We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great weekend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
inspector...
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Needs some money spending on it!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
4
people found this review helpful

The house is presented in a way in the pictures which doesn't actually reflect what you see when you get there. The property is very old and like a previous reviewer said, it needs some money spending on it. The wrap around conservatory is no more than an old lean-to which had a rotting back door which you struggle to open or close. The hot tub was however a nice touch and got plenty of use in the cold month of January! The bedrooms were very disappointing and a few of the radiators did not work in the bedrroms and bathrooms which posed a problem and we had to call the hotel to get heaters brought down. The oven was tempremental. Our guests couldnt get the tv's to all work in the bedrooms so it took the shine off the weekend somewhat. Had it not been for our friends being such great company this could have proved a very dissapointing weekend. On a positive the walk to the pub was good and the food and prices were good when we got there. The lifeboat station kindly did us a guided tour which was brillaint so thank you to John for this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: size of the property
Liked least: maintenance of the property/upkeep
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh
Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elizabeth...
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed with Family in October, what a wonderful, house, full of character and history. It's sadly lacking in TLC though. The conservatory which wraps it's self around the house could be magnificent, if the owners removed all the tables and chairs (from days when B&B), it needs heating and lots of lovely comfy sofas. The televisions in all the rooms have been added as an extra, but no thought has gone into them, they are ALL far too small, it would have been better to leave them out and have a 50" in the sitting room. We stayed in bedroom 2, it's small which wasn't a problem, but having no drawers to speak of meant we had to live out of a suitcase for a week. The photograph on the web site is misleading, this is the back of the property and the wing to the right, has now been fenced off. The front of the house needs to be more appealing, if it wasn't for the cars on the drive, I wouldn't have known this was Roa island House. The name is misleading, this little island is so built up, you are led to believe that you are on your own. Had a private viewing of the launch of the lifeboat, so big thank you to Shaun and all the guys who work tremendously hard. Bosuns locker, is attached to the house and is a little cafe, we had breakfast there on our last day, thank you for making us feel welcome and telling up the histroy of your cafe - was the lifeboat station in a former life. Would we stay there again, not sure to be honest. I think Eden House Hotel are missing a trick here, they need to get the architects in, spend a little money, this house has the makings of something magnificent. I would suggest to friends, but with the proviso that it's lacking a little love.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Getting together with family and friends
Liked least: The heaviness of the fire doors, my sister strained her shoulder having to open hers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fab house, great location”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with 14 family members inc older people and young children. I did worry we might have been in each others space but that was certainly not the case....if anything it was hard to keep up with where everyone was!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: fab location
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Reviewed 16 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing