We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My Mother and I stayed one night, each in a double-room of our own. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful. We both had, and were very impressed with the breakfast boxes. Other than Dominoe pizza, there was no where to eat nearby. The walk into town took about 25-mins and we only spotted a couple of restaurants where we could eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake - they are quieter and the view is much nicer than the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

For a recently refurbished establishment we were disappointed with our stay. On arrival it looked clean, pleasing and hotel staff were very friendly. However, the temperature through the night was uncomfortable and we had to get a fan from the staff at 2.30am. We feel this should be provided as standard and shouldn't have to get dressed in the middle of the night to get one. Both beds were extremely uncomfortable for sleeping, my daughter being able to feel every spring in the mattress. There is nowhere in the premises to get a cooked breakfast with only breakfast boxes being offered and limited snacks. Overall very disappointed and this experience has put us off using Travelodge again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here after we visited the zoo. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Having Asda literally a 2 min walk was very handy for breakfast in the morning. The hotel is a 10 min drive/ taxi ride into Barrow cost about £3 although town was very quiet on the night. We went in for food as very little close by. I recommend this hotel for value for money, easiness to get to and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Sharon150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was used as a stop over on the way to Scotland . The hotel was in a poor area with no bars , restaurants around .
We were put in room 1 . This is adjacent to reception and we didn't sleep well. The noise we suffered was not exceptional but was the usual coming and going of customers and staff but the reception door was attached to our bedroom wall and therefore disturbed us each time the door was used

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank terry5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is one of the best travelodges we have stayed in. The rooms were clean and everything worked. Not far away from the local pubs to get food and a good choice of eating places at the retail park. Would recommend this travelodgel


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great customer service - good location - good prices - dog friendly only problem was poor ventilation and a sewage smell in the room , was offered the chance to look for an alternate room but as we had unpacked and were going out to eat it really wasn't that much of an issue.
The signage needs to be better as drove past the Travelodge and nearly did on the way back.
If you go with a dog there is a little park a couple of minutes away with a lake and lots of ducks !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to allow me and my wife to use Barrow as a base to explore the Lakes.

I'd definitely recommend a room on the first floor at the rear of the hotel, as we had no noise apart from a few swans from the landscaped pond the room looked out on, (room 112 if you're interested).

The refurb has freshened up the hotel nicely, and even though it was pretty full on our first night, there wasn't much in the way of noise from the corridor outside.

There's a Dominoes pizza outlet on the other side of the hotel front door, so if you do get peckish, food isn't far away, but if you don't mind a short drive then the Burger Parlour in the town centre is worth a look too.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank NDAinsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#10 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
63 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
171 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dunes Hotel
Dunes Hotel
#8 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Barrow in Furness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Barrow in Furness

Address: Cocken Villa Walney Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £37 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Barrow in Furness 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Barrow in Furness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Barrow In Furness Hotel Barrow-In-Furness
Travel Lodge Barrow-In-Furness
Barrow-In-Furness Travelodge
Barrow-In-Furness Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing