We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in Furness”

Millwood Lodge & Holiday Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Millwood Lodge & Holiday Cottage
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Furness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great location, tastefully renovated. Yellow room was a large comfortable bedroom with lovely decor. Very relaxed atmosphere with great breakfast. So good went for 2 nights stayed for 4.
Nice easy short walk to the local pub and historic abbey.

Room Tip: Yellow room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in the yellow room, lovely setting off the road. Very helpful and friendly hosts. Best Full English (Cumbrian) breakfast I can remember served at a time to suit you! Will not disappoint.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank alanhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the yellow room which was beautifully renovated, large with a stunning king size very comfortable bed. The room was better than most four star hotels and the welcome from the owners made for a lovely stay. Breakfast was superb, with fresh eggs from the owners chickens. The location down a quiet lane close to the lovely village of Dalton but four miles from Barrow was very convenient. Take advantage of the footpath further down the lane from Millwood to work off the breakfast. You will. struggle to find a better B and B. Parking was safe and secure.

Room Tip: Ask for the yellow room. If you like dogs ask to meet Dave the owners dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Great value, lovely room, warm, comfy and very friendly couple. Would highly recommend. Little hard to find but apart from that it was perfect. After feeling unwell, i didnt feel able to drive come check out time and was told we could stay as long as we needed which was very kind

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Arrived for a 2 night stay in late June during torrential rain. We had booked 2 rooms the Yellow and the White for the family, both rooms are on the same side of the accommodation. After a journey through shockingly heavy rain causing much local flooding we found the Millwood Lodge building. There is a large old mansion house on the left, and B&B sign hangs out of the central part on the Millwood Lane, and the parking is at the rear on the right hand side. The mansion house is private and there is more private property at the rear. I only mention this as you do need to look for the B&B sign at the front and use the little footpath that leads to the front entrance in the front conservatory. It would appear that we are not the only ones to bother the other private residents looking for a way in! Also remember to take your room key when you go out!
Anyway the hosts were excellent and made us very welcome despite us looking like a couple of drowned rats! Once the family all arrived we used the residents lounge to chill out and eat our bought sandwiches as it was far too stormy to consider going out.
The rooms were great and our White room bathroom had the large bath too. The bed was comfy and there was fresh milk for our tea and coffee. It really did feel like home from home.
Breakfast was taken at a liesurely pace but was wholesome and tasty. The eggs come straight from the free range chickens!
The swim event we had booked was cancelled because of the storms, so we had a day at the local zoo.
I can't recommend this place highly enough. Book with confidence just leave room for my bookings too. Please take care when finding the way to the correct entrance!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

I stayed here 4 nights while on a research trip in Barrow. My room ('Yellow') was warm, comfortable and peaceful. The food was superb, and I was delighted to be able to choose a two course evening meal from an excellent menu, as this had just been introduced. I would encourage you to book into this b&b which is head and shoulders above others I have stayed in around the Barrow area, you will have no cause for complaint!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank houganai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

Myself and partner booked into a superior room at Milwood Lodge. We were delighted with the quality and furnishings in particular the size of the room and the beautiful antique canopy bed. The breakfast experience was great as was the attention of our hosts. Our only regret was that we were only staying for one night, however as we anticipate visiting the Barrow area several tmes in the future we will certainly return to Millwood Lodge

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank courtyard212b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
2.4 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millwood Lodge & Holiday Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millwood Lodge & Holiday Cottage

Property: Millwood Lodge & Holiday Cottage
Address: Millwood Lodge Millwood Lane, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millwood Lodge & Holiday Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bed and breakfast with a country cottage atmosphere. Located down a lane away from the town with en-suit rooms from £65pn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Millwood Lodge & Holiday Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing