We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay in room 1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Don't stay in room 1”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was used as a stop over on the way to Scotland . The hotel was in a poor area with no bars , restaurants around .
We were put in room 1 . This is adjacent to reception and we didn't sleep well. The noise we suffered was not exceptional but was the usual coming and going of customers and staff but the reception door was attached to our bedroom wall and therefore disturbed us each time the door was used

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank terry5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    92
    46
    7
    10
See reviews for
121
74
17
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is one of the best travelodges we have stayed in. The rooms were clean and everything worked. Not far away from the local pubs to get food and a good choice of eating places at the retail park. Would recommend this travelodgel


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great customer service - good location - good prices - dog friendly only problem was poor ventilation and a sewage smell in the room , was offered the chance to look for an alternate room but as we had unpacked and were going out to eat it really wasn't that much of an issue.
The signage needs to be better as drove past the Travelodge and nearly did on the way back.
If you go with a dog there is a little park a couple of minutes away with a lake and lots of ducks !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to allow me and my wife to use Barrow as a base to explore the Lakes.

I'd definitely recommend a room on the first floor at the rear of the hotel, as we had no noise apart from a few swans from the landscaped pond the room looked out on, (room 112 if you're interested).

The refurb has freshened up the hotel nicely, and even though it was pretty full on our first night, there wasn't much in the way of noise from the corridor outside.

There's a Dominoes pizza outlet on the other side of the hotel front door, so if you do get peckish, food isn't far away, but if you don't mind a short drive then the Burger Parlour in the town centre is worth a look too.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NDAinsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Having had a bad experience the last time we stayed in a Travelodge, we were a bit apprehensive on booking this one for two nights. Lack of available accommodation in this area forced our hand. We had no need to worry this refurbished Travelodge was a big improvement on our last stay at one. The room was clean and fresh and the bathroom was excellent. The staff were very helpful making sure you had everything that you required.
You have restored my confidence,

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel there is a pond where seagulls, ducks and geese gather. They can be quite n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finmack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Due to the heat wave, staff were forward thinking and opened windows, but shut curtains to make rooms comfortable. I asked for more tea and milk provisions and got plenty. Good position near town centre but not too close, some noise from nearby A590.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakesman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

First impressions were good. A nice big room that was clean and tidy. It looked great. Unfortunately when we opened the bathroom door there was a smell of drains. Not nice in the very hot weather we were experiencing and later we realised that the extractor system from the bathroom was not working. It let down an otherwise nice accommodation.
We also found the TV system poor. There were very few channels available and no list of the channel numbers to use.
The building as a whole was nice, but if you stay here in hot weather make sure you get a ground floor room. The corridors, and reception area, downstairs were cool so the rooms may have been better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.7 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Barrow in Furness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Barrow in Furness

Property: Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Address: Cocken Villa Walney Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Barrow in Furness 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Barrow in Furness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Barrow In Furness Hotel Barrow-In-Furness
Travel Lodge Barrow-In-Furness
Barrow-In-Furness Travelodge
Barrow-In-Furness Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing