We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Barrow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best hotel in Barrow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2013 in a twin room. The entire hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Our room was very large with 2 very comfortable single beds. We had all the stuff you would expect, tea/coffee making facilities, LCD TV and Sky box with decent bathroom facilities including a good quality shower. The staff were all very welcoming and always went out of their way to make sure you had everything you needed, providing a personal touch missing from a lot of hotels these days. I've stayed in most of the hotels in Barrow, this is by far the best - we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave7778818405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    22
    13
    25
See reviews for
19
23
7
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Was concerned by reviews on arrival to windfarm but after checking in all my worries were unfounded. Recently refurbished to excellent standard and very friendly staff. Was made to feel welcome from the start.
Rooms are clean and well presented and linen changed daily.
Was staying there as working on the windfarm and after informing staff of this they arranged for an early breakfast pack on reception ready for my departure... (05:45). Hotel is arranging for meal deal/ packed lunch to be provided as part of the room specifically for contractors which looking forward to on my return.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HVPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Barrow in Furness quite industrial town, however just 30 mins drive from the lakes - much cheaper accommodation than Lake district itself. Rooms match the photos - very spacious, clean, comfortable and decorated to high standard - however the hotel is basically a bar with a few rooms above it. Bar was unfortunately quite noisy all 3 nights we were there - so would definitely recommend taking ear plugs if any decent sleep is to be had. Staff friendly enough. (Note for ladies, no hair dryers in rooms so take your own if you require one). Few points from our own experience/stay there but likely to be one-offs: Wifi intermittently available, AMEX card payment didn't work despite it being advertised as accepted, food sourced from cafe across road as Hotel kitchen out of service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHtraveller1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Spend 1-2 nights a month in the Barrow in Furness area with work, and having paid over £100 a night for hotels in the immediate area previously I was very pleasantly surprised when staying at the Royal Hotel for the first time this week. I had a two night stay for around the same cost as a one night stay in comparable hotels have stayed in before in the area.

A historic building with lots of old features, but clearly recently refurbished to a good level, I was very relaxed during my stay at this hotel, and in the evenings felt more like I was on vacation that in town for business. The bar and lounge areas are very spacious, and the ambiance there was great, and something I would expect in a significantly higher priced hotel for the area. Rooms were modern, clean and very quiet at night, and friendly staff made me feel very much at home there. Breakfast choice was continental or cooked, I had both over a two night stay and both were very good.

Typically look forward to staying in different hotels on my work travels, but would look to book here again as best I have found in Barrow so far..!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0tt1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

First time visitor to The Royal Hotel and was very impressed the room was stunning and great value with a great breakfast, the hotel I was told has just been refurbished and the Bar looks amazing, there was entertainment on the Saturday night the atmosphere was very friendly and welcoming, Staff and locals very friendly had a great time will be using The Royal Hotel as my first port of call when I need to stay in Barrow again I highly recommend anyone to stay here lovely place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Have not stopped at the royal before although I am quite a regular to Barrow in Furness with working on the wind farms there. The royal is situated in close proximity to where I work (literally 2 min walk down a hill) and its probably a 5 min walk to all amenities in the town centre so its nice and quiet unlike most places that have the busy roads and pubs and clubs next to them. all in all my stay was pretty good I stayed 4 nights threw the week and even joined a few locals and entered into there Tuesday night quiz (we did not win lol but was a good laugh) The breakfast was good I had a full fry up as usual and was more than happy with the food and the service

So to sum up my stay at the royal, it was a pleasure, great staff, great food, a great nights sleep in a newly refurbished room and great entertainment all in all it is a hotel I will be returning to on a regular basis so thank you to the staff at the royal and I will see you again soon

all the best Kevin p.s.have me a guiness poured for 5.30 on my next arrival :)

Room Tip: ask for room 105 I stayed in this its got to be the biggest room I've stopped in at a hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
1.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
20.2 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 12-14 Anchor Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 2QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel has recently undergone a huge refurbishment and has just reopened in April 2013 - and feedback has been incredible! See the photos showing the gorgeous bar area, and the beautifully refurbished bedrooms and new bathrooms in place. We have a excellent chef on site creating some fantastic evening meals and a Sunday lunch service. We offer free wifi and for long term stays a free laundry service too. We have a function room available to hire for your events and can cater for buffets and other food requirements for your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing