We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Jeffersons Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambrose Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Furness Railway Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dunes Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$114
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chetwynde Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lisdoonie Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Majestic(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey House Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barrow in Furness(Barrow-in-Furness)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
281
178
52
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
178
52
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelexecutive roomroll top bathcar parkrailway stationmy partnerbar areatesco expressfree parkinglovely roomold buildingreal alenice atmospherecocktail bartop floorfull englishhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Been trekking over to Barrow on and off for a few years now and in recent times always stay at the Duke. No major differences since last year, but menu seems more ambitious, the beer range has extended and we stayed in one of the brand new rooms which were marvelous. Still an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are v nice but if possible ask for one of the brand new ones. Just been completed and quite spectacular.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon_Laws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We checked in with no fuss. Reception staff were friendly and particularly helpful when we wanted advice about where to visit etc. We were travelling as me and my husband in one room and our daughter and grandson in another. Our room had been upgraded at no extra cost to an executive room. The rooms were next door to each other but ours was larger with a double shower (absolutely fabulous) and with a DVD player. Our daughter's room had a lovely rainfall shower in the bathroom but it was smaller and very warm, especially at night.
We ate in the hotel on the second evening. The food was good but the service was slow so no good if you are in a hurry. Our grandson is only 4 and there was really nowhere for him outside of the hotel room in the evenings so wouldn't recommend this for families. The bar area is very popular with locals and has a wide variety of beers, spirits and wines.
The hotel has no external facilities, garden etc and is situated on a busy crossroads. We wandered into Barrow on our first afternoon and it is obviously benefitting from some recent investment in the town centre. However, aside from pubs there is very little to do in the evenings. We did find a fabulous Italian restaurant called Francescas which was so reasonably priced and extremely good quality food.
It was a great base for visiting many of the South Lakes attractions and the hotel has it's own car park across the road so no problems with coming and going relatively easily.
In summary, the hotel was exactly what I'd expect for the very reasonable price we paid which was £65 per night for a double room including breakfast. If we travelled again with our grandson we probably would not choose this one due to the lack of amenities for him.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed a night at this hotel and i must say it had one of the best beds i have ever slept on ! It was huge spacious and so comfortable we didn't want to leave it. The shower was amazing it was big with a raining affect and the best part is fixed very high which allows very tall people to shower with not having to twist the neck in all directions to avoid the shower head in the face.

Breakfast was very good with a good variety and friendly helpful staff.

Only slight problem was the car park is across the street which would be a little hassle if u have a lot of bags to carry. Fortunately we checked in very late at night, the roads were empty so no problem pulling luggage back and forth. Apart from that i would highly recommend it for a brilliant comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Room 201 ! Best bed and shower. Loved it. Faces the main road but no disturbances.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falconrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

During our stay here we couldn't find any faults. The hotel is very well run, the room we had was clean, tidy and had an en-suite bathroom. Our room was on the third floor which was accessible by the lift. The food service was excellent.

The only thing I will say is that one of the waiters, although doing a brilliant job, really needed to relax a little. It was as if he was terrified of making a mistake... Not faulting his performance jobwise, he just needs to smile a little.. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here over Easter weekend as I was looking for somewhere nearer the lakes but this seemed like a good base. A bit further out than I expected and in a built up town, it was a nice hotel with lovely staff and great breakfasts in the bar area. I booked an executive room but was disappointed that this was basically a normal room with the tiniest sofa I've ever seen so it didn't seem worth paying extra for and didn't resemble the website pictures of this room type which had lovely bathrooms and a separate sitting area.

It had a really nice shower room but the double shower itself was weak and it was difficult to control the water temperature. The room seemed cold with a really flimsy duvet and even though we were on the second floor there was a lot of road noise so much so I had to use earplugs on the second night.

We ate in the bar on the first night and the food and service was excellent although disappointed there was no entertainment on a holiday weekend.

All in all it was a good hotel with a few minor tweaks required. A good base if you are on business in Barrow but perhaps a bit far out for those looking for easy access to the lakes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynncarr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews