We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Spent the last weekend of July at the Duke of Edinburgh Hotel following a wedding on the Saturday. The previous two reviews must be the exception rather than than the rule as the weekend was a delight from start to finish. We stayed in room 112 which was beautifully furnished, quiet with a bathroom that put our home to shame. The bed was huge - in some ways too wide as it felt like my wife and I were sleeping on different Continents - and the cotton sheets were well ironed and immaculate. We had a problem on the first evening when my wife struggled with the menu (she is gluton intollerant), the chef appeared from the kitchen and suggested a number of alternatives which were whisked up in minutes. This put both my wife and myself in good heart and this positive mood continued the whole weekend.

I cannot really fault the hotel. People have grumbled in the past about the car parking situation but their designated parking is situated only 20 yards from the reception and when staying in an urban hotel it's a tad naiive to expect anything better. The general layout of the building is airey and modern, the staircase is a revelation, classic Victorian and huge.

Overall - I'm writing more than I expected as a reaction to the (to be frank) ridiculously negative previous review. This is a really lovely hotel in a part of the world that is not overburdened with special accommodation. The staff work hard to please, the food is well presented and substantial and rooms would put many 4* hotels to shame. Special thanks to Ben for his hard work during my stay and the chefs for their flexibility with their menus.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichDScar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2009

Arrived at hotel on the friday only to find it was located on a really busy, noisy and dangerous junction that had to be negotiated every time you needed to use or park the car.Having to use a car park like this was a real pain with kids in tow, and was unsecure.
First time outside the entrance we had to walk through several smokers at the entrance(staff I believe), and fag butts all over the pavement cheapened it, all this before we set foot inside! Checked in by man who was easily confused by more than two words at a time. Would have taken stairs but he insisted on showing us to the room, then the lift broke down and he was then confronted by the same call menu we encountered when we phoned ie he had to wait ages! he finally hit the alarm and someone strolled along to rescue us. Good start I thought. Rooms were okay but no better than your average travelodge. Rooms were noisy if you opened a window for air, breakfast was average, served by a misery of a waitress. Stairs were all dark wood and made everything dark and depressing. Got charged extra 10 pound a night for hire of a grubby travel cot-we could have bought our own,then added VAT of course so I decided I would not reccommend this hotch potch of a ..ermm..hotel? Will use travelodges in future - cheap and cheerful but at least you get what you pay for! 1 star for beds. none for smokers corner. none for service.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mac2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDuke1871, Owner at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2009

I'm extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent visit to the Duke of Edinburgh Hotel. We've spent over two years and hundreds of thousands of pounds in re-inventing this hotel and it has become something of a labour of love. It is therefore, disheartening to receive negative reviews especially as we've received so many extremely positive comments in recent times.

With regards to the car parking situation: we are a town centre hotel, Barrow is a large town with over 71000 inhabitants and we offer ample free car parking for all our guests in an area located less than 60 seconds from the hotel. Most urban hotels offer nothing in the way of parking and we're satisfied that we're doing more than most.

In respect of the rooms which you describe as no better than a Travelodge. I'd dispute this entirely. Not many Travelodges have the style and panache of our rooms with super-king size beds, Egyptian cotton towels, free wifi, designer toiletries, flat screen televisions, individual temperature control, DVD players etc etc. Indeed it's rare for any reviewer on this or any other site to be anything other than exceptionally complimentary about our bedrooms.

I will take on board your unhappiness at the welcome you received when checking in and the service at breakfast - I will certainly speak to the relevant staff regarding these comments.

The comment about the stairs making the hotel dark and depressing due to the "dark wood" is one you can take up with English Heritage and the Victorian Society who have protected this feature as part of a Listed Building provision. Indeed English Heritage described the staircase, in 2008, as one of the finest examples of a Victoria staircase in the North of England. Most people find the staircase quite spectacular.

With regards to the lift, we have had a few teething problems since its installation in December 2008. The vast majority of these problems have been rectified now and it's rare we have any issues with it. I apologise for the problems you and the previous reviewer in this website encountered during your stay.

Some of the comments in your review relating to our staff's attitude and the lift I will take on board and seek to improve. Other criticisms I find difficult to accept and would suggest you visit other independent urban hotels for a fair comparison. I believe you would discover that the Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is a proper, quirky, boutique hotel with a bar, bedrooms, function room and restaurant that can be favourably compared to anything in the North West of England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The hotel renovations have generally been carried out to a high standard with nice touches, but this was let down by a series of problems. On arrival, we checked in reasonably easily, but the staff insisted on getting our name wrong, despite spelling it for them. We had booked an executive room, which we found to be on the third floor, and the lift was broken. No assistance to carry our bags was offered, and while this wasn't a significant problem for us, it may have been for others. The bedroom was generally good, but the bed base was damaged. The bathroom was a let-down, as it smelt musty on arrival, which didn't improve. The luxury shower only gave very hot or even hotter water, which made showering impossible- which was only discovered when attempting to leave for an arranged meeting.

All in all, it was disappointing for a hotel in this price range. I would like to think that we were just unfortunate in our room, but little effort was made to apologise at reception. However, the bar was great, breakfast was friendly and good, and the room would have been of a high standard if it wasn't for the problems.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLF09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed overnight with my husband and 7 month old baby, no cot in room as requested but they brought one with no delay. Lovely room, large bed..very comfortable, dimmer lights, TV and DVD with selection of movies. Bathroom very spacious with roll top bath and free standing shower with 2 shower heads. Plenty clean towels.
Went down to bar for something to eat but after 10 mins wait and no service decided to go back to room and come back once our baby was settled. Came back later and service fine...although only one waitress on.
Check in quick but on check out had to make them aware about our meal as they were unable to find the receipt from the previous night.
All in all a good stay.....only down side was the water taps were noisy when used in surrounding rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donskyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Stayed in Barrow for 2 nights in May 2009. Parking across the road is ok but not massively convenient. Had to wait to be checked in. Lift is incredibly slow but at least they have one. The rooms have been renovated really nicely and are pretty comfortable. Sound-proofing is terrible - the road noise is very loud. The first night we were there, there was a party being held in the function room so we had to put up with pounding music until 1am. The breakfast was good although there weren't enough waitresses to make the service any good. Not the waitresses fault. Overall, the price wasn't too bad at 80/night including breakfast, but it could have been a lot better.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helwardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I work in Barrow a few times a year and always endeavour to stay in this hotel or Abbey House which is just up the road.

It had been a while since my last visit and a few improvemenst have been made.

A lift has been installed to all floors, this would be great if you are on top two floors but it was a bit slow, better than lugging bags up though.

They have opened a new 'wing' on the first floor since my last visit, I was allocated one of the rooms, #114 at the back of the hotel, nice room, well decorated, very clean. Free WiFi, a dvd in your rooms with a selection of movies for free. walk in shower and large roll top bath. Massive bed which was also very comfy.

Only minor gripe would be the kitchen extractor fan which was left on all night both nights I was there, it was a bit noisy but after a short while got used to it and fell into a very comfortable asleep, traffic noise on a morning froma about 7 'ish.

Breakfast was nice, and tried the restaurant on the 2nd night which was much better than we expected, they have recently made a new menu in a separte restaurant upstairs featuring fine dining, never tried it but the menu looked good.

Selection of beers was very impressive, all in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCorner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

lovely hotel rooms stunning will be going back but for two nights as this was just a one night was sad to be going home!!
beds big lovely white soft cotton sheets and best sleep i have had in a long time!
food lovely!
all in all wonderfully hotel!
mr&mrs hoskin

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiehosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
441 reviews
19.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
722 reviews
24.1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £65 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with fifty one ensuite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. A new addition to the Duke in 2017 is the arrival of acclaimed, Michelin 3 star winning chef Steven Doherty. Having run Cumbrian gastro-pubs since the 1990s, Steven is now Lancaster Brewery's Executive Chef and ensures that we produce really first class dining experiences for all our guests. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing