We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot to do to get the next star.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lot to do to get the next star.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Whilst the staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable, the food menu is limited and overpriced and there is a serious problem with the plumbing system. In the first 2 weeks of a 3 week stay i had to change rooms 4 times before i finally found a room that provided me with an undisturbed nights sleep because of the awful noises coming from the plumbing system. To avoid this problem ask for a room on the 2nd floor (Rooms 42-47).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    41
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
23
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I have just returned from a two night stay with a coach party. Spacious, refurbished rooms with flat screen tv. However, location is remote with views of driving range and quarry. Food choice was limited but of good quality although several of the waiting staff were slow, unfriendly and unhelpful to us guests.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9jaybe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

A dozen of us went on a very busy Friday night. The fly in the ointment was that we were put back half an hour due to them being very busy. However, we were given free nibbles to keep us going and the meals were very good indeed. Well presented, tasty and reasonsble portions. I for one will go back soon. Good value too. Had to give a room rating to get this review in.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_Simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

The good news is that the Fairways is a warm, comfortable and quiet place to stay if have business to do in Barrow. The not so good news is that the location is a bit remote and the place is pretty basic. My room was spacious and comfortably appointed but it is becoming a bit tired. There was no proper shower which meant that the bath had mildew around the edge from using the handheld shower head on the bath tap. There was no lamp in the shaving light which was a bit frustrating.
Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jigsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

My family recently stayed at the Fairway Hotel in Barrow. Having tried a couple of other places in the Town we thought we would try something new. Initial impressions are not paricularly promising. The Hotel is very remote, some way out of the town and is adjacent to a Land Fill site, indeed the lorries pass close by. That said the owners are clearly trying to do something about the landscaping to improve the overall impression. The Room we were allocated (Family Room) had a double bed and a single bed and was of a good size, however it quickly became apparent that the curtains didn't cover the large triangular 'feature window' leaving a 3 foot gap in the middle. Not ideal! We noted that the curtain rail was missing from the centre section. We were moved into another room, somewhat smaller. This room was not without it's problems (broken electrical socket) however this was remedied by the provision of a multi socket extension lead. Throughout the staff were helpful but seemed to be creating problems for themselves rather than thinking ahead to avoid issue in the first place. We only ate in the dining room at breakfast. The first of our 3 breakfasts was fine, with swift service and nice cooked food both in quality and quantity (2 poached eggs and 3 rashers of bacon for me!). However on the next two mornings it was a bit disappointing. The second breakfast time the room was packed, indeed guests were being turned away or offered seating in the bar. Having enjoyed my first breakfast I ordered the same, unfortunately not good. Two overcooked eggs and one rasher of bacon....clearly rationing was in place due to the numbers! The third breakfast was much the same (although a little less crowded). Shame really. On the whole an OK place to rest your head but let down by the details. The staff were friendly and helpful when presented with issues. Rooms were clean although the water saving 'push on' taps in the bathrooms were pretty fierce (all or nothing) and a bit naff to find in a hotel bathroom; remember to stand back to prevent getting your front soaked!! Would I go back? Maybe in a few months once they have sorted the place out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

There was a coach party in when we stayed two nights in August for a wedding. It is a typical 3 star coach party hotel, very clean, just nothing going on for guests under 40!
Lovely bigs rooms and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneJepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Booked for 3 nights for 2 adults, 2 children. First time at this hotel and we were not disappointed. It was spotlessly clean throughout. Room had a double bed, single bed and a fold up bed there was lots of room around the beds and lots and lots of wardrobe and drawer space. The towels were changed daily, tea and coffee making facilities and T.V.
We booked for bed breakfast and evening meal, the food was delicious, the childrens menu was great no pizzas or burgers.
Great location for us to visit the Lakes and surrounding area.
Friendly staff nothing was to much trouble and Jill in the bar was great with the children.
This hotel does have a golf driving range attached a bonus if you are a golfer, unfortunately for me I would have to throw the balls. This did not interfere with the hotel.
If you are looking for a quiet friendly hotel look no further than the Fairway, we highly recommend this hotel and we will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireguy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
2.8 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Property: Fairway Hotel
Address: Hawthwaite Lane, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 4QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing