at the Jeffersons Hotel In Barrow in Furness, the check in was 1st class smooth and slick, hallways and stais to room were kept very clean and tastfully decorated, Room had everything that you would need large TV with Freeview, Free Wi Fi throughout the hotel and bar area, bathroom very clean and very modern shower cubicle was nice and roomy (you dont feel like a sardine in it) complimentary soap and shower gel supplied in bathroom nice clean white towels, evening meal was 1st class, had one of the pies made that day in house, service was smooth and slick here as well and staff very friendly and cheerfull. Would stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Bob208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Quality beer, atmosphere, food with amazing portion size couldn't have a meal and leave without being completely full
Rooms are always clean and staff very respectful and very good value for money especially the apartments
Their carling premier is probably the best pint of lager in the country but a little expensive
I will always stay their when I I visit barrow in Furness

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dynamodez53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

we go here on a tuesday when we go to town the food is so good and the portions are huge i would recomend the gammon its very good and you have to be hungry when you go cause the food is good and you want to eat the lot so you dont waste any

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robby666rch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

When working at a clients alone in town one day, I decided to go for lunch somewhere and sit down. With only £5 in my purse and no energy to go to a cash machine, I decided to go to Jeffersons.

My order was taken within minutes of sitting down; I orderd the soup of the day (chicken noodle) and a pint of orange cordial. It only took about 5 minutes for my food to arrive. The soup was lovely, with plenty of noodles and actual peices of chicken, but it also came with a basket full of fresh bread and butter. I was more than happy with my meal and service, and for less than £5, I cant complain.

I would definitely stop here for lunch again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ormsgill Inn
Ormsgill Inn
#7 of 19 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Derby Hotel
The Derby Hotel
#6 of 19 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeffersons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeffersons Hotel

Property: Jeffersons Hotel
Address: 60-64 Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jeffersons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jeffersons Hotel is located in the centre of Barrow In Furness. We are a five minute walk from the train station and a similar distance to BAE systems. We offer 20 en-suite bedrooms with flat screen TVs and 3 luxury apartments. Breakfast is served from 6.45am - 9.00am with bar meals served in our bar area from 11am - 8pm seven days a week. We aim to offer a good value for money experience for our guests and employ a long serving team of staff who consistently deliver the service our guests have come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Jeffersons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing