We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip and booked executive double room. Competitive price and lovely room, with nice decor and a very comfortable bed. Plenty of space in the room and a very nice bathroom. Ordered room service which was good quality and arrived promptly. Good location in the town centre and very helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caznzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    154
    46
    20
    8
See reviews for
65
227
28
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Polite, helpful staff. Nice decor. Comfy bed. Very large bath towels. Spotlessly Clean, decent food. Large bedroom and bathroom, well located for the town centre. Much better than travellodge! Good value for money :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobbo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Last night I took my wife for an evening of live jazz at the Dukes. We were given a nice corner table downstairs to enjoy the band later but I must say the dinner we had was first rate.Nothing pretentious on the menu just good simple dishes well cooked and nicely presented that won't break the bank.There was a lovely buzzy atmosphere and combined with a few Riojas we had the best evening in Barrow that we have had in a long time. Although we have enjoyed the Dukes on many occasions before now this was the first venture downstairs. I'm only sorry we havent tried it out before. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clivewheeler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We always use this hotel when we come to visit our family in Barrow. It's got to be the best hotel in the area, and never let's us down! Our most recent stay was sat 26th jan. The hotel has such a warm, welcoming and friendly atmosphere to it. We love the bar area, with a great selection of real ales and wine, and the roaring log fire is an added bonus. We stayed in a standard room, and it was a great size, modern and very clean. As usual breakfast was lovely, and the blonde haired waitress was so friendly and provided excellent service. All in all another great stay and we ll be back. Just a very minor point, but the windows downstairs in the bar area need a good clean!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Me and my partner stayed for one night for my birthday. We were told we had been upgraded when we arrived which a nice surprise. The room was lovely, very stylish and modern. the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner though. the back of the door had lots of splash marks and i had to give the sink a wipe over. The bed was very very comfy. The highlight was the bar in the evening. Very busy with a great atmosphere and good staff. There was a live band on later on too downstairs and because we were staying at the hotel the admission was free. We had a great evening. Breakfast in the morning was very nice and just what the doctor ordered after the night before. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34Sophie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

my wife and I recently traveled to Barrow for the weekend ,we stayed at The Duke and were given a standard room, not expecting too much we were pleasantly surprised by the standard and modern deco of the room , it was spotless with flat screen tv wireless and a fantastic shower.The staff were very polite and helpful I can unreservedly recommend this hotel to any travelers looking for a quality hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

stayed here for 1 night got upgraded to top floor a very quirky room,beautifull bathroom,really lovely room at the back of the hotel i would say it was the bedroom in the eves that you could view the street at the back, the only down size was a drunk who shouted and swore for hours to paraletic to get up from the street.
The food in the pub was great,good menu, lovely log fire roaring away.
The price we were charged for 2 adults bed and breakfast was £65. very reasonable.
definately would return again
Staff were friendly and very helpfull.

Room Tip: back bedrooms have no view and there is a back street were drunks gather so be warned
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
24.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with forty two en-suite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. The new Vaults Restaurant and Cocktail bar opened in 2014 and is a beautiful, modern venue developed from the Duke's own World War Two air raid shelter cellar. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing