We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was staying in this hotel while visiting Buddhist international retreat nearby and was surprised of the quality of room I had. Last floor room, almost brand new everything, view from window over the city. Very happy. Free parking also included and wi-fi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taisia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    166
    47
    21
    8
See reviews for
70
239
28
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed for two nights on a business trip. My room was booked for me so I was not involved in selection of the room.
Overall I was entirely satisfied. Whilst there was nothing to 'blow your socks off' everything was perfectly acceptable. The room was clean and well appointed and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was also clean with a decent shower. The trendy design of the wash basin and tap were such that getting the kettle underneath the tap to fill it was virtually impossible and consideration could be given to providing a small jug for this purpose (even the tall water glasses were awkward to fill).
Wifi was free (or at least provided at no extra cost over and above the room charge) and worked well.
I only ate breakfast in the hotel, which was fine, although on the first morning my poached eggs were a little vinegary.
Parking is free in a dedicated car park across the junction from the hotel. There are two other car parks close to the hotel so it is important to make sure you get the correct one to avoid a ticket (the hotel's car park does have a big sign but I missed it when I first arrived because the sat-nav directed me to the back of the hotel on the basis of the post code. Reception staff give you a ticket to display in the windscreen and it might be annoying to have to walk back to the car with this if the weather is poor so perhaps the hotel could consider providing the option of pre-printing your own parking ticket before arrival via the hotel web-site?
Staff were pleasant and polite.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My sister and I returned to Barrow for the first time in many years. We grew up here and remember the hotel before the refurbishment! We were both impressed at the renovation and facilities including the free parking and the restaurant.

The room was very nicely furnished and soundproofed with a great bathroom. We loved the free Wi-Fi! We had dinner on Saturday night - yes it was busy but the food was freshly prepared, tasty and served by helpful staff. Breakfast on Sunday was a bit more chaotic but fresh coffee and toast was brought when we requested it and the food was hot and tasty.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: Take the upgraded room - worth the little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwatson03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel has large very clean bedrooms air conditioned on the ground floor and large wet room style bathrooms.It is situated close the railway station.
It also has a bar/resturant attached to it and the vaults which at weekends have live music. There is a good selection real ales and botteled beers, the food is excellent especially the home made pizza's. Thursday is 2 for 1 night on selected food items.
The staff are very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancee decided to go on a mini break and decided on Barrow. We arrived to a lovely smiley receptionist and beautiful decorative hallway. Our room was a superior double which was huge clean and just lovely. Bathroom was huge and tea and coffee tray was filled with plenty of items.

We visited the bar for a number of hours on both our nights and found some very friendly chatty staff. Especially Chris and Sam who took their time to go out their way to speak to us and make us feel at ease.

Overall the hotel is lovely and we will definetly be back again soon.
Thanks Louise and Dean

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank louiseanddeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Going by the other reviews, I'd booked this hotel at the very last minute hoping for a nice stay but was rather disappointed. The area isn't great, the hotel itself offers subpar service and food and the upkeep requires a lot of improving. The room seemed ok at first, the space was probably the best part of it, but it too was definitely falling apart in places. There are far better places in the Lake District and probably even Barrow itself so I'd recommend giving this one a miss.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for your review.

A bit surprising to have two "2-star" reviews together after only one other similar review in the last 3 and half years. Must be a coincidence.

Responding to your very vague review is difficult. There are no specifics whatsoever contained in your report. One might almost conclude you didn't actually visit.

Nevertheless, with regards to the hotel, we employ a permanent maintenance manager who spends 5 days a week keeping the rooms in prime condition. He's worked for us for nearly 8 years and takes enormous pride in his work. The rooms aren't "falling to pieces" the accusation is quite ridiculous, most of the bedrooms have been completely refurbished in the last two years.

With regards to the food being "sub par" and your other comments. Again, sorry but it's simply not true. We employ chefs. Not microwave cooks. Everything is prepared in-house and great effort is taken to ensure the food is of excellent quality.

Telling people there are probably better hotels in Barrow is also strange when seemingly you haven't visited any others. I'm sure there are better hotels in the Lake District, but then we are located just outside the Lakes and we don't charge £500 per night.

This review, much like the one below it, has caused some frustration in the hotel. The staff, managers and owners work hard to ensure the hotel is excellent and head and shoulders above similar style Barrow hotels. To receive reviews like yours is most depressing and questionable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wonderful hotel,no doubt...but 2 major problems which seem insurmountable! Parking,which is in a public lot is quite a walk away and we received a ticket even though we had a hotel pass, there is no "legal" drop off point for baggage at the hotel and the rooms of which we had 2 new ones , although lovely, need a smart and practical interior designer! (overly large chairs for a small room, atrociously cheap mattresses and pillows,toilet seats which don't stay up, badly framed plate glass shower stalls which is an accident waiting to happen,tiny desks very difficult to work on,telephone in dressing room rather than in bedroom,windows which don't open etc...whoever designed these rooms needs to go back to interior design school! The WiFi was bad also but they did what they could to fix it.

Those were the baddies. The goodies were really good! The reception staff, the restaurant with really excellent pub food served with cheerfulness ,the bar etc.. In general a pleasant to stay although probably would have problems staying here again because of some serious drawbacks as stated above. But if you need to be in that rather non descript area of Barrow ..its certainly worth a try!

Room Tip: Don't accept ground floor "new" rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunHotelLancaster, Owner at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make the review.

"Trying very hard... almost there ! But..." would suggest an "average" or "good" score, not "poor". However, I take issue with a number of your incorrect points. Firstly the car park. I think a lot of hotel visitors must not visit many town centre hotels. Very, very few hotels situated in the centre of large towns or cities provide free parking. We provide a private and free car park, located less than 30 yards from the hotel's main front door. It's not a public car park, it's private and for the exclusive use of our guests and it's close enough for 99% of our guests to have absolutely no problems.

Secondly, with regards to the interior design. The mattresses are all gold class, hotel contract mattresses. Cheap they most certainly aren't. All the furniture is bespoke designed and made by a Lancashire based furniture manufacturer. Again, anything but cheap. "Telephone in dressing room rather than bedroom" - is there a rule where the phone must be located? Most people use mobile phones now, but all our rooms still have a hotel phone and it's normally located wherever the desk is situated. On this occasion, in the dressing room/office. With regards to the wifi, we recently spent just short of £3000 installing a new wifi system that has proven very successful. Like every hotel in the world, it's hard to get it perfect as people have different band width demands, but we have done our best to ensure it's reliable and as quick as possible. Naturally, as it's a ground floor room, we don't allow the windows to open for security reasons. However, these rooms do have air conditioning and most people are delighted with that compromise.

Finally, your comment that the Duke was located "in a rather non-descript part of Barrow". Barrow is a Victorian, industrial town with a wealth of fantastic places to visit in the urban areas and close locality. Economically the town is booming with some fantastic local businesses and a welcoming local populace. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the "Gateway to Barrow" one of the areas the local council has invested significant sums in the past decade and now a part of town that most Barrovians are quite proud of. In addition we are less than 5 minutes walk from the train station and the same again from the town centre. It's located far enough away from the busy nightclubs to ensure a peaceful environment at night. We wouldn't want our hotel in any other part of town.

I don't feel your review was either fair or helpful. We are one of the very best hotels in the area and work hard to ensure an excellent stay for our many guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
712 reviews
19.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,119 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with fifty one ensuite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. A new addition to the Duke in 2017 is the arrival of acclaimed, Michelin 3 star winning chef Steven Doherty. Having run Cumbrian gastro-pubs since the 1990s, Steven is now Lancaster Brewery's Executive Chef and ensures that we produce really first class dining experiences for all our guests. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing