We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent service”

Review of Motorhome Hire

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Camper van -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just come back from a fantastic holiday touring Scotland in a southlakes motor home. Right from booking to pick up the service was efficient and friendly. Sam was very helpful showing us how to use the motor home and provided maps and discount for caravan club sites. I was surprised and pleased at the little extras such as tea, coffee, cleaning materials etc that had been provided. The van was immaculately clean and really easy to use it became a very cosy home for our 10 day holiday. Would highly recommend and looking forward to booking again for next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J H
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT WAY TO DO THE LAKE DISTRICT”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our week in the motorhome, it gave us an additional adventure on top of exploring the beautiful area. The motorhome was faultless start to finish and the 6 berth gave us enough room even with 2 adults and 2 very young kids and everything that goes with them. Pick up and drop off were dealt with in a friendly and relaxed way giving us plenty of time to load and unload the van, which we appreciated. We also received very helpful advice about suitable campsites, which we followed, and all three sites were great.The kids loved it, we loved it, would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Helpful advice about suitable sites for us and our young children
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kf881
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic mini adventure.”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great motorhome. Had everything you need and very clean. Friendly and professional service. Just wish we had it for longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thankyou for your lovely review! We really hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nannyogg2...
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Motorhome weekend”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The whole experience was easy and stress free, all the information you need was provided in a friendly and informal easy to understand way, all correspondence was good and answered promptly and all questions answered. The Motorhome itself was clean easy to use and drive, all you require is provided. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The freedom to go where you want, when you want.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thanks for the review, it is much appreciated. Glad you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmille46
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Winter weekend escape”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great service from the start. Emails responded to very quickly. Motorhome was ready at the arranged time. Comprehensive walk through of all features and functions. Very friendly, informal approach, which we appreciated. Vehicle was less than a year old - very clean & tidy and well equipped. Outside temperatures were below zero, but you wouldn't have known that inside the van. Hot running water, loads of space. No bother at all. Got familiar with the size of the van pretty quickly. Great time had by all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
Thanks for your glowing review! We're glad you had a good time in the motorhome and hope to see you again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant motorhome”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had never stayed in a motorhome before, but found the one that we rented from South Lakes Motorhome Hire to be excellent. Although it slept 6, it was also suitable for us as a couple, having a fixed double bed above the cabin plus bunks and another bed in the main area. The seating area, which became one of the double beds, was comfortable and had access to a TV. The cooking area had everything we needed, including oven, burners and microwave. Excellent motorhome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The freedom to tailor our holiday to our exact needs.
Liked least: We loved the motorhome, but our choice of campsite was not good. This was entirely down to us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thankyou so much for such a glowing review. We're glad you had a great time and hope to see you again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelm7...
Lauder, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent way to see Rugby World Cup!”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Could not fault the motorhome. Sam was ready to "check us in" at the agreed time, comprehensive instructions and overview, and off we went. 10 days went without a hitch, a great way to do a "multi site" tour for the Rugby World Cup as we were doing.
Sam could not have been more helpful during the booking process and before the hire pickup. Deposit was repaid in double quick time. Could not recommend South Lakes Motor Home Hire higher!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sam's responsiveness to my questions prior to the booking and the hire start
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thankyou for such a great review Michael. I'm glad you had a good time in the Motorhome at the RWC, hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing