We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill”
Review of Barum Gate

Barum Gate
Ranked #108 of 140 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Waited 20+ minutes to order drinks/food after being seated. Waited approx another 30 for food. Sent mine back-ordered blue steak, got well done. Ordered eton mess for pudding. One sad looking strawberry upon a mix of syntheticy meringue, with a sniff of some undiscernable red sauce, and squirty can cream arrived. Used to visit fairly regularly. Will avoid now. Shame.

Helpful?
Thank HDHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    67
    80
    78
    122
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We visited whilst staying at the premier inn next door. As we have young children we ate fairly early in the evening. This brought the bonus of qualifying for the 'kids eat free' promotion which is only before 5pm. Service was very friendly and polite. We did have to wait half an hour or so for the food after ordering but the children were given great activity packs and there is tribute on tap so everyone was happy. The food was good, nothing amazing but nicely presented and fair portions. The free children's meals were especially good value (!) as they were able to choose a main and two sides and a pudding which they really enjoyed. Overall, we had a nice meal and very enjoyable time. Certainly better than expected having read some of the previous reviews on here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cocktailmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After a year of not visiting Barum Gate we thought we would give it another try to see if it had improved but no change, safe friendly, 30 minute to ordering and getting the food over priced and not that good, tables outside not cleared so seagulls swooping down to take the food after visitors asking for a clean table we saw a young lad taking three trips to clear one table, why are the staff not trained to take a tray !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food and good service”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was a bit apprehensive about eating here after seeing the dire reviews on this website but I left very happy. The food was delicious, I had a chicken ceaser salad and it was huge! I had ordered garlic bread as a side not expecting it to be a large portion and I nearly couldn't eat it all. The apple pie with a crumble topping was lovely, especially covered in custard. Our server Lee was great, he was very patient and good-natured with us as several times he came to take our orders we weren't ready as we were too busy talking and catching up. The meal deal of two courses for £9.99 is a real bargain too. I would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan_Lucy_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like a trip back to the 1970s”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Conveniently situated but lacking any kind of atmosphere. The service was friendly.but the food is .overpriced and poorly.executed. So many better options within a short distance


Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barum Gate also viewed

Barnstaple, Devon
Barnstaple, Devon
 
Barnstaple, Devon
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Barum Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing