We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chetwynde Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ambrose Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Furness Railway Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Barrow in Furness(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lisdoonie Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Majestic(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
102
47
14
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
47
14
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomgolden weddingcomfortable sofasfamily roomdvd playerbirthday mealsmall hotelcomplimentary wateron arrivalwedding partywould highly recommend this hotellarge showerfurness abbeyfriendly hotelnew extensionexcellent facilitieswalk in shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife, daughter & I stayed for 2 nights in early August. It was a late booking - within days of arrival - and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable - including the pull out sofa bed - and a good size for the three of us. The breakfast menu was varied and the meals each day were plentiful and very tasty. The restaurant supervisor, Alison, is a delightful & jovial character and could not have been more friendly or helpful; and the booking was efficiently coordinated through Joanne.
A very pleasant stay in a top notch hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night, the staff were brilliant from the moment we arrived. The restaurant food was incredible and the room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was really enjoyable with lots of choice, thank you for a brilliant stay

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Curtis5145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had my Mother & Father in Law's Golden wedding meal here. The food we all had was fantastic. It was all home made including the chips, the service was excellent too. Nothing was too much trouble for te staff, the place was spotless. We had drinks in a lounge before our meal which got the evening off to a very good start, when our food was ready we was taken into the restaurant & wow what taste sensation we had. Good food, wine & service what more could you want, it's well worth a try.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here a few times on business, chose it through a colleague recommendation and it being rated no. 1. I can see why, the staff are lovely, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I've stayed in a selection of different rooms in the main building and new annexe and they're all very clean and comfortable. Excellent value for money. The only reason for giving a 4 overall and not 5 is that, as a woman staying on my own, I would have liked them to have a policy of allocating a first floor room not ground floor (for having a window open at night in summer).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunnerallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jubiebarlow, Manager at The Chetwynde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for the lovely review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! For new guests we have begun to introduce a preference question regarding ground / first floor rooms. We do also invite guests via our confirmation to specify any special requests in advance. Also, if guests can make this request on check in if not in advance (not always possible if the guest has been booked through any agency) we can always try our best to accommodate their request. we cannot hwoever assume all lone female travellers prefer a first floor room as some actually do prefer ground floor rooms. Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Chetwynde for 2 nights whilst attending for a family christening. Our room was in the original part of the hotel and was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. We had a large bathroom with overhead shower.

There is a lovely lounge area with large sofas where you can relax and enjoy a drink from the well stocked bar.

Breakfast - help yourself to cereal, fruit juice and pastries. There is then a choice of a full English Breakfast, kippers or smoked haddock. This was cooked fresh and was nice and hot.

The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

This hotel is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAJARA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews