We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and atmosphere but cold and uncomfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chetwynde Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was really excited about staying there after reading positive reviews. The car parking was secure and ample, the receptionist was (very) pretty and chatty and the whole atmosphere was really nice.
The room was well equipped and clean with really generous drink facilities along with nice shortbread and kendal mint cake. There were far to many signs on the walls of the room to make it feel homely, and mysteriously, a list of film classifications although no sign of how to get the films??
Had dinner in the lounge which was on the pricey side but was excellent and was served by a lovely lady who couldn't do enough. The bar was reasonably well stocked although I was irritated by the fact that it was dearer to buy wine by the bottle than by the glass.
Sadly, when I retired to my room, I did find the bed to be hopelessly uncomfortable and slept badly due to being so cold. Having given up trying to sleep at 4.30am, I decided to have a soak in the bath in an attempt to relax and warm up. As the two ceiling lights were really bright and not dimmable, I decided to put the lights above the washbasin on - except the switch wash broken.
Never mind - I thought, I Would just light the four candles in the holders around the bathroom - except every candle was burnt out in it's holder.

To be honest, by now, I couldn't wait to get out of this hotel as was just so cold and uncomfortable. Was served breakfast by a bloke who was dressed like a scaffolder which included uncooked poached eggs and anemic toast and coffee from the smallest cups in the world. When I checked out, the scaffolder who had served me my breakfast appeared at reception, dressed as a hotel employee and checked me out in the same disinterested way he had served me breakfast.

To be honest I was really disappointed as this place was the same price as a premier inn but really not a patch on the worst premier inn I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jubiebarlow, Manager at The Chetwynde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We always welcome feedback from guests. Ideally we hope a guest will provide us with this feedback on departure to allow us to explain, apologise or compensate the guest for any areas where we have not lived up to their expectations. We unfortunately did not receive this feedback from this guest on departure. Firstly, this guest was provided a free upgrade on check in. All of our rooms are heated until midnight - if we heat the rooms any later than midnight, guests find the rooms unbearably warm. First Floor Superior Rooms are always very warm and the duvet on the bed in this particular room is a winter duvet. There is also a spare additional duvet and woollen blanket in the guest's wardrobe. A terry robe is also complimentary in this room type. Additional heaters are also available on request. Our Night Porter was available all through the night if the guest needed assistance with locating the blanket and duvet in his wardrobe or requesting a heater. The mattress on this bed is brand new - it is very difficult to find a mattress to make all guests happy as some prefer firm and some prefer soft mattresses. However, we have not yet received another complaint form guests about this mattress - but will actively solicit further feedback. We apologise that the guest was misled by the empty tea light in his room - for fire safety purposes we do not encourage candles in the room. We will now take the tea light holders from the room in case they mislead any other guests. We do apologise that the bathroom mirror light was not working - it had been checked prior to check in. Again - if the guest had reported this to our staff, it would have been replaced ASAP. Regarding signage - we display a sign about the fire evacuation plan and a floor plan, as well as a non smoking sign and a fire alarm test sign. We do also have a small 'please mind the step sign' at the entrance to the bathroom. All of these are related to fire safety and are mandatory unfortunately. Regarding a 'scaffolder' serving breakfast - the guest must be referring to one of our Restaurant Supervisors, who perhaps prioritised serving the guest a very early breakfast rather than changing into his uniform first - he must have felt the guest's need for quick service was paramount. I cannot imagine however, he turned up to work dressed as a scaffolder! I can also assure any future guests - our coffee cups are not quite the 'smallest in the world'. Although not of Starbucks magnitude they are a standard sized hotel issue coffee cup. We could have provided the guest a range of size options in coffee cup had he requested it - we do have some coffee cups of the 'soup bowl sized' variety. Also, unlimited, fresh, cafetiere coffee is free to all of our guests staying in Superior Rooms, even if upgraded, like this guest. It has, however, made the receptionist's day being called (very) pretty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Really welcoming & friendly team despite our arrival during the busy Christmas lunchtime. Annex rooms were superb - contemporary decor, comfortable beds and lots of lovely touches. The Christmas lunch was superb and started with a relaxed complimentary prossecco in the lounge area. Service was great, staff were attentive and unflustered. The food was delicious - probably the best Christmas lunch we've ever had and extremely good value. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went to visit relatives in Barrow and stayed in the Chetwynde hotel in December 2013. The welcome in reception was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is well maintained and decorated with quality fixtures and fittings The bedroom in the annexe had plenty of space and had a qood quality King-sized bed and associated furnishings..The food at breakfast was excellent -really wholesome quality ,locally -sourced produce The waitresses were very helpful and friendly and service was efficient. All in all it was a very enjoyable short stay and also good value for money. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My Husband and I had our wedding evening reception at the Chetwynde Hotel last weekend and we were blown away by the service we received. The staff were wonderful, Pauline helped us arrange everything and Alison looked after us on the night. Alison went above and beyond to make sure we had an amazing night and we certainly did. The Christmas decor was lovely, the pie and peas great value and the bar staff friendly. We stayed in the newly refurbished suite and it exceeded our exceptions - very nice room. My in-laws stayed in a room in the annex and I had a little peek in and that was a very lovely room also, I know they were very pleased with it. Breakfast in the morning was very tasty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccyGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

At half term I travelled to Barrow by train to visit my sister and family. I love the journey as it crosses the sea with Arnside to one side and Grange over Sands in the distance.Morcambe Bay shimmering with its its untouchable sands but home to so many varieties of bird, a good place to see migrating species at different times of the year. The RSPB is tucked into the crease of the coastline and well worth a visit. Barrow in Furness is a town of many parts, once well known for shipbuilding,now submarines developed by B.A.C..There is a sense of new opportunity as investment is encouraged to redevelop the many spaces left by a bygone age. Good places to stay are limited so booking ahead is advisable as it's either visiting business people or weddings that are popular in the few bigger hotels.
Having always stayed at The Abbey and been quite comfortable, I decided to have a change and booked into The Chetwyns Hotel. What a welcoming family run hotel! My room in the main house was spacious and well furnished. A French poster bed with definitely enough room to hold court and a combination mattress,interior sprung and memory foam to afford the sleep of Kings. The bathroom was bright and clean and full size, plenty of room to spend time.
The staff were friendly and helpful,the owners have really developed a team spirit and bring a warmth into the professional manner of all who work at Chetwynns, made me feel quite at home!
I booked dinner on my first night with my sister ,we both enjoyed tasty and well cooked dishes from a good variety offered on the menu.Breakfast was equally good, a peaceful dining room and not long to wait for a choice of hot individually prepared selections. A buffet bar also offered usual cereals and some fruit,juices etc,. I had hired a car locally and parking was no problem in the large secure grounds behind the annexe of modern rooms attached to the main house. As a woman on her own I felt well looked after,secure and comfortable at all times, slept soundly and had a very good three nights in this delightful, well run hotel. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Main house traditional bedroom, large rooms,high ceilings, opening windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I was put in room in the annex. The room was nice quiet and very comfortable. I was very impressed that they had put choclate kennel mint cake in my room nice touch I love kennel mint cake. The room was clean and the staff friendly. My only complaint is the walk into Barrow town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jubiebarlow, Manager at The Chetwynde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for the review. Just to clarify to any potential guests regarding our proximity to Barrow Town Centre - we are in the leafy suburbs of Barrow and our proximity is shown on our website. As explained on our website - we are situated on the 'outskirts' of Barrow, and we use a Google Earth map to show our proximity. We also explain the bus routes that take guests from outside the hotel direct into the town (which take 6 minutes). To walk on foot should take 20 - 25 minutes. We will now make this more specific on our website. So glad the guest enjoyed his Kendal Mint Cake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Been to this hotel for a few months. Nice bar. They can hold their own for functions. Free parking. Staff are friendly. Comforting place. Rooms are good for money. Superior rooms in the new building are best in barrow and for a few quid more well worth the upgrade. Book a week or two in advance if you're staying for a few nights as they can get full. Ie you can't stay whole week if they've got Wednesday full booked. Enjoy and say hi to Alison at bar/restaurant.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
1.2 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
526 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
472 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Clarke's Hotel
The Clarke's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rampside
155 reviews
21 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetwynde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetwynde Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA13 9JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £63 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an elegant,traditional, independent family run hotel. Built in 1897 we have retained the Victorian character of the hotel, and the hotel is peppered with interesting antiques and curios alongside modern facilities such as free wifi broadband access and i-pod docking stations and DVD players in our Superior Rooms. We are a welcoming hotel with super friendly staff; ideal for families wanting a stay away from the town centre. We are set in private gardens and we beleive in valuing traditional service and the elegance of a bygone era, while offering the best in modern features. We represent an independent alternative to the cloned looks of a chain hotel by offering something unique and personal. Our restaurant is open Monday to Saturday and offers meals from £8.95 - including dishes such as local herdwick lamb and fell bred steak. Parking is on site, private and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Chetwynde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing