We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

On arrival the parking advice on the website is out of date, you actually park diagonally across the dual carriage way, not in the now defunct 'Hitchens'.
The receptionist booking us in seemed unaware of the location of rooms in the hotel, which is hard to understand as it is not that big!
We had to change room to the third floor to avoid noise from the function room.
It is a shame that the lift goes up the middle of the fabulous staircase.
There is a vibrant bar popular with the locals with a great range of beer.
However there is no residents lounge if you just want a quiet sit down.
We were kept waiting for over an hour for our evening meal main course, the staff said they were surprised it was so busy.
Breakfast was not great, greasy, small servings and unhelpful staff, we had to ask for extra scrambled eggs to make a reasonable portion, be prepared to pester staff for your tea and toast!
The bed was very comfortable and we slept well, the shower was good.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room then go for the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

The receptionist was friendly some of the staff were less so room on top floor quite big clean comfortable bed bathroom clean big as it was a bank holiday it's called super Sunday therefore noisy outside till 5.30 am not hotels fault prob mostly from wedding we attended!! My husband hit his head on sloping ceiling several times as he got out of bed. The service in restaurant very slow both at dinner and breakfast small car park across road not quite enough spaces

Room Tip: Rooms on level 2 could be noisy as just above function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, the room was modern and comfortable but I would agree that the cleanliness re the corners could be improved. The bathroom shower could have been improved with some attention to bleaching or re grouting around the shower tray. There is no lounge area and consequently no where other than the room to relax in or to sit with other guests. During the time we were there the bar area which doubles as a breakfast room in the morning was very busy on an evening and the lower ground area had a very loud band playing. We had met up with friends but found the noise and the music too competitive to be able to hold a conversation. Overall I found the staff were friendly but not particularly efficient it took over an hour for us ordering our meal to receiving it. The web site directs car parking to a car park that is derelict and we had to park in a Tesco car park then we were directed to another car park and felt like we had been well reprimanded by reception for parking in the wrong area. There is no where to park to load and unload the car and as such it was difficult lugging wedding out fits etc across two busy main roads. But it was not overly expensive so I guess you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: make sure you check its not above the function room which is situated on the first foor before you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cushna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The front desk staff was highly effective with a group reservation. The rooms have great updated bathrooms! However, the rooms need some very deep cleaning in the corners! Breakfast was wonderful! There is a lift.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Apart from slow breakfast on Saturday we had a very pleasant stay. Lovely room which was decorated to a high standard. All the staff were very friendly snd helpful. A great few nights and tastey restaurant food!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEB1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and had booked an executive room, But the room was not as per it's description. Also to worsen our stay there was no view from the windows. The hotel was not fully booked still after complaining we were not offered a room on any of the nights. Service staff was friendly though the receptionist at the time of check-in was very unfriendly. I would never go back to stay in this hotel nor would recommend my friends and family.

Room Tip: Do not book executive room as its not value for money charged
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lubna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

I've got to say we're extremely surprised at this review. The whole team at the Duke work exceptionally hard to ensure our guests are happy with their accommodation and as testimony, we've not had a similar one star review for almost two years.

However, we're not convinced as to the validity of your comments. We have no record of anybody complaining about their room in recent weeks, we ALWAYS move people if we have space and they're not delighted with the room they have. I have checked with all the reception staff and none of them recall guests mentioning any of the problems highlighted in your review. Very strange.

With regards to the "view". We are a town centre Barrow hotel, located in one of the smartest and tidiest parts of the town. May I ask what you expected to see out of a Barrow town centre hotel bedroom window? Sydney Opera House, perhaps? The Hanging Gardens of Babylon? Herds of wildebeest sweeping majestically...?

Finally. May I point out the damage that reviews such as yours cause. We are a small company and the Duke employs around 50 staff. The success of the hotel is completely dependent on its reputation. To ensure consistency and quality, the hotel has a full time maintenance manager who makes sure the building is in top class condition, there is no other hotel in the area offering our range of beer, wine and food allied to lovely, modern and stylish bedrooms. That's why we're full most nights of the week. I would suggest you post more reviews, gather more experience of the accommodation sector before tarnishing our establishment with such an unpleasant, damaging and unfair review.

I note we are the first hotel you have ever reviewed on Tripadvisor.

Naturally we're always keen to hear proper criticism of our venues. Please email us at the hotel with details of the problems you allege and allow us to investigate further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be excellent. The standard room that I had was on the 3rd floor (there is a lift) was modern and of a good size. The staff in the hotel and the bar were polite and attentive throughout. The bar area really is a gem, it's of a good size and is well layed out. There is a very good choice of ales and beers, not the usual stuff you find in most pubs.

We chose to eat in the small bistro and found the pizzas to be very good. The menu is varied and should give decent options to any fussy eaters.

When visiting Barrow in the future the Duke of Edinburgh will be my preferred accommodation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor. The bar downstairs gets busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
504 reviews
14.6 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
738 reviews
19.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,180 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £65 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with fifty one ensuite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. A new addition to the Duke in 2017 is the arrival of acclaimed, Michelin 3 star winning chef Steven Doherty. Having run Cumbrian gastro-pubs since the 1990s, Steven is now Lancaster Brewery's Executive Chef and ensures that we produce really first class dining experiences for all our guests. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing