We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambrose Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Furness Railway Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Imperial(Barrow-in-Furness)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Majestic(Barrow-in-Furness)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barrow in Furness(Barrow-in-Furness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lisdoonie Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chetwynde Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey House Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
22
24
8
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
24
8
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftstayed heretop floorlarge bathroombiscuitswould stay againfull englishcomfy bedfamily roompub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

What can I say other than I was amazed !
The hotel is 5 minutes walk from town centre 10-15 mins from cinema shopping area tesco etc.We arrived to be told wed been moved rooms ...and WOW we had 5 beds( double 3 singles ) with three seater sofa , tea and coffee(biscuits)making facilities, large flat screen tv and seperate brand new double shower and bathroom !!
I really couldn't believe it stunning for a B&B. free parking outside and full breakfast what more can you ask for!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BROWNPRINCESS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed for one night and the staff were friendly and very accommodating allowing our dogs not only to stay but to look after them too like they were special guests too!

£50 for one night 2 dogs and a well good full English - brilliant value!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed April last year.
Room was extremely basic with lots of holes in the walls where things had previously been. The window would not close and you had to put a towel behind the bathroom door to keep that closed!
So, I am glad to hear that the place has had a makeover. It needed it.
On the plus side the staff were wonderful and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyBooLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just got back from our 2nd stay at the Ambrose. What a superb place this has been transformed into. It is now under new management and we were so impressed that we have pre booked again for May. The place is warm and friendly and everything has been updated. The staff are friendly and the food was lovely. Our friends live in Barrow, so they popped in to have a drink with us and they too could not believe how well presented the New Ambrose is. We stayed all through the weekend and they had a great singer on, we had planned to go out to dinner on the Saturday evening but we got so carried away drinking cocktails that we never actually got out. My hubby was well impressed with the choice of real ales on offer that he said we will be coming through a lot more often to visit our friends. We went to the wild animal park on the Sunday which was superb and definately worth a visit. Overall a massive 10/10 this time. congratulations to the new Management team. This place is a credit to Barrow in Furness . We will see you again soon........

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennybarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews