We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Reviewed 27 May 2013

4 of us stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It was very clean very friendly staff. They had a good Selection of if food for breakfast which was really nice. It was only about 30 mins from lake Windermere and excellent value for money. The hotel manager makes superb cocktails highly recommended and even the door security was very friendly and full of knowledge of the area and the lakes. Would deffo barely stay here again thumbs up from us....

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donosdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Imperial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

The room ( luxury double 214 ) was a nice room on the whole, however we had no sleep due to music coming from nightclub. Some rooms are cheaper due to noise but not this one. Some rooms do say to expect noise but not this one. I wouldn't go back. Having wanted a nice relaxing weekend this place does not give it. We had no sleep what's so ever.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loublou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

As expected we heard the music from the function suite even on the 4th floor but it was a Saturday night. The hotel has been kitted out to a good standard and the suites once complete will be great for business travellers etc. could do,with a desk and a hair dryer I'd have thought! All in all good value.

Room Tip: High floor essential at weekends - there is no double glazing so,you won't escape completely!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieMac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Booked hotel for two nights to watch football match got good price so didn't expect much. I was more than satisfied with what was provided. Hotel was central to town centre, modern and clean. Booked a double room which was probably the cheapest available and was more than adequate for our needs. Small but modern bathroom with excellent shower. Bed was comfy bedding and towels were good quality and clean. The picture's on the hotel's website are accurate for the room we booked. Limited on site parking we managed to get a space for the whole weekend and it was free and it secured with a locked roller door, a great saving. The breakfast was cooked to order, a large and small option available tailored to your requirements, a good variety of cereal, continental, juice available, a really pleasant experience. The reception staff were very helpful and courteous. The hotel is in the vicinity of a nightclub but it was not detrimental to our stay, but our room was at the rear if the hotel. I did not experience the excessive heat that others have commented on. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hache4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The room vas clean, bathroom as well, the breakfast was consistent (full English), only issue was with the walls (thin) and you could hear what is happening in the other room (even if you do not want to).

Staff was friendly,hotel also provided free parking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogdan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

I cannot fault the standard of the rooms - decor, facilities and comfort were all fabulous. I especially enjoyed the sunken bath, wet room and huge bed. However, this hotel is more suited to those who like to get blotto until 3 am. At seven months pregnant, unfortunately, I'm not one of them and therefore didn't get any sleep until this time thanks to idiots outside (and in the club below) who obviously couldn't handle their drink. To be fair, that's a lesson to me to research the area a little better next trip though.
Another bugbear was reception - on arrival it seemed to take forever for the couple in front to be checked in (and have a nice lengthy chat) while we stood in the doorway (which kept opening and blowing a gale in) waiting with bags. An acknowledgement would have been polite. The following morning, we seemingly interrupted the receptionist's personal phone call, which she resumed as soon as we'd been dealt with. The breakfast staff on the other hand were extremely polite, efficient and helpful. Maybe reception should take customer service lessons from them.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valhalla666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I booked this hotel as a night away for my partner and I. Check in was slightly slow as the receptionist seemed to struggle to find the room key.

There was parking onsite into a ramshackle garage type room, which led into the hotel through a side door. Upon entering the room we were hit by the heat from the room, the roomwas very big but the heating was overpowering. We turned the radiotor off and opened the windows, this did not seem to make much difference.

The fixtures and fittings in the room were fantastic, the jacuzzi bath looked very inviting. However we could not find any instructions on how to work but worked it out in the end.

There was also a wet room shower, which again was very inviting. The toilet was in a seperate cubicle and again the heat was intense, the radiator was that hot we were unable to turn it down whithout burning our hands.

The bed was an emperor sized bed, downside to this was the pillows were so very flat.

As were going out to eat we thought the room would have cooled down for when we returned. It hadnt and we found it so uncomfortable to sleep. The noise from the nightclub was very loud (we couldnt do anythig this as we needed the windows open)

From the amount of police cars driving up and down I dont think this is a very nice area....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkshipleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
359 reviews
22.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Cornwallis Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 2LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £47 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to South Lakes Wildlife Park (the top tourist destination in the Lake District), Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions. The Imperial Hotel is situated in the heart of Barrow, opposite the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Designed by Architect Thomas Bennett, the hotel was built in 1875 during the boom to accommodate the wealth of prospectors and gentry attracted by the town’s industrial riches.Closed for many years, the hotel has been gloriously restored following an extensive redevelopment programme. Now re-open to the public, the Imperial Hotel is renowned for impeccable service and traditional values, bestowing each guest with a memorable stay.The Imperial Hotel consists of 49 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are designed to provide luxurious comfort and style that every guest deserves. All bedrooms feature pocket sprung luxury beds, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access.For pure splendour, choose one of our executive rooms or suites. With king size beds, walk-in wet rooms and jacuzzi baths, each offer a delightful environment for you to relax and indulge.After a busy day of work or pleasure, the ground floor Aspire Bar provides the perfect setting to unwind. Whether you desire a long drink, a continental beer, a refined wine or celebratory champagne, your tastes are well and truly catered for. Cocktail lovers can savour the delights of an extensive menu devised by our resident mixologist – from classic Cosmopolitans to a modern Mojitos.The Imperial Hotel is seamlessly in tune with the needs of the modern world, offering wedding, business and commercial services with a choice of conference and banqueting suites accommodating up to 180 guests. A prestigious venue and impeccable support services combine to make it the perfect choice for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing