We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I recently stayed at the Duke of Edinburgh for 3 nights whilst visiting the area for business. The hotel is very conveniently located just a few minutes walk from the train station. Check in was quick, easy and friendly. My room was on the first floor, and easily found by following the signs. The room (superior double) was clean and comfortable, with TV (with freeview) and a DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities, wardrobe with ample hanging space, a small desk and an armchair. The double bed was comfortable, with extra pillows available in the wardrobe. Free wifi is also available - the information book in the room stated that a cable was provided for internet access, but the internet is wireless, with no password required.
The bathroom was very large and clean with large bath and separate shower.
The heating in the room was controlled via a small thermostat next to the door, very efficient heating.
Breakfast was good, buffet style cereals and juices available, with hot breakfasts ordered from the menu, as well as tea/coffee and toast.
Evening meals in the restaurant were very good and good value for money, with excellent service. The restaurant also seemed to be very popular with non-residents, which I always think is a good sign!
I would definitely stay in this hotel should I be in the area again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2010

Quirky old hotel across street from railway. Rooms are all different so choose wisely. No broadband, only wireless (at varying speeds depending on the day). Had a handicap room which I don't know how a handica;p person could access due to heavy small doors between it and the elevator. Reasonable breakfast (had the biggest pair of kippers yet!).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My wife and I visited “The Duke” 6th – 8th November to tour the lakes etc during the day and relax in the evenings. We had an executive room which was well worth the little extra, it was spacious and well equipped, lovely big comfortable bed with fresh linen and flat screen swivel TV, maid service was great too, a bargain at £70 per night B&B, breakfast was great. There was a lovely big bath and shower with all the toiletries you need, my wife also said the hairdryer was great. We found all the staff we dealt with to be friendly, courteous and polite from reception to bar and waiting staff. Try the Sunday Roast at £6.95 and £7.95 respectively for 2 and 3 courses, it was excellent and value for money. It appeared to be very popular with the locals. We didn’t go into town so can’t comment here, but location is close to town but we heard no noise from our room at all nor from inside or outside the hotel. Would highly recommend and visit again. Thanks to you all for making our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Excellent central location for Barrow-in-Furness centre, however as the hotel is at a traffic light junction there is a fair amount of traffic noise till late in the evening and from very early morning for those outer facing rooms like mine. Large room (I had executive double) but a little grubby in places, carpets and hard to reach places in the bathroom in particular. Comfortable and large bed. Unfortunately I was unable to sleep well due to the repetitive squeaking of the newly installed swinging metal signage under my window which was at the mercy of the high winds that evening. Unable to sleep I got up and tried to leave at 6am. Nobody on reception at this time to allow me to check out, the male member of staff who I could find was unable to assist me. Had to return from my business meeting 4 hours later so I could pay and get an invoice etc. Raised the issue with the noise from the signage so hopefully they will have addressed this now.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherryWhite036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Barrow in Furness is an occasional destination for me. Work requirements mean that I need to spend 4-5 evenings a year in the town. It's not the most impressive area for hotels with many of them resting on their laurels. Stayed at the Duke in 2008 and it was very different to now. Where once the hotel was slightly confused and managed in a haphazard way, now it buzzes with quiet and confident efficiency.
The interior has been designed by Victorians in combination with modern day contemporaries, it's obvious that many compromises have been made to satisfy traditional styles with modern necessities - the glass lift, for instance, is carefully plonked in the centre of an enormous Victorian darkwood staircase. Surprisingly it works. The rooms are exceptional. Modern, welcoming with excellent bathrooms. There is noise from the outside main road, but I'm told secondary glazing is on the way. The bar downstairs is first class if you're a lover of decent wine and beer. I've not found a better bar anywhere in the vicinity. I shall visit again in January and hope to provide more positive comments.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william_booker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Stayed at the Duke of Edinburgh Hotel for one night. I booked 2 Standard rooms £65.00 per room Bed and Breakfast. When I arrived one of the rooms was a superior room at no extra charge.
Nice clean rooms comfartable bed and large bathroom.
Breakfast was lovely full english Breakfast and lovely.
If I am ever back in Barrow I will be staying at this Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

An excellent place to stay rooms modern and the beds were a delight breakfast is ok the sausages could be better the staff are fantastic all in all a fine place to stay

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincsoyibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
393 reviews
18.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
812 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: £63 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrow's famous town centre hotel. Bought by Lancaster Brewery in 2006, the Duke has been completely reinvented and is now a luxury, town centre hotel with fifty one ensuite rooms/suites, a stylish cask ale bar, resident's dining lounge and stunning cocktail/restaurant cellar bar. The hotel bedrooms include flat screen televisions, Egyptian cotton linen/towels, free wifi, over-sized beds, room service and contemporary bathrooms. A new addition to the Duke in 2017 is the arrival of acclaimed, Michelin 3 star winning chef Steven Doherty. Having run Cumbrian gastro-pubs since the 1990s, Steven is now Lancaster Brewery's Executive Chef and ensures that we produce really first class dining experiences for all our guests. The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Barrow, 100 yards from the train station, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, accessible for the Lake District by train or car and less than 5 miles from South Lakes Safari Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Edinburgh Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing