We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to stay”
Review of East Mount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Mount House
dudley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed for one night only on our way to a wedding. Friendly welcoming place to stay. Lovely clean room with good facilities and a comfy bed!
Breakfast was a full English breakfast which was delicious.
Very homely and relaxing. Would definitely stay there again.
Everything was perfect and there is nothing negative at all to say.

Room Tip: We had no children with us and can't comment on children's activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zarak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
6
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at East Mount for one night as we were cycling the Walney to Wear cycle route. There is a pub for good food nearby and it's not far to walk into town either. The room was lovely and clean and the owners were very friendly. The only down side was the busy road.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikeryorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed only for one night, but that was the best experience.The owners so friendly and helpful .felt like at home!Food was great and everything was perfect.I cant say any bad words about this B&B cuz its everything was perfect.!!

Room Tip: Nr 8 two single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KristinaSka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We only stayed two nights but the stay was great, the bed was so comfy we just fell asleep as soon as we got in. The breakfast was a lovely cooked full English fresh and tasty with plenty of cereals and fruit to choose from. The hotel is not far from the centre with a big car park for residents. And a pub within walking distance for meals and a drink. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area

Room Tip: Room 2 had a big bay window and a massive very comfy bed, with big walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed at East Mount House for one night. When I arrived, they were expecting me, so no long check ins and I was shown up to my room straight away. Nice, comfortable and clean room with en suite and TV in room. It was quiet in the night despite my room facing the main road. Plenty of parking outside in their own private parking area. Breakfast was really nice. The owner was very welcoming and friendly. I couldn't fault East Mount House. It takes around 5-10 mins drive (depending on traffic lights!) to get into Barrow town centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I stayed here on the 2nd - 5th April 2013 staying for 3 nights in a single room.

This bed and breakfast is in a good location with buses to the station, town centre and going the other way to Ulverston and Kendal.

The accomodation provided was of an excellent quality. My room was en-suite with complimentary breakfast and the facility of a microwave to cook meals which I used to lessen the costs of going out for a meal.

The staff at this bed and breakfast are friendly and welcoming and I would strongly recommend this bed and breakfast. The price of the accomodation was of good value as well.

In addition I would like to add and say Barrow in Furness is not as bad as some would believe the town is a great place to explore Walney Island and the Furness Peninsula.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePtarmiganScotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

It is difficult to fault this Barrow Guest House. It is not a 5 or 4 star Hotel, but neither does it present itself as such.

It does present itself as clearly in the top 10% of the 3 star ETB Guest House hospitality area it operates in.

Spotlessly clean. Nicely decorated rooms with a touch of style. Comfortable bed. Good strong walk in electric shower that does the job well. Big towels. Nice touches in the room. Freeview TV that works. Comfortable and welcoming.

Wi-Fi for free that works. Good fresh breakfast with quality ingredients. Great Coffee. Big Screen TV "lounge" off the dining room. Private Car Park.

Friendly and informal owners who work hard to ensure your stay is A1. Obviously much appreciated by regulars. I would rate this 4 star ETB easily, they are currently 3 star , but they probably do not tick some of the 4 star ETB boxes such as "matching wooden coat hangers". They tick all the ones I would value.

Could I improve? Not a lot. It is a good walk to the town centre, I would advise walking to the town and a £4 taxi back, perhaps a deal could be done by the owners with a local taxi co or even just guests supplied with a taxi card to call. En suite - little sachets provided rather than little soaps, I think a mix of both is better, or handwash bottles and soaps. External signage is poor, dull and suggests a lower grade than they supply, just advice to the owners, but advice to customers not to be put off.

Top notch, value, reliable Guest house, bearing 3 stars, but worthy of 4.

If you found this review helpful, please look for and click the relevant button.

Barrow ....enjoy...I did.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SirBrianMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lisdoonie Hotel
Lisdoonie Hotel
#8 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
81 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Mount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Mount House

Property: East Mount House
Address: 55 East Mount, Barrow-in-Furness LA13 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — East Mount House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your East Mount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing