We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely staff”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel, lovely staff”
Reviewed 4 September 2014

My husband and I had a really nice stay at this hotel. Close to centre of town. The bedroom was modern and clean with everything you could need, nice comfy bed. The breakfast was fantastic, so much choice and the staff serving were very professional and helpful. The lady on Reception was friendly and helpful too. We got there early and parked up in the designated parking space, which was safe and secure.
Would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, 2nd floor and was no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank we-are-winners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    40
    35
    20
    18
See reviews for
12
63
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Would b even better if they did evening meals, emperor size bed just huge and soft double bath inviting can see points about noise but we didnt think it was that bad even with an engagement party on in function room on Saturday, lots of choice for breakfast to suit all will definitely go back, wish we had known how close francescas is as we would have gone both nights not just one as I have walking problems the food was outstanding and good value we went for happy hour

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellie7175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from the Hotel Imperial with my Partner. Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel.
We had a standard double room was a really decent big room wich i did not expect. Lovely bathroom an comfortable bed. I would say the room needed a lick of paint as there seened to be marks on the walls and a stain on the carpet. The window seems to be on the oldish side an shook alot when we had high winds at night time. This did make quite a bit of racket. Other than a quick update to the room i think i could not fault it. Full length mirror an vanity also included hairdryer for the woman wich was decent. Tv was great size an had alot of options to watch. Also enjoyed a few coffees for free with my facilities i had. The bar area downstairs was really nice an modern with tv screens an plenty of choice to drink. Could not comment really on breakfast much as i was up early enough too get too it for a cooked breakfast. It was 6:30-9:00 weekdays an then weekends till 10:00am. I managed to have cereal an some juice on first day an they had plenty of choice with cereals juices coffee an toast. Even though i did turn up slightly late to breakfast though they still offered me a cooked one wich was nice service. One more thibf the carpark designated for the hotel can only fit about under 10 cars in. There is a carpark opisite the hotel but unsure if this is pay an display. Overall a great hotel an this is my honest review. The hotel itself though is situated in a great place in walking distance from shops, resturants an not so far from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Hudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Having been on holiday in Ambleside for five of our 11 day stay my partner was rushed to hospital in Kendal and transferred to Barrow in Furness Hospital where he underwent an emergency operation.
I drove to and from Ambleside for six days until I moved to the Imperial not knowing how long I needed to stay. The Imperial was in fact the only hotel that could accommodate me at such short notice in high season. The staff here were so obliging and helpful and let me change bookings twice until my partner was discharged.
The actual accommodation was top end basic. No drawers for clothing, just open shelving and an open wardrobe. The king size bed was really comfortable and the bathroom had everything you would need. The usual hospitality tray was present but I was disappointed at the absence of a hairdryer. The receptionist did advise me that the hotel is still in the process of being refurbished and extras are to be added to the rooms.
Breakfast was served in the first floor dining room and there was literally everything that you could wish for on the buffet table in addition to the cooked breakfast you could order.
I was entirely satisfied with my stay at the Hotel Imperial at £65 per deluxe double room.
If you do stay here try to avoid a front of building room or take earplugs. The Town Hall Clock across the road strikes every quarter of an hour and it is loud!! I got used to it after a couple of nights

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights over the weekend at £45 per double room including breakfast,what a bargain nightly rate.
Rooms are tasteful and the bedding/towels are spotlessly clean and white.
Breakfast is cooked to order and the bacon/sausage are of a very high quality. Nice cocktail bar in the hotel which is busy but not full of kids which is an added bonus.
Would stay again and hope their ranking improves as not much too complain about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Travelling solo for business. I have stayed in many hotels and this was a very basic room and bathroom, it did not give you a fresh clean feeling. Was clean but not spotless, very old fashioned. Breakfast was really good, good variety and service. staff were friendly, polite and helpful. A lick of paint and some updated rooms would be beneficial.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JZF28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Can't comment on bedrooms but the function room for weddings and christenings etc is very good. We had a christening here and had a lovely day. The function manager was excellent, everything was taken care of and he was very accomodating. The waiting/bar staff were friendly and efficient. The room looked lovely, only downside was that it was very warm in there as it was a hot day outside. I have also been here for a Christmas party and the food, staff and atmosphere were all very good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#12 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
117 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Cornwallis Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 2LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to South Lakes Wildlife Park (the top tourist destination in the Lake District), Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions. The Imperial Hotel is situated in the heart of Barrow, opposite the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Designed by Architect Thomas Bennett, the hotel was built in 1875 during the boom to accommodate the wealth of prospectors and gentry attracted by the town’s industrial riches.Closed for many years, the hotel has been gloriously restored following an extensive redevelopment programme. Now re-open to the public, the Imperial Hotel is renowned for impeccable service and traditional values, bestowing each guest with a memorable stay.The Imperial Hotel consists of 49 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are designed to provide luxurious comfort and style that every guest deserves. All bedrooms feature pocket sprung luxury beds, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access.For pure splendour, choose one of our executive rooms or suites. With king size beds, walk-in wet rooms and jacuzzi baths, each offer a delightful environment for you to relax and indulge.After a busy day of work or pleasure, the ground floor Aspire Bar provides the perfect setting to unwind. Whether you desire a long drink, a continental beer, a refined wine or celebratory champagne, your tastes are well and truly catered for. Cocktail lovers can savour the delights of an extensive menu devised by our resident mixologist – from classic Cosmopolitans to a modern Mojitos.The Imperial Hotel is seamlessly in tune with the needs of the modern world, offering wedding, business and commercial services with a choice of conference and banqueting suites accommodating up to 180 guests. A prestigious venue and impeccable support services combine to make it the perfect choice for any event. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing