We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Everything about the stay was excellent. We had a lovely room, when I said we had thought of eating in the hotel we were advised to book right away which we did and we were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful and if ever in the area again I would come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granny1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

It was with some trepidation that I booked the Duke of Edinburgh. I last stayed here about 25 years ago, when work took me to this part of the country quite regularly. The disappointing memories from these times were with me right until we entered. The transormation is amazing, now nothing like those dim & distant days. The rooms are very nicely decorated & furnished, with comfortable bed, & a large flatscreen TV that can be turned for ease of viewing. Lift to all floors, superb breakfast, a quality, popular bar with a very impressive range of beers, excellent bar food, free car park over the road near the railway station. If I had to be very picky, then aircon would be a big plus in the unseasonably hot weather, or a fan to cool the room down when needed. Also the hairdryer filter could do with a 'de-fluff' to stop it overheating & cutting out! All minor points, have already booked our next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allertonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our sister and her family stayed here for two nights for a big family get together. We booked her in here because its so close to the train station and it was a special occasion. We knew it was nice before we laid eyes on the rooms because its been here for years and has a great reputation. So the rooms. Absolutely fantastic. Crystal chanderlears and fancy furniture with the best bathroom Ive ever seen in a hotel. I stayed one night with my niece and the bed was lush and comfy. Massively wide too. People are really nice and we paid £70 a night which was only a few quid more than awful Travellodge. So bit of a bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 881LadyByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Eat here quite regularly and some relatives from away have stayed in the rooms which are fabulous with swanky modern bathrooms (I saw room 205 but i'm guessing they are all much of a muchness). You can tell a lot of money has been spent on renovating it from the "Old" Duke which back in the day you stuck to the carpets and was in desperate need of some TLC- it's nice to see that rather than condemning it to the fate of most other pubs in Barrow the owners have thrown cash at it and turned it into something special- I would say the bar is now one of the most popular in town and is busy on weekends- so it is advisable to book for a table in the Bar or Bistro but I have managed to get a table in the Vaults downstairs on numerous occasions without prior notice- the only downside is it quite loud as they have live music on- this isn't really an issue for me but might be for any older people wanting a quiet meal.

They have quite an extensive menu with Pizzas and Burgers as well as Steaks and grill items- the Thai green curry is amazing! The Bar has a huge selection of spirits and beers to choose from. All in all it's a top spot to meet for a night out and central if you want to go on into town from there. Definitely one of my favourites.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Booked this after a quick google search for a hotel whilst in Barrow for work. Cracking venue. Central location. Free car parking. Lovely room. Friendly and welcoming staff. Superb bar with excellent selection of real ales. Nice food. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slacki52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A lovely overnight stay in a clean, comfortable and modern room. The bed was really comfy and was a great size. The only criticism was that the shower was not very powerful, poor water pressure. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and the staff were very friendly. A lovely overnight stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Was surprised for my birthday, with a stay here - I'd never been to the lakes before and would definitely go back.
The hotel was amazing and staff extremely helpful. The surrounding area doesn't look promising but inside the hotel is the complete opposite... Well decorated and very clean.
It was good value for money with an executive room (which was spectacular) only being £85. The bar is like nothing I've ever seen - so much variety and the prices are extremely reasonable.
Would recommend it to anyone... And will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitt_198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
393 reviews
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
812 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £63 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with fifty one ensuite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. A new addition to the Duke in 2017 is the arrival of acclaimed, Michelin 3 star winning chef Steven Doherty. Having run Cumbrian gastro-pubs since the 1990s, Steven is now Lancaster Brewery's Executive Chef and ensures that we produce really first class dining experiences for all our guests. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing