We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by attention to detail.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Kent, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Let down by attention to detail.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

We stayed three nights in Room 8.
The sleeping accommodation and food was satisfactory and the staff were very obliging. However, when I pointed out that there was no showering facility or means of washing our hair I was told "Nobody has complained about it before."
I found this unbelievable and it reminded me of what one could expect of a pre-1970s Italian budget hotel.
It is sad really as, with a little effort, it could have been an acceptable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thetalewagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairway01, manger at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
I would just like to say how disappointed I was to read your comments.
I believe your complaint was due to the lack of shower attachment over your bath, and when you requested one from reception the response you received was not to your satisfaction.
The Fairway Hotel has 42 bedrooms, 37 of which have walk in power showers and 5 have baths. We do not supply showers over baths due to Health & Safety regulations. Every guest has the opportunity to request a room of thier prefered choice of bath or shower.
Whilst I acknowledge your dissatisfaction with one member of staff (whom I do not know the identiy of,) you stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. If you had asked to see me I would have done my upmost to change your room so you had a shower, but you didn't give me the opportunity to rectify any issues you had. With this in mind I find it disappointing that you found it neccasary to record the issues on trip advisor and make derogatory comments about the hotel bedrooms.
The Fairway Hotel was insepcted and passed to 3 * RAC standard, (when they were inspecting and rating hotels.) We are also regulary insepcted by the Cumbia Tourist Board. I will stand by our rooms and believe them to be equal if not better than the majority of hotels in Cumbria and welcome any prosepective guests to view the hotel and bedrooms anytime.
We endevour to ensure each guest who stays at the hotel has an enjoyable and relaxing stay and welcome constructive criticsm but feel your comments are not reflective of your stay.
If you would to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me at enquiries@fairway-hotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    41
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
23
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
isle of man
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

Wonderful Hotel, set just outside Barrow in Furness, Rooms are excellent half of them are on ground floor, Excellent restaurant , food extremely good.Small comfortable bar, Staff are very friendly giving the Hotel a very homely feeling.

Attached to the Hotel is a Golf Driving range and a 9 hole golf course.

Easy acces to Lake district from hotel.

  • Liked — Every thing with hotel is first rate
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank onchan_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. When you next have reason to visit Cumbria, please feel free to contact me.
enquiries@fairway-hotel.co.uk
Kind regards Karen Allenby
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

Visiting this Hotel with a coach company for a Lake District break , The Hotel rooms were very large and comfortable and the whole stay was a pleasure .The staff really do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable and it certainly was as the food was excellent. The Hotel is a little isolated but has a nice bar area and is in a lovely location , well worth a visit - Gary- Leicester.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank GLOBETOTTER-GAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. When you next have reason to visit Cumbria, please feel free to contact me.
enquiries@fairway-hotel.co.uk
Kind regards
Karen Allenby
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

We booked into this Hotel very last minute on New Years Eve after being let down by a cottage company. To say we were a bit dubious before arriving was an understatement as it appeared to be the only Hotel in the area that wasn't full or that was functioning normally over the New Year period.

On arrival we were shown to a family room which was really clean although slightly Travel Lodge style. We had booked for dinner that night but there appeared to be a very large coach party with lots of over 60's which seemed to be causing the resturant to run way behind - 1 hour after our orginal booking time we were finally shown to our table. By the next day the coach party was gone and the Hotel returned to normalilty and peace.

The bed was extremely comfy and the staff were all pleasant and helpful. We stay in Barrow a lot as my Husband is orginally from there and we have tried several of the Hotels - normally we would stay at the Abbey House but this would be my second choice if they were full.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. When you next have reason to visit Cumbria, please feel free to contact me.
enquiries@fairway-hotel.co.uk
Kind regards
Karen Allenby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
3.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Property: Fairway Hotel
Address: Hawthwaite Lane, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 4QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing