We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool character, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
“Cool character, great breakfast”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The Duke, in a grand old building kitty-corner to the train station, benefits from the character provided by the building but doesn't rest on it. My room, on the top floor of the south wing, was modern in furnishing and appointment but conformed elegantly to the steeply sloping roof line and long narrow space. It felt like the keep of a castle, but much warmer. I had a view of the rooftops of the town and the distant Irish Sea, from which a cold wind and driving rain came to buffet the windows for several nights in a row.

Even though the hotel is at the corner of two busy roads, my room was quiet. The breakfast provided in the main dining lounge was superb. I had a choice of hot entrees (eggs benedict became my first choice, the kippers second) to be combined with a cold buffet and excellent coffee. Service was excellent. This room transforms at night into a restaurant and bar. Unfortunately I can't comment on the food because the one night I went I could not get anyone to take my order. Perhaps the pub takes priority.

The hotel interior is quirky. The grand central staircase encircles an elegantly fitted modern elevator. The landings are walled off from the corridors, which keeps the rooms even quieter. Beyond, oddly arranged corridors wind up and down and around. Oddly placed steps make wheeling luggage awkward. These odd shapes also make the wi-fi too weak to use in some rooms. There appears to be only one transceivers on each floor, on the staircase landing. Thus, for a reliable signal, one must sit there.

The Duke's location was just right for my work at the shipyard. I could walk everywhere. The town's main pedestrian mall starts just around the corner, there are several restaurants and pubs within a 10-minute walk, and the train station is a block away. For those coming by car, the hotel's free parking is inconveniently located beside the train station, so the guest has to negotiate the busy intersection on foot with luggage and perhaps in the rain, since one cannot even stop in front of the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Higher the better since the surrounding roads are busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    166
    47
    21
    8
See reviews for
70
239
28
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
754 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed one night and was upgraded on arrival to executive room. No complaints at all, lovely room,plenty of space. Very comfy bed and pillows ,room had small couch and chair also with big widescreen tv and dvd player. Lovely bathroom with stand alone bath and large rain forest shower.
Breakfast was excellent and cooked fresh to order, will certainly stay here again when visiting relatives in Barrow.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Really lovely hotel for a new year party just picked this hotel based on how it looked and it turned out to be a really great night not to sure about the area but the hotel was lovely . The breakfast was really nice full English in my room as I was the only one wanting to eat after a great night . The buffet in the evening was really good lots to choose from and plenty of it then we danced the night away we would stay in this hotel again . J

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leylando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

It has good spacious rooms Although be careful I fell out of bed this morning rolling over to switch off the alarm as the edge of the mattress was so soft! But very comfortable rooms. Usual mouldy sealant around the shower - why don't hotels use bleach- but the bathroom was clean! Food was served in bar as restaurant was booked. Good value tasty food that could have served two! Very good value all round

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzywac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The lift was working when we stayed here last week. Thank goodness as we were on the third floor split between two rooms. Both rooms were really great. Very large beds (supersize?) and design was modern but welcoming. TV didnt have Sky but had plenty of other channels. Food downstairs was brilliant and we ate as a family every night for the first time in the UK probably ever. Bar is good, couldnt find a better one anywhere nearby. And if your there on a Thursday there is live jazz in the basement bar area. Quite an upmarket hotel, posh in many ways but people are not snotty and everyone (customers and staff) were very welcoming. Highly recommended and one of those hotels that you really don't need to leave once youve checked in.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

As my partner is working in Barrow (Monday to Friday) he has stayed at a variety of hotels and B&B's and booked this hotel for my visit as 'it was the best one he had stayed in and I would hate some of the others'. Staff friendly, room clean, nice decor, bed comfy and I had a great nights sleep. Dinner in the restaurant lovely and a good selection available for breakfast.

The only downside was the fact the lift wasnt working (and hadnt been three weeks before when my partner had stayed) and that when we came down for breakfast the whole bar was covered in dirty dishes. Overall minor points that did not detract. Would revisit and recommend if staying in barrow.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemmerson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel would definitely stay again. Breakfast really nice. Room clean and modern. Parking is over the road and you have to cross a busy intersection but there are crossing facilities. Price is very cheap for what you get, very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwylfa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
713 reviews
19.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,119 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with fifty one ensuite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. A new addition to the Duke in 2017 is the arrival of acclaimed, Michelin 3 star winning chef Steven Doherty. Having run Cumbrian gastro-pubs since the 1990s, Steven is now Lancaster Brewery's Executive Chef and ensures that we produce really first class dining experiences for all our guests. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing