We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aspire Cocktail Bar” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Aspire Cocktail Bar”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

After our lovely meal in Francesca's with our receipt in hand we were excited to try the cocktails at the reduced price (25% off) - but what a let down.

We went to order a drink at the bar - and were told to sit and they would take our orders, we ordered 5 cocktails and then waited about 20 minutes, and then one cocktail came, which was drunk by the time the other 4 arrived!!! Not good, especially as it wasn't even busy!

When we went to pay for them, the barmaid, didn't even say thank you!! Guess we will not be going there again - total let down by the staff who basically couldn't be bothered!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    39
    35
    19
    18
See reviews for
12
62
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Imperial hotel is pleasantly decorated and my room on the fourth floor was clean , well presented and had the best bath ever !.
The bed was large and very comfortable and the staff were friendly.

Alas this is about as far as I can go with the compliments, for the biggest problem for this hotel ( for visitors like myself) is the location !.
Whilst it is nicely placed for the town centre it is also in the middle of several nightclubs where chaos rules on the streets outside of a weekend !

My first night ( despite being on the fourth floor ) I was awoken at 4.30 am , I jumped out of bed thinking that my early morning 6.30 am call had failed to go off, alas the noise outside were the screams and shouts of the nightclubs emptying out !.
The Saturday evening the serious noise problems started at around 1.30 am and continued until 4.30 am, with fights , and screams continuously , highlighting the less attractive aspect of the lake district !

Whilst checking out of the hotel several fellow guests were refusing to pay due to the noise levels and apparently fighting taking place.

Other points to note that during my stay we had some very good weather ,alas this made the room extremely hot and due to the outside noise I could not have the window open.
The room was also lacking a hair dryer ( for those of you with more hair than me !!)

I feel sorry for this hotel and hope that the behaviour on the streets in this area could be dealt with by the appropriate bodies, non the less this is an issue that needs to be considered strongly prior to booking.

Room Tip: If needing to stay here then go for the rooms on the highest floors and furthest away from the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanCoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barrow-in-Furness hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

4 of us stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It was very clean very friendly staff. They had a good Selection of if food for breakfast which was really nice. It was only about 30 mins from lake Windermere and excellent value for money. The hotel manager makes superb cocktails highly recommended and even the door security was very friendly and full of knowledge of the area and the lakes. Would deffo barely stay here again thumbs up from us....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donosdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

The room ( luxury double 214 ) was a nice room on the whole, however we had no sleep due to music coming from nightclub. Some rooms are cheaper due to noise but not this one. Some rooms do say to expect noise but not this one. I wouldn't go back. Having wanted a nice relaxing weekend this place does not give it. We had no sleep what's so ever.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loublou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

As expected we heard the music from the function suite even on the 4th floor but it was a Saturday night. The hotel has been kitted out to a good standard and the suites once complete will be great for business travellers etc. could do,with a desk and a hair dryer I'd have thought! All in all good value.

Room Tip: High floor essential at weekends - there is no double glazing so,you won't escape completely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieMac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Booked hotel for two nights to watch football match got good price so didn't expect much. I was more than satisfied with what was provided. Hotel was central to town centre, modern and clean. Booked a double room which was probably the cheapest available and was more than adequate for our needs. Small but modern bathroom with excellent shower. Bed was comfy bedding and towels were good quality and clean. The picture's on the hotel's website are accurate for the room we booked. Limited on site parking we managed to get a space for the whole weekend and it was free and it secured with a locked roller door, a great saving. The breakfast was cooked to order, a large and small option available tailored to your requirements, a good variety of cereal, continental, juice available, a really pleasant experience. The reception staff were very helpful and courteous. The hotel is in the vicinity of a nightclub but it was not detrimental to our stay, but our room was at the rear if the hotel. I did not experience the excessive heat that others have commented on. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hache4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

The room vas clean, bathroom as well, the breakfast was consistent (full English), only issue was with the walls (thin) and you could hear what is happening in the other room (even if you do not want to).

Staff was friendly,hotel also provided free parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.6 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Cornwallis Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 2LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to South Lakes Wildlife Park (the top tourist destination in the Lake District), Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions. The Imperial Hotel is situated in the heart of Barrow, opposite the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Designed by Architect Thomas Bennett, the hotel was built in 1875 during the boom to accommodate the wealth of prospectors and gentry attracted by the town’s industrial riches.Closed for many years, the hotel has been gloriously restored following an extensive redevelopment programme. Now re-open to the public, the Imperial Hotel is renowned for impeccable service and traditional values, bestowing each guest with a memorable stay.The Imperial Hotel consists of 49 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are designed to provide luxurious comfort and style that every guest deserves. All bedrooms feature pocket sprung luxury beds, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access.For pure splendour, choose one of our executive rooms or suites. With king size beds, walk-in wet rooms and jacuzzi baths, each offer a delightful environment for you to relax and indulge.After a busy day of work or pleasure, the ground floor Aspire Bar provides the perfect setting to unwind. Whether you desire a long drink, a continental beer, a refined wine or celebratory champagne, your tastes are well and truly catered for. Cocktail lovers can savour the delights of an extensive menu devised by our resident mixologist – from classic Cosmopolitans to a modern Mojitos.The Imperial Hotel is seamlessly in tune with the needs of the modern world, offering wedding, business and commercial services with a choice of conference and banqueting suites accommodating up to 180 guests. A prestigious venue and impeccable support services combine to make it the perfect choice for any event. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing