We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with personality”
Review of The Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hotel Majestic
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here following a wedding reception and were incredibly impressed. The rooms were sort of brown/cream decor which I found pretty stylish (my parents disagreed but what do they know!) and the bathroom was lovely and spotless. The free breakfast was absolutely delicious, massive and perfect for a wedding induced hangover!

The night porter Alan was the absolute star of the night though; opening the bar up specially and entertaining us for hours with stories and (very, very good) card tricks. Derren Brown has nothing on this guy! A legend in the making!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HelenE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Pleasant staff-good food-large refurbished rooms.We had a trip to Piel Island and enjoyed the beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: Book with Late Rooms.Com for half the advertised rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensioner1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here for our wedding night in June 2011 following our wedding at Barrow Town Hall just a few yards down the road.

Service was excellent from start to finish.

We arranged a discounted rate for our wedding guests in advance with the hotel manager, who was friendly and only too happy to help us with the bookings. Many of our family and friends stayed at the hotel for the entire weekend and i have heard no complaints from any of them.

Our room was great, it was an executive room facing out onto the roundabout and so was fairly quiet. Modern bright decor and good sized room. The hotel provided us with fresh flowers, a bottle of champagne and some chocolates which were a lovely touch and were very welcome on our wedding night.,

The night porter was brilliant and entertained us and many of our guests on our late night return following the wedding with his card tricks. Very good and had us all fooled!

Breakfast was great, really good quality and good portion size. All cooked fresh to order. Good selection of cereals and cold breakfast items.

The restaurant underneath is a great Italian. Great food and good value for money. Highly recommend eating here during your stay.

My only compaint was that the room was very warm and the lift wasnt working, but all minor details that didnt detract from the overall stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammy0585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We liked this hotel all staff ware very good would stop here again on lower floor still no lift room 305 road noise window wont shut . good breakfast ,had a few pints in the Albion pub across the road very friendly hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metrocod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

one night , booked on late deal single b+b £30. room very clean , comfortable bed ,nice flat screen tv . bathroom with bath and shower luxurious. breakfast brill - good choice cereals fruit juices etc and choice of full or mini breakfast ( which was ample) and poached boiled fried eggs or just egg on toast etc. Italian meal in hotel restaurant excelent and very good prices. 4 people three courses and drink each under £75! (inc tip)Staff polite and helpful and addressed you sir madam at all times - very professional. I would gladly pay full price next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This hotel was great value for money at £30 for a Friday night. The breakfast was seriously good, and the staff were all pleasant, they allowed us to check in early with no fuss whatsoever. The room was good but pretty basic, pretty much travelodge standard with a bit more colour. Our room was quite warm so slept with windows wide open - this wasnt a problem until the seagulls woke us up at 6:30am. Great location for Barrow town centre, although not an awful lot going on there itself.
Would go again, but only if I got another half price deal!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _my_name_is_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

For around the same price as an 'average' travel lodge room, this hotel was great for our needs. The room was really bright and new (looked recently refurbed), was a good size, had tea and coffee, small flatscreen TV etc and the bathroom was really clean. The hotel bar area was pleasant. Stairs area was a little tired and the lift was broken, not a problem for us but might have been for some. Worth a mention - the staff were great, all really pleasant (we encountered 4/5 different people and they were consistently happy and personable ). Breakfast was a good size and served in a really pleasant room. We did not manage to get into the car park immediately upon arrival but found some alternative parking nearby for a short term. There was a pay & display nearby in any case but we managed to move the car later on - the hotel restaurant was really busy so I suspect diners were using the spaces. Overall, this was a bargain and perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whereshallwego2next?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrow-in-Furness hotels
0.4 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
169 reviews
1 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
346 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunes Hotel
Dunes Hotel
#7 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Majestic

Address: Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 1HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £43 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing