We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and very comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly and very comfortable.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Apart from slow breakfast on Saturday we had a very pleasant stay. Lovely room which was decorated to a high standard. All the staff were very friendly snd helpful. A great few nights and tastey restaurant food!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEB1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    164
    46
    21
    8
See reviews for
68
236
28
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and had booked an executive room, But the room was not as per it's description. Also to worsen our stay there was no view from the windows. The hotel was not fully booked still after complaining we were not offered a room on any of the nights. Service staff was friendly though the receptionist at the time of check-in was very unfriendly. I would never go back to stay in this hotel nor would recommend my friends and family.

Room Tip: Do not book executive room as its not value for money charged
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lubna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
I've got to say we're extremely surprised at this review. The whole team at the Duke work exceptionally hard to ensure our guests are happy with their accommodation and as testimony, we've not had a similar one star review for almost two years.

However, we're not convinced as to the validity of your comments. We have no record of anybody complaining about their room in recent weeks, we ALWAYS move people if we have space and they're not delighted with the room they have. I have checked with all the reception staff and none of them recall guests mentioning any of the problems highlighted in your review. Very strange.

With regards to the "view". We are a town centre Barrow hotel, located in one of the smartest and tidiest parts of the town. May I ask what you expected to see out of a Barrow town centre hotel bedroom window? Sydney Opera House, perhaps? The Hanging Gardens of Babylon? Herds of wildebeest sweeping majestically...?

Finally. May I point out the damage that reviews such as yours cause. We are a small company and the Duke employs around 50 staff. The success of the hotel is completely dependent on its reputation. To ensure consistency and quality, the hotel has a full time maintenance manager who makes sure the building is in top class condition, there is no other hotel in the area offering our range of beer, wine and food allied to lovely, modern and stylish bedrooms. That's why we're full most nights of the week. I would suggest you post more reviews, gather more experience of the accommodation sector before tarnishing our establishment with such an unpleasant, damaging and unfair review.

I note we are the first hotel you have ever reviewed on Tripadvisor.

Naturally we're always keen to hear proper criticism of our venues. Please email us at the hotel with details of the problems you allege and allow us to investigate further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be excellent. The standard room that I had was on the 3rd floor (there is a lift) was modern and of a good size. The staff in the hotel and the bar were polite and attentive throughout. The bar area really is a gem, it's of a good size and is well layed out. There is a very good choice of ales and beers, not the usual stuff you find in most pubs.

We chose to eat in the small bistro and found the pizzas to be very good. The menu is varied and should give decent options to any fussy eaters.

When visiting Barrow in the future the Duke of Edinburgh will be my preferred accommodation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor. The bar downstairs gets busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

we stayed here after day at the zoo turned out to be a nice place to stay and eat, there was a lift which made it easier getting up the stairs with all the bags, room was very nice with a great on suite, we eat in the bar and the food was fantastic and fresh all the staff are very helpful and friendly would stay here if ever near by again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandaj290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spent a long time studying websites and photos of Barrow hotels as I had to stay nearly two weeks there in late July. Finally went for the Duke, after a lot of work. Turned out very well. A great hotel, professional staff, very very nice rooms and a super bar. The bar area is the real clincher, if youre stuck in a hotel night after night then it's critical you're not nailed to the bedroom. This bar had really good food and a bar choice that I've not seen in many a year. 8 or 9 cask beers, a skip load of different bottle beers and a good selection of whiskies to finish the night off. Wifi wasn't working too well when I arrived and then I was told it had been upgraded and worked perfectly for the last 8 or so days.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dholroyd29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here a few weekends with my partner for weekends, just to 'get away from it all...' What a lovely hotel, staff are so friendly & helpful, rooms are quirky - no two rooms appear to be the same! (we especially enjoyed staying in what appeared to be an attic room, right at the top, & a really strange shape!) Breakfast & evening meals are really good value & perfectly presented, with a lively atmosphere at the weekend - well recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed at The Duke of Edinburgh for two nights on a recent trip to Barrow. The hotel is easy to get to from the train station and in a really convenient location. My partner and I stayed in a suite. We were checked in very quickly and without a hitch. The room was lovely, very well decorated and although it wasn't huge it was certainly big enough. The bed was enormous and very comfy so we both slept well. The bathroom again was very nice - I can't really fault anything! We enjoyed a few drinks in the main bar which had a huge choice. When we returned to the hotel after visiting friends and family there was a gig going on the Vault bar down in the basement so we went down for a listen and there was a really great atmosphere, we had a great night. Both mornings the breakfast was served quickly and was really tasty. All in all it was a brilliant experience - lovely hotel, pleasant staff and good location so I would definitely stay again next time I am in Barrow.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
338 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
698 reviews
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
970 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
19.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with forty two en-suite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. The new Vaults Restaurant and Cocktail bar opened in 2014 and is a beautiful, modern venue developed from the Duke's own World War Two air raid shelter cellar. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing